We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Ranked #155 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This Hotel had everything available we needed. It was close to all area attractions. The staff were professional and attentive to our needs. Everyone was super friendly. I would definitely stay at this Hotel when in the area. Could not ask for better service.

Room Tip: Sun rises on the east side of the building, all views seemed great with our families occupying 5 roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 675 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

As advised by fellow travelers, I requested golf course view when making a reservation via Courtyard website (very low non-refundable rate by the way), and it was fantastic as the room was on 8th floor - very peaceful and quiet.
Yes, the hotel was built long time ago and you can tell right away by the building layout and room design. But they do the best with it - everything is clean and comfortable.
Parking is extra, but with low room rate, it was still cheap compared to the same level of hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martha_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear Martha_FL,

Thank you for writing your review on our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the view from your room. We hope to see you again soon!!

Sincerely,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Nice hotel in San Diego near all of the attractions. Great for a weekend get away. Hawaiian decor makes you think your in the islands, not the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Travel4u,

We are glad you took notice of our Polynesian theme here at the hotel. The hotel provides a vibe of relaxation for our guests vacationing, for our guests that are here for business provides a sense of tranquility after a day of hard work. We look forward to see you again!

Sincerely,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at the CP rather by accident, because we failed to book three rooms at a downtown hotel so that we could attend a large scientific meeting. Faced with room charges well north of $300 apiece, we cast our net wider and recalled seeing a Crowne Plaza in Mission Valley near another popular meeting site. We got three rooms for about a third of the downtown cost, with a continental breakfast thrown in, plus, on weekdays, free drinks, in the Priority Club lounge. (We didn't take advantage of these because we usually stayed downtown until late.)

The property is rather senior but well maintained, with a Hawaiian theme that is relatively tastefully executed. The bar has a happy hour in the evenings M-F and a curious 10 pm to midnight one seven days a week, and serves good sushi (the salmon sashimi, which I tried, was very good, and generously supplied). The free breakfast is adequate, with an unusually good selection of fruit. On two mornings the straight coffee ran out, leaving us with only a rather icky flavored coffee; this would be easy to avoid. We used the restaurant once and found the food to be average, with no healthy choices available, as is all too common.

The rooms were large and nicely furnished, with a nice view over the courtyard and pool. Free Internet is available via a pass code supplied at check-in, which makes me wonder whether it is always free. I did not use it, depending on my rooted Android's hotspot instead. We stayed on the eighth floor, which we were amused to see was a "quiet zone" where a sign informed us that tour groups and circus animals were not allowed. Nice touch, and appreciated.

Downtown is very easy to get to. Simply take the 8 west then the 5 south to Front street. With light traffic it takes about ten minutes.

All told, a pleasant, drama-free stay. Definitely recommended.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank SoItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Soltinerant,

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review on our property and your experiences. I can see you were able to take advantage of our many amenities we have to offer. We appreciate you recommending travelers to stay at our property when they are in San Diego. We hope you come back soon!

Sincerely,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a very enjoyable time here. Our room was clean, comfortable and attractive. The pool area was very attractive with lots of lounges and trees. The on site restaurant served a variety of delicious foods at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Grace F,

Thanks for your review!! It’s great to see you had an enjoyable time here with us. We are happy to see you enjoyed our delicious Islands restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Daniel Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,317 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Address: 2270 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-2810 (Formerly "Red Lion Hanalei Hotel")
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Diego
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#88 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 5,167 - ₹ 12,208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN)and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions. Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific Ocean beaches. Our upscale hotel in San Diego, CA provides business travelers with quick access to many area businesses, such as the San Diego University of Integrative Studies, the University of San Diego, the UCSD Medical Center and the Scripps Mercy Hospital. Guests lodging at our luxurious San Diego accommodations can take advantage of our hotel's premium meeting facilities. With 26,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, endless room style arrangements and catering services available, our San Diego hotel can accommodate meetings and events of all sizes and types. During your stay at our hotel near the San Diego Zoo, you can relax in a tropical paradise. Lounge by the outdoor pool while listening to the soothing sounds of the outdoor waterfall, or enjoy fresh sushi at the Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar. Book your reservation today and see why our Crowne Plaza is among the finest San Diego hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mission Valley
Crowne Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing