We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #41 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We bumped to here form the awful Coronado and our expectations were relatively low but it was absolutely great. Good location brilliant valet. Very friendly reception team with cold towels and real attempts to accommodate requests etc.

Hotel was very clean, connects to a Hawaiian restaurant next door and direct access tot he Boardwalk for eating out . Gaslamp is a 5 minute walk. Only negative was breakfast could have been a little more varied each day especially on Sunday

Would stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,929 - 2,933 of 3,958 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

The newly remodeled hotel exceeded our already high expectations. First they upgraded us to a bay view. We had access to the concierge floor that has an amazing view and a staff that really wanted to be of service. Beautiful pool with fun bar and great food. Easy walk friendly location near Gaslamp, convention center, Petco.

Room Tip: I would request a room with a bay view and a balcony. We had a view and no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Marriott hotel. Staff were extremely helpful (other than the lady on the Hertz rent-a-car desk!) Having said that, we did complain about her to the concierge manager and she was a bit friendlier the next day. Concierge help was excellent- American service at its best. Our room was clean and spacious except for the bathroom which was a little poky. Bed so comfortable! The maids were happy and courteous and sometimes made little designs on the bed for us! Breakfast was good value. Omelettes were scrumptious. Maybe some of the staff at the poolside restaurant could have been a little nicer, especially when they were closing down at night. Overall, very happy and we would stay here again as we will definitely return to San Diego. What a fantastic city :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelSlices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I took off one point because I am a plat member, but I though the stuffs they served at the concierge lounge in the evening sucks. They had a steak burger and a low quality cesaer salad. It paled in comparison to the stuffs served at JW Marriott LA where I was the night before.

$38 valet parking
$26 self parking
$15 internet (free for gold/plat members)

Having said that I think their architecture is beautiful two buildings, north and south tower. The swimming pools area feel like a paradise (tropical). Its right in the harbor so the view are amazing and wonderful to walk around during the evening. Its the perfect location to be in downtown San Diego if you want to see the convention center, Seaport Village, etc. Beats the Hilton (on the opposite side of the convention center) by an arm and leg based on its location and structure.

My favorite Marriott so far in the San Diego Area. I got yet to try the rest of them in SD (have reservations for 8 hotels coming up).

Room Tip: get a high floor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CloverIsSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed 3 nights with wife and a kid in this hotel. On check in been told that they will charge premium per night for parking, whether self parking or valet parking. Nothing like this mentioned when we booked hotel. Had to pay minimum of $25/day for self parking. On afternoons had horrible time trying to find parking. Self parking was simply full even tough we were patrons of the hotel. So we were referred to use valet service at $35/per day! On day of departure we had a terrible experience with valet that was supposed to bring our car. We gave him our rental car valet ticket and another couple that came after us did the same. We explicitly stated that we expected to get our car first. We waited about 15 min and he brought their car first, even though he explicitly stated that he was bringing our car. Then it took another half hour before they finally located our car and brought it up. We barely made it to our flight! Overall feeling is that hotel is overpriced and make sure to call and check for hidden parking charges and fees before you go there!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floor, with marina view unless you like to listen to train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andricm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,462 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
5,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,341 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 278 in San Diego
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 13,159 - ₹ 40,193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing