We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Ranked #168 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Joined 160 friends for a reunion. Fronm start to finish the staff members were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean. The food was good. The price for the room was very good. Most friendly hotel staff I've experienced in years.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    320
    181
    106
    79
See reviews for
237
186
44
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and stayed at this hotel for two nights and were very impressed with it. The room was on the ground floor and was very spacious and comfortable. The restaurant was very good and the staff were keen to please us. The food was well presented and reasonably priced as were the drinks.
The hotel is a little remote although there is a steak house restaurant about five minutes walk away. Other than that you will need transport to get anywhere else. The hotel is positioned about a fifteen minute drive away from the main part of San Diego.
I would be happy to recommend this holiday for couples and there appeared to be a large contingent of people on a medical convention staying at the same time we were there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights for business. I like that they have a kids- free Quiet Zone block of rooms for business travelers. The restaurant food and room service menu was good and reasonably priced. The banquet and meeting facilities were very good. My company negotiated free Internet and discounted parking, so that was nice. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful. The suite my coworker stayed in was huge - the size of three hotel rooms. The rooms were spacious and had balconies or views. They had flat screen TVs and nice bedding/pilllows/mattresses. The hotel has a shuttle. The only complaints would be that the rooms are a good hike from the lobby/ restaurant and the decor and buildings are clearly 70's Hawaiian themed. Also not all rooms have refrigerators.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CheChoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel! It was very clean and quiet and allowed us a very restful and peaceful stay. VERY clean! Nice happy Hour and room service was quick and delicious. The pool was very clean and well maintained. Hotel has a convenient location in Hotel Circle that allowed us to visit many different beaches and tourist attractions quite easily. The staff was courteous and the hotel front desk manager (Dennis) was very pleasant and professional, ensuring that our stay had been satisfactory. We are planning another trip to this hotel in July to escape the heat of Phoenix. Although we had not originally planned two trips to San Diego this summer, after our stay and the affordability and value, we will return to the Crowne Plaza San Diego!

Room Tip: Choose a room all the way at the end of the hallway on an upper floor. The room is extremely quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We decided to make a quick getaway to celebrate our 40th anniversary. Since beach front properties were too high we booked the Crowne Plaza in Hotel Circle in San Diego. Upon arrival we were checked in quickly and efficiently. Our room had been upgraded and was very spacious and clean.

We had a few problems trying to access the internet and it was resolved in a timely manner. The staff on all levels was excellent.

It is a little of a drive to the beach but we knew that in advance. It is just across the freeway from Old Town San Diego so that was really nice. Also the freeway access is right there that took us to downtown San Diego and our 2 favorite fish markets; Point Loma Seafood and Anthony's.

The parking was very full and we did have to park quite a distance from our room on two of the three nights. Other than that and maybe a remodel of the outside to bring it more up to date we had no complaints on this hotel.

One tip: housekeeping starts very early and unless you put the "do not disturb" card on your door we received an 8:00 AM wakeup the first morning there. Needless to say we put the sign out every night so that we wouldn't be awakened at 8:00 am. (I called the front desk and was told that they start early and we were first on their stop)

Room Tip: Though our room faced Sea World and the freeway was quite nearby, when the sliding door was closed w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grammybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear grammybrown,

Congratulations! It was a pleasure having you celebrate your 40th Anniversary with us!
Thank you for your review and we hope you stay with us again on your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Daniel Miranda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#101 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Address: 2270 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-2810 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel")
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#88 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,971 - ₹ 17,108
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN)and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions. Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific Ocean beaches. Our upscale hotel in San Diego, CA provides business travelers with quick access to many area businesses, such as the San Diego University of Integrative Studies, the University of San Diego, the UCSD Medical Center and the Scripps Mercy Hospital. Guests lodging at our luxurious San Diego accommodations can take advantage of our hotel's premium meeting facilities. With 26,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, endless room style arrangements and catering services available, our San Diego hotel can accommodate meetings and events of all sizes and types. During your stay at our hotel near the San Diego Zoo, you can relax in a tropical paradise. Lounge by the outdoor pool while listening to the soothing sounds of the outdoor waterfall, or enjoy fresh sushi at the Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar. Book your reservation today and see why our Crowne Plaza is among the finest San Diego hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mission Valley
Crowne Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing