We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Town Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$ 115
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 276
US$ 220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 144
US$ 100
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 214
US$ 191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$ 352
US$ 337
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 232
US$ 213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$ 140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 242
US$ 201
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,012)
Filter reviews
2,012 results
Traveller rating
1,158
664
138
31
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,158
664
138
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseconomy roompacific highwaytransit centerhard boiled eggsdvd playercontinental breakfastsea worldmake your own wafflestrolley stationheated poolfamily suitewithin walking distancewaffle makergreat place to stayclean roomsqueen bednice breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,214 - 1,219 of 2,012 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I wanted to give an average 3 stars, but my traveling companion wanted to give 5 stars, splitting the difference we have 4.

All the glowing reviews are true. The place is clean and the people were nice.

My concerns: First, the smell of my room. Very body odor-ish. And not in a good way. I would have asked for a refund soley on this, but my friend asked that I give it a chance. I ran the a/c unit constantly along with the bathroom vent and soon the smell was not noticable, until the maid turned it off one afternoon.

Next, the television. Most don't go to a motel to watch TV, but I like it in the morning and before bed. The TV was way too small for the size of the room. How long have tube-style TVs been obsolete? I paid for the upgraded room, maybe they should have an upgraded TV.

Noise is a problem. Not in the room with the windows closed and the a/c running, but still a problem. The highways, the sirens, the planes and the helicopters, maide sitting out by the pool headache producing.

And the pool. There was one lonely child who wanted to swim. His mother let him swim if other people were by the pool. Excuse me! It is not my duty to watch your kid.

Complain, complain, complain. I don't mean to. The location is good. The housekeeping is excelent, even if they don't speak the language. The parking is free. The bed was as good as any I ever laid in. The WiFi worked. The breakfast was OK. I felt safe. The price is reasonable. One could do worse, and one would have to look hard to find better.

Room Tip: The motel offers free use of many boardgames. If you don't see what you want, they may be keeping it behind the desk.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeaForoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest - We appreciate you taking the time to review the Old Town Inn. Your feedback is very important to us, and all of us at the Old Town Inn take our guests’ comments seriously. We are glad to know that your stay was up to par, but sorry to hear that parts of your stay did not meet your greatest expectations.

It is sometimes a challenge to set the right expectations for our guests. I think we do a pretty good job on our website, and the majority of our guests have written honest reviews about their experience with us, what makes us stand out from the rest and why they rate us so highly. We are a AAA 2-star rated hotel property with many free amenities that you may end up having to pay for in more expensive hotels. We offer free wireless, free parking, free coffee and tea service all day, and a thoughtfully selected free movie library. The Old Town Inn rates highly among those who want to get the most out of their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research. We are all about guest satisfaction, and we hope that you enjoyed your stay with us despite a few hang ups. Again, we greatly appreciate your feedback and we hope you will decide to stay with us in the future.

Regards,

Old Town Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

If you are an everyday person that is looking for a clean, comfortable, friendly atmosphere, look no further! We spend very little time in our room. We visit San Diego because it is warm and we can enjoy being outside! The people that are complaining about this property sem to be the kind that cannot be made happy, no matter what you do for them. We THOROUGHLY enjoyed our week long stay here from Jan 29th - Feb 5th. We we in the old section so the room was small but CLEAN! We weren't disturbed by noise any night we were there, very close to transportation, Old Town Proper, beaches, shopping... the list goes on! We rented a car and had NO TROUBLE with parking, security, getting to and from the Inn. We felt safe any hour of the day and are already planning our return next winter! and YES, we will be staying at the Old Town Inn!

Room Tip: No bad rooms as far as we could tell!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for taking the time to review the Old Town Inn, we are very glad that we could make your stay in San Diego comfortable and affordable. We value your feedback, and appreciate that you “get” us. Our goal here at Old Town Inn is to provide quality, cleanliness, comfort, and of course great customer service at a reasonable price. We are by no means a luxury hotel, and we do not advertise as such, however our staff takes great pride in providing the budget smart traveler with a clean room and all the comforts of home. The noise issues related to our location can occasionally be a minor annoyance and we are very happy to know that this was not a bother to you. We are also very pleased that you found our proximity to the trolley station and Historic Old Town convenient.

The staff at Old Town Inn reads all the TripAdvisor comments personally, and all of us at want to take the opportunity to thank you for your kind words. I am very pleased to see that we exceeded expectations and we will strive to do so every time you visit. On behalf of the Old Town Inn staff, we are grateful and honored to hear that you will continue to choose us when coming to San Diego. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely - The Old Town Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Old town is one of my favorite spots you can have home made torteas and great mexican food walk the area and visit the historical sights of sandiego this location is wounderful and loads of comfort close tot he airport and down town seaport village. Ive staued here at least three times and enjoyed each visit

Room Tip: Plan of strolling down the streets and enjoying some great weather and food
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KesslerKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The Old Town Inn is a great example of what an older facility can be. It is well maintained with lovely landscaping, excellent service at great rates.
Close to the airport, trolley system and the Old Town area this is a find.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GusnFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Owner at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for your review. We are proud that we are always near the top of TripAdvisor in spite of the fact that we are an independent, older hotel with very competitive rates.

We are a AAA 2-star rated hotel property, with many free amenities that you may end up having to pay in more expensive hotels. We offer free wireless internet, free parking, free coffee and tea service all day, DVD players in all guestrooms, a thoughtfully selected free movie library and a nice complimentary expanded continental breakfast that includes hard boiled eggs, fresh waffles, a variety of freshly baked bagels and pastries, cereals, oatmeal, fruit salad, juices and coffee. Being across the street from the Transit/Trolley Center also allows our guests to travel all over San Diego without moving their car. We’re central to many attractions, and we have some great extended stay specials!

It is sometimes a challenge to set the right expectations for our guests. I think we do a pretty good job on our website, and the majority of our guests have written honest reviews about their experience with us, what makes us standout from the rest and why they rate us so highly. TripAdvisor is all about guest satisfaction and we tend to rate highly with guests who want to get the most for their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and for complimenting our hotel. We hope that you choose us again when visiting our lovely San Diego.

Sincerely,

John Lyon
Old Town Inn - Proud Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Old Town Inn the first week of January 2012. I was pleasantly surprised. The property was well kept, included an extended breakfast and was very close to Old Town. There was a small pool but we did not use it. You could park in front of your room which I liked. If we did not stay here we probably never would have known Old Town existed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank housefrau99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest - Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. It is an honor to read your comments and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleasantly surprised. The owners, the management, and the staff take great pride in keeping the property well maintained and the grounds lush and inviting. We are very pleased that you found our parking to be accessible and convenient. Thank you for mentioning the pool as well, it is heated if you feel like a dip next time you visit. I’m happy to know that you discovered Historic Old Town while with us. The Old Town Inn is in a unique area for a hotel, the owner likes to say that, “We are nowhere but minutes to everything!” We are walking distance to Old Town, less than 10 minutes from the airport, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo and Downtown Gaslamp.

It was a pleasure to have had you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon at the Old Town Inn San Diego.

Mike M - Frond Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews