We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #113 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Fullerton, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We called on Saturday a.m. to see if there was any way we could check in at noon since we were finishing a 200 mile relay race and were looking forward to showering. The person who answered the phone was very rude and said, "you booked through Priceline, so we won't do any special favors for you." I wasn't aware booking through Priceline made you a second class citizen! The fun continued when we realized the hotel had booked hundreds of college students who ran up and down the halls at all hours of the night. The guys were urinating off the balcony into the pool below, and throwing cups of beer. I also found our bathroom was not clean, and the hotel was dated. The location is nice (view of Marina), but I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leahm07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaDelgado, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear leahm07,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We value all of our guests regardless of how they book their room, and please accept our sincere apologies as the response you mentioned is unacceptable and certainly not what we want to convey to our guests. If you have a moment, please contact me at your earliest convenience at Daniela.Delgado@Sheraton.com so we may learn more details of your stay and follow up with a training opportunity for our team. Please note that our security team has been made aware of the noise and activity that occurred and is in the process of an investigation.Thank you again for your feedback and we are looking forward to hearing from you.
Warm Regards,
Daniela Delgado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,156
    1,319
    721
    389
    230
See reviews for
827
901
187
1,352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our room was very nice. We enjoyed the balcony overlooking San Diego Bay. We stayed in the Bay Tower versus the Marina Tower. We didn't realize they were two separate buildings when we booked. We looked forward to the Starbucks in the lobby of the hotel but it was in the Marina tower building about half a mile down the road. There was Starbucks in the rooms with the coffee pot - single cup brewer. They offered an option to go green, not get fresh towels etc. everyday and we received a $5.00 coupon for use in the hotel restaurants and Starbucks. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

Very easy access to lots of attractions: Old Town, down town area, Balboa park. There is a great trolley service that runs all through the city around $35 for the day. You can get on and off all day long. Well worth the price.

Room Tip: We liked the Bay view room. We could see the cruise ships and other boats going out to sea and we a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamH881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I just returned from staying at this hotel with a friend for one night. The hotel itself is very nice and the rooms are quite large with very comfortable beds. We did not use any of the hotels amenities such as wi-fi or the pool, so I can't say anything about that. The only area that should be pointed out to those looking at staying here is that it is very close to the airport. When the airport starts operating about 6:30 am you can really hear the jets taking off and landing. So if you are a light sleeper or want to sleep late, you may want to consider another option.

Room Tip: To help avoid airplane noise, I would request a room on the southern most wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flair4GoldBranin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford u
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We like sheratons this one was good because you can seer as you land,but thats the problem if like us you get a front room(not facing the marina they are noisey. I love planes but sometimes when the noise is constant it was a bit too much..We had one meal in the hotel overpriced so was breakfast,if you are English the meals are a bit daunting.So just walk out the back of the hotel and find the little cafe good food (not great) and cheap.We went into town for our evening meals some very good places.Our 4th visit to San Diego hopfully not our last.

Room Tip: room at the back unless you like getting up to a 737
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San diego
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I decided to give this Sheraton property another chance being that it is one of my least favorite Starwood properties mostly because as a Platinum guest, this hotel has NEVER tried to earn my business nor even recognize my status. First, parking is still $22.00 for self park in an outdoor lot. The hotel has an outdoor pool and has two towers or wings. I drove up to the main wing where the club lounge is and was told that my reservation was for the other tower and when I arrived at the other tower I was told that I had a room reserved at the other tower and this would have continued if I did not end it and ask both towers to just assign me a room. Needless to say, they put me in the tower that does not have a club lounge nor did they want to compensate with a drink coupon. They did not seem to care and the checkin desk did not have a gold/platinum desk so there are no perks for being platinum. When I got to my room, I had a wonderful view of Harbor Drive and the airport. The other side overlooks N. Island and downtown. I guess that these rooms are still unavailable for platinum guests. The rooms are nicely redone but very small. The rooms all have electronic minibars and I did find one bottle of water was free as per the tag on the bottle. Typically, folks do not open the minibar for fears of being charged up to $5.00 for a bottle of water. Here, the complimentary bottle is free so I recommend getting it. The decor is nautical in nature and colors and they did a good job redecorating the room. The bathroom was also updated and the sink has a white marble top with porcelain sink. The rooms all have motion sensors that tie the cooking and lights together and when you leave, they will shutoff the power as a means of conserving energy. The rooms are dark due to low power energy efficient bulbs.

Room Tip: Good question. As a platinum guest, loyalty to Starwood did not work. This property has always bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Webpuccino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaDelgado, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. As an SPG hotel, we truly value all of our SPG members for choosing to stay with us and we are sorry to not have done a better job of recognizing your status at check-in. We like to extend all of our Platinum members the option of staying in the Marina Tower for closer proximity to the Club Lounge whenever availability permits and we are interested in knowing more details of your stay so we may follow up with our associates with a training opportunity. If you have a moment, please contact me at Daniela.Delgado@Sheraton.com. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.
Warm Regards,
Daniela Delgado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 278 in San Diego
2,561 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 278 in San Diego
4,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Property: The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,692 - ₹ 32,927
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing