We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (1,040)
Filter reviews
1,040 results
Traveller rating
283
351
200
121
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
351
200
121
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiki oasishotel circleold townhawaiian thememission valleytropical feelbit datedfashion valley mallsea worldshuttle servicefree shuttlehotel restaurantnice poolcomic confitness centerbalboa parkla jolla
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
687 - 692 of 1,040 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and stayed at this hotel for two nights and were very impressed with it. The room was on the ground floor and was very spacious and comfortable. The restaurant was very good and the staff were keen to please us. The food was well presented and reasonably priced as were the drinks.
The hotel is a little remote although there is a steak house restaurant about five minutes walk away. Other than that you will need transport to get anywhere else. The hotel is positioned about a fifteen minute drive away from the main part of San Diego.
I would be happy to recommend this holiday for couples and there appeared to be a large contingent of people on a medical convention staying at the same time we were there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed 3 nights for business. I like that they have a kids- free Quiet Zone block of rooms for business travelers. The restaurant food and room service menu was good and reasonably priced. The banquet and meeting facilities were very good. My company negotiated free Internet and discounted parking, so that was nice. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful. The suite my coworker stayed in was huge - the size of three hotel rooms. The rooms were spacious and had balconies or views. They had flat screen TVs and nice bedding/pilllows/mattresses. The hotel has a shuttle. The only complaints would be that the rooms are a good hike from the lobby/ restaurant and the decor and buildings are clearly 70's Hawaiian themed. Also not all rooms have refrigerators.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank CheChoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel! It was very clean and quiet and allowed us a very restful and peaceful stay. VERY clean! Nice happy Hour and room service was quick and delicious. The pool was very clean and well maintained. Hotel has a convenient location in Hotel Circle that allowed us to visit many different beaches and tourist attractions quite easily. The staff was courteous and the hotel front desk manager (Dennis) was very pleasant and professional, ensuring that our stay had been satisfactory. We are planning another trip to this hotel in July to escape the heat of Phoenix. Although we had not originally planned two trips to San Diego this summer, after our stay and the affordability and value, we will return to the Crowne Plaza San Diego!

Room Tip: Choose a room all the way at the end of the hallway on an upper floor. The room is extremely quiet and allows for a wonderfully peaceful night's sleep! Slightly set apart from the noise of other guest rooms! :)
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We decided to make a quick getaway to celebrate our 40th anniversary. Since beach front properties were too high we booked the Crowne Plaza in Hotel Circle in San Diego. Upon arrival we were checked in quickly and efficiently. Our room had been upgraded and was very spacious and clean.

We had a few problems trying to access the internet and it was resolved in a timely manner. The staff on all levels was excellent.

It is a little of a drive to the beach but we knew that in advance. It is just across the freeway from Old Town San Diego so that was really nice. Also the freeway access is right there that took us to downtown San Diego and our 2 favorite fish markets; Point Loma Seafood and Anthony's.

The parking was very full and we did have to park quite a distance from our room on two of the three nights. Other than that and maybe a remodel of the outside to bring it more up to date we had no complaints on this hotel.

One tip: housekeeping starts very early and unless you put the "do not disturb" card on your door we received an 8:00 AM wakeup the first morning there. Needless to say we put the sign out every night so that we wouldn't be awakened at 8:00 am. (I called the front desk and was told that they start early and we were first on their stop)

Room Tip: Though our room faced Sea World and the freeway was quite nearby, when the sliding door was closed we could not hear any freeway noise. When the door was open the freeway noise was loud.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grammybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear grammybrown,

Congratulations! It was a pleasure having you celebrate your 40th Anniversary with us!
Thank you for your review and we hope you stay with us again on your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The Crown Plaza was so very friendly for our family stay, all the things that you would need or could use to make your stay comfortable as all within the boundries of the hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful at all times,from check-in to checkout. The resturants had really good food.The hotel at all time felt secure plenty of staff about at check points. Day trips to activities from this location was very convient,ie;zoo etc.Should we travel to the area again this hotel would be our first recommendation.

Room Tip: roms with a veiw of the golf course was great and you could watch the train make it's run. watch for many colorful birds.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmc453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear gmc453,

Wow! We appreciated your excellent review on our hotel and staff. It was excellent to hear about our staff providing the customer service we strive to give to all of our guests. We look forward to having you stay on your next visit to San Diego!

Sincerely,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews