We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic "economy" room”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #20 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very basic "economy" room”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Selected this motel based on other reviews and to be fair, was told that the regular rooms were sold out and only an economy room was available. The room was in what seemed to be the original part of the motel, most likely built in the 1940's. The room was very small, with cheap furniture and an uncomfortable bed - you turn the closet light on by pulling a string! But it was very clean,the tiny bathroom had been updated, we were able to bring our dog and it was very inexpensive.

The breakfast room and breakfast itself was very good and the lobby and pool area were nice enough. Maybe I would have been happier with one of the newer rooms? I was disappointed in that you really could not walk to Old Town - this motel is located in an industrial area across from the transportation center and I would not have felt safe walking to Old Town from there.

We just drove down to SD for my boyfriend's, daughter's birthday dinner and just spent one night, so it was o.k. If you want an inexpensive and very basic room where you can bring your dog and have a decent breakfast - this place is for you. If you are on holiday and want to stay somewhere nice and updated, or within walking distance to Old town, I would pay a little more and choose someplace else.

Room Tip: dont go for the economy rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacarandaSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback, it tells us where we need to improve, and lets us know when we have done a good job. I was very sorry to hear that your economy room did not meet your highest expectations, and I apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced. Our economy rooms are certainly not fancy, but they are always immaculately clean, comfortable, and they work out for our guests who simply need an affordable “base of operations” for their business trip or vacation.

We put a lot of work into making all of our rooms comfortable for our guests. In every room, including the economy units, we have put in Simmons Beautyrest Pillowtop mattresses, and we are very surprised and disappointed to learn that the bed was not comfortable for you. I hope that you slept well and experienced no more than a slight discomfort.

The Old Town Inn is in a unique area for a hotel, for that reason we do our best to familiarize future guests with information on our website, including a lovely map that shows our location relative to Old Town State Park. The owner likes to joke that “we are nowhere but only minutes to everywhere!” The great benefit of our location is that you can easily and quickly get to many famous San Diego attractions, we’re less than 3 miles to Sea World, about 3 miles to the airport and less than 10 minutes driving time to Balboa Park and the Zoo. Also, you can walk to the San Diego bus and trolley station, making it easy to get around town if you don’t have a car.

I am very sorry that you felt that walking to the park was unsafe. That being said, the vast majority of our guests feel comfortable coming and going from the hotel on foot or by car. But if any guest feels uncomfortable we would be the first to suggest they use their car or a taxi for transport.

As you correctly mentioned, the Old Town Inn had its origin in 1945 when the owner’s grandfather retired as a Brigadier General in the Marine Corps. He came to San Diego to remedy a problem he’d experienced in the military: a lack of quality, affordable lodging for servicemen and their families. At the time, Pacific Highway was the only road for weary travelers coming from Los Angeles and Orange County. Our hotel was the first in a line of hotels that stretched to the downtown area. Though there have been many changes and renovations, our hotel is still committed to its original philosophy: to provide quality, affordability, and great customer service to our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us, we take your comments seriously and they are very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely - The Old Town Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    612
    133
    31
    20
See reviews for
625
607
83
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Home
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I wanted to give an average 3 stars, but my traveling companion wanted to give 5 stars, splitting the difference we have 4.

All the glowing reviews are true. The place is clean and the people were nice.

My concerns: First, the smell of my room. Very body odor-ish. And not in a good way. I would have asked for a refund soley on this, but my friend asked that I give it a chance. I ran the a/c unit constantly along with the bathroom vent and soon the smell was not noticable, until the maid turned it off one afternoon.

Next, the television. Most don't go to a motel to watch TV, but I like it in the morning and before bed. The TV was way too small for the size of the room. How long have tube-style TVs been obsolete? I paid for the upgraded room, maybe they should have an upgraded TV.

Noise is a problem. Not in the room with the windows closed and the a/c running, but still a problem. The highways, the sirens, the planes and the helicopters, maide sitting out by the pool headache producing.

And the pool. There was one lonely child who wanted to swim. His mother let him swim if other people were by the pool. Excuse me! It is not my duty to watch your kid.

Complain, complain, complain. I don't mean to. The location is good. The housekeeping is excelent, even if they don't speak the language. The parking is free. The bed was as good as any I ever laid in. The WiFi worked. The breakfast was OK. I felt safe. The price is reasonable. One could do worse, and one would have to look hard to find better.

Room Tip: The motel offers free use of many boardgames. If you don't see what you want, they may be keepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeaForoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest - We appreciate you taking the time to review the Old Town Inn. Your feedback is very important to us, and all of us at the Old Town Inn take our guests’ comments seriously. We are glad to know that your stay was up to par, but sorry to hear that parts of your stay did not meet your greatest expectations.

It is sometimes a challenge to set the right expectations for our guests. I think we do a pretty good job on our website, and the majority of our guests have written honest reviews about their experience with us, what makes us stand out from the rest and why they rate us so highly. We are a AAA 2-star rated hotel property with many free amenities that you may end up having to pay for in more expensive hotels. We offer free wireless, free parking, free coffee and tea service all day, and a thoughtfully selected free movie library. The Old Town Inn rates highly among those who want to get the most out of their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research. We are all about guest satisfaction, and we hope that you enjoyed your stay with us despite a few hang ups. Again, we greatly appreciate your feedback and we hope you will decide to stay with us in the future.

Regards,

Old Town Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibbing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

If you are an everyday person that is looking for a clean, comfortable, friendly atmosphere, look no further! We spend very little time in our room. We visit San Diego because it is warm and we can enjoy being outside! The people that are complaining about this property sem to be the kind that cannot be made happy, no matter what you do for them. We THOROUGHLY enjoyed our week long stay here from Jan 29th - Feb 5th. We we in the old section so the room was small but CLEAN! We weren't disturbed by noise any night we were there, very close to transportation, Old Town Proper, beaches, shopping... the list goes on! We rented a car and had NO TROUBLE with parking, security, getting to and from the Inn. We felt safe any hour of the day and are already planning our return next winter! and YES, we will be staying at the Old Town Inn!

Room Tip: No bad rooms as far as we could tell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for taking the time to review the Old Town Inn, we are very glad that we could make your stay in San Diego comfortable and affordable. We value your feedback, and appreciate that you “get” us. Our goal here at Old Town Inn is to provide quality, cleanliness, comfort, and of course great customer service at a reasonable price. We are by no means a luxury hotel, and we do not advertise as such, however our staff takes great pride in providing the budget smart traveler with a clean room and all the comforts of home. The noise issues related to our location can occasionally be a minor annoyance and we are very happy to know that this was not a bother to you. We are also very pleased that you found our proximity to the trolley station and Historic Old Town convenient.

The staff at Old Town Inn reads all the TripAdvisor comments personally, and all of us at want to take the opportunity to thank you for your kind words. I am very pleased to see that we exceeded expectations and we will strive to do so every time you visit. On behalf of the Old Town Inn staff, we are grateful and honored to hear that you will continue to choose us when coming to San Diego. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely - The Old Town Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Old town is one of my favorite spots you can have home made torteas and great mexican food walk the area and visit the historical sights of sandiego this location is wounderful and loads of comfort close tot he airport and down town seaport village. Ive staued here at least three times and enjoyed each visit

Room Tip: Plan of strolling down the streets and enjoying some great weather and food
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KesslerKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The Old Town Inn is a great example of what an older facility can be. It is well maintained with lovely landscaping, excellent service at great rates.
Close to the airport, trolley system and the Old Town area this is a find.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GusnFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Owner at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for your review. We are proud that we are always near the top of TripAdvisor in spite of the fact that we are an independent, older hotel with very competitive rates.

We are a AAA 2-star rated hotel property, with many free amenities that you may end up having to pay in more expensive hotels. We offer free wireless internet, free parking, free coffee and tea service all day, DVD players in all guestrooms, a thoughtfully selected free movie library and a nice complimentary expanded continental breakfast that includes hard boiled eggs, fresh waffles, a variety of freshly baked bagels and pastries, cereals, oatmeal, fruit salad, juices and coffee. Being across the street from the Transit/Trolley Center also allows our guests to travel all over San Diego without moving their car. We’re central to many attractions, and we have some great extended stay specials!

It is sometimes a challenge to set the right expectations for our guests. I think we do a pretty good job on our website, and the majority of our guests have written honest reviews about their experience with us, what makes us standout from the rest and why they rate us so highly. TripAdvisor is all about guest satisfaction and we tend to rate highly with guests who want to get the most for their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and for complimenting our hotel. We hope that you choose us again when visiting our lovely San Diego.

Sincerely,

John Lyon
Old Town Inn - Proud Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#35 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,498 - ₹ 12,540
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing