We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are a millionaire or a snob, go elsewhere!”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Inn
Ranked #17 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Hibbing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you are a millionaire or a snob, go elsewhere!”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

If you are an everyday person that is looking for a clean, comfortable, friendly atmosphere, look no further! We spend very little time in our room. We visit San Diego because it is warm and we can enjoy being outside! The people that are complaining about this property sem to be the kind that cannot be made happy, no matter what you do for them. We THOROUGHLY enjoyed our week long stay here from Jan 29th - Feb 5th. We we in the old section so the room was small but CLEAN! We weren't disturbed by noise any night we were there, very close to transportation, Old Town Proper, beaches, shopping... the list goes on! We rented a car and had NO TROUBLE with parking, security, getting to and from the Inn. We felt safe any hour of the day and are already planning our return next winter! and YES, we will be staying at the Old Town Inn!

Room Tip: No bad rooms as far as we could tell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for taking the time to review the Old Town Inn, we are very glad that we could make your stay in San Diego comfortable and affordable. We value your feedback, and appreciate that you “get” us. Our goal here at Old Town Inn is to provide quality, cleanliness, comfort, and of course great customer service at a reasonable price. We are by no means a luxury hotel, and we do not advertise as such, however our staff takes great pride in providing the budget smart traveler with a clean room and all the comforts of home. The noise issues related to our location can occasionally be a minor annoyance and we are very happy to know that this was not a bother to you. We are also very pleased that you found our proximity to the trolley station and Historic Old Town convenient.

The staff at Old Town Inn reads all the TripAdvisor comments personally, and all of us at want to take the opportunity to thank you for your kind words. I am very pleased to see that we exceeded expectations and we will strive to do so every time you visit. On behalf of the Old Town Inn staff, we are grateful and honored to hear that you will continue to choose us when coming to San Diego. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely - The Old Town Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    616
    133
    31
    21
See reviews for
632
617
84
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Old town is one of my favorite spots you can have home made torteas and great mexican food walk the area and visit the historical sights of sandiego this location is wounderful and loads of comfort close tot he airport and down town seaport village. Ive staued here at least three times and enjoyed each visit

Room Tip: Plan of strolling down the streets and enjoying some great weather and food
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KesslerKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The Old Town Inn is a great example of what an older facility can be. It is well maintained with lovely landscaping, excellent service at great rates.
Close to the airport, trolley system and the Old Town area this is a find.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GusnFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Owner at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for your review. We are proud that we are always near the top of TripAdvisor in spite of the fact that we are an independent, older hotel with very competitive rates.

We are a AAA 2-star rated hotel property, with many free amenities that you may end up having to pay in more expensive hotels. We offer free wireless internet, free parking, free coffee and tea service all day, DVD players in all guestrooms, a thoughtfully selected free movie library and a nice complimentary expanded continental breakfast that includes hard boiled eggs, fresh waffles, a variety of freshly baked bagels and pastries, cereals, oatmeal, fruit salad, juices and coffee. Being across the street from the Transit/Trolley Center also allows our guests to travel all over San Diego without moving their car. We’re central to many attractions, and we have some great extended stay specials!

It is sometimes a challenge to set the right expectations for our guests. I think we do a pretty good job on our website, and the majority of our guests have written honest reviews about their experience with us, what makes us standout from the rest and why they rate us so highly. TripAdvisor is all about guest satisfaction and we tend to rate highly with guests who want to get the most for their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and for complimenting our hotel. We hope that you choose us again when visiting our lovely San Diego.

Sincerely,

John Lyon
Old Town Inn - Proud Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Old Town Inn the first week of January 2012. I was pleasantly surprised. The property was well kept, included an extended breakfast and was very close to Old Town. There was a small pool but we did not use it. You could park in front of your room which I liked. If we did not stay here we probably never would have known Old Town existed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank housefrau99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. It is an honor to read your comments and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleasantly surprised. The owners, the management, and the staff take great pride in keeping the property well maintained and the grounds lush and inviting. We are very pleased that you found our parking to be accessible and convenient. Thank you for mentioning the pool as well, it is heated if you feel like a dip next time you visit. I’m happy to know that you discovered Historic Old Town while with us. The Old Town Inn is in a unique area for a hotel, the owner likes to say that, “We are nowhere but minutes to everything!” We are walking distance to Old Town, less than 10 minutes from the airport, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo and Downtown Gaslamp.

It was a pleasure to have had you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon at the Old Town Inn San Diego.

Mike M - Frond Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My wife and I chose Old Town Inn to celebrate out 15th Wedding Anniversary. I was looking for the exact "treat" for this occasion. From the first moment of voice contact with Rebecca at Old Town Inn's front desk, I knew this was our place. It turned out to be a Perfect 10! A "Homey" clean, friendly atmosphere. The jacuzzi suite was "Paradise in a Room."
Our entire experience was wonderful. And the price was extremely fair.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to experience what a hotel should feel like.
Thanks to everyone at Old Town Inn for contributing to a "Perfect" 15 year celebration of our 15 years of a glorious marriage.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Customer Service Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Congratulations on your 15 year anniversary! Your kind words are greatly appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to review us. The Old Town Inn staff is honored that you chose to spend such a special time at our hotel. We are proud to hear that you enjoyed our Jacuzzi Suite and that your stay with us was enjoyable and affordable. We hope to see you again very soon!!

Sincerely,

Alex - Customer Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 279 in San Diego
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,527 - ₹ 12,920
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing