We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Nearby Hotels
US$ 190
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 249
US$ 226
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 321/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 261/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 180
US$ 153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Westin San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 255
US$ 190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 326/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 166
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 188
US$ 154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 286/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 302
US$ 198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kings Inn San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 145
US$ 120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveller rating
555
270
74
14
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
555
270
74
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe breakfast areacomplimentary breakfast iswaffle makerclean hotelfitness centerexercise roomhotel circleoutdoor poolfresh fruitbusiness travelergreat place to staybed was very comfortableminute drivebusiness tripconvenient locationeasy accessbalboa park
Filter
Updating list...
792 - 797 of 929 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My family and I have stayed at this hotel many times, and every time we have left happy and well rested. the hotel is located near a freeway entrance, and not far from San Diego's main attractions. Rooms are good size and clean. Beds are comfortable. Bathroom is nice size. Gym is well equipped, pool is nice also. Free breakfast is always a plus when you travel with family, fresh fruit (not canned), cooked oatmeal, you can make your own waffles, cereals, egg, bacon, muffins, bread... mmmm! Very good service at front desk and also from the breakfast crew. There are 2 complimentary PC's and Wi-Fi. Being reasonably priced, so, what else can you ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karla014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

It's clean, comfortable, quiet, and the complimentary breakfast is better than most "free" breakfasts. Even though it's right off the freeway the room and public areas are quiet. I used the small but well equipped gym. There's even free Wi-Fi for you and your smartphone, tablet, or laptop. I was impressed that the extra pillow I usually have to request is just part of the room accommodations. The extra pillow was in the cabinet under the t.v. The t.v. is 42" and that's a plus too. I think you get your money's worth, since San Diego in July is definitely the high season. It's in an commercial part of town so mostly fast food restaurants nearby. We stayed there since we were driving all over San Diego county for a garden RR regional meet and the Hampton Inn was near all the freeways that we would be using.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I highly recommend this establishment for its cleanliness, and it's breakfast (SO happy to have cooked oatmeal as an option, no packets here) The only complaint was the guest.

We stayed here for 5 nights in June with our two young children. On the 4th night of our stay the weekend "sports crews" moved in. This raised the noise level in the hotel substantially and made the pool impossible to enjoy. We couldn't swim with our young children because there was a group of 8-12 year old boys in the pool. They would not stay on the deeper end to allow the other guests to use the shallow. Even worse, their parents sat by and did nothing but drink alcohol from coolers and completely ignore that their children were being disruptive to the other guests trying to swim. When we approached management with the issue they said they would "take care of it" when they actually did nothing. This we know because I personally checked to see if it had been handle 1 hour later. It had not...
That being said, I understand that this was not entirely the hotels fault. I do wish they would have done something about our complaint but oh well, what are you going to do?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esrhoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is am very nice property, reasonably priced with easy freeway access to major San Diego attractions. Wi-fi is free and the room came with a fridge and a nice size bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and I was able to get a good night's sleep. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 53LeeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed in room 507. Arrived in the afternoon and laid on the bed for 2 hours. shortly there after began to feel itching around stomach, back and legs. Noticed lumps and bite marks forming. Went online and found photos of bed bug bites that matched mine. Went to front desk to complain,they sent maintance ppl up with Febreeze. They refused to give me a new room saying they were booked and that I had to have evidence other than the bite marks that it came from their hotel. I threatened to call the health department and file suit and they then had room 510 open. They refused to take responsiblity. The maintenance guys came up and woke me up to say they would launder my clothes. Maybe they dont understand that you cant launder bed bugs from clothes. You have to throw them away. No apology, nothing for my pain. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE. Was a hilton honors member, and no more.

Room Tip: AVOID ROOM 507 and 510. Im sure both these rooms and maybe the entire 5th floor is contaminated if they did not clean it.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

We are very sorry for the experience that you had while staying at our property. We pride ourselves in cleanliness and the ultimate guest experience. Upon learning of the situation, I called in our pest control company to do a thorough inspection of the rooms listed and the rest of the property. There were no traces of bed bugs and there would unfortunately still be evidence of them if they were there. We do not have screens on our windows at this property and it is not unlikely that something can fly in that did not belong. I am very sorry for the treatment you received from the staff that evening and we have taken steps to ensure that never happens to another guest. We were sold out that evening and someone checked out early and housekeeping was working on cleaning the room for you, once again, I am sorry this was not conveyed properly. We do everything we can for every guest to ensure they have a perfect stay, sometimes we fail, and I am sorry you had to be the guest who experienced it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews