We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but really a business 'one nighter'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
Ranked #46 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We had four nights at the Embassy Suites La Jolla and it was a mixed bag. Location is pretty good, although you definitely need a car. They do charge $15 a day for parking, but that seems fairly standard. Rooms are good, with separate living room and little kitchenette area. They are quite gloomy - all living rooms off the central atrium, and they are fairly '1970's' in decor and style. But comfortable and functional. Free breakfast buffet is really good and they have a free happy hour type thing in the early evenings. Real bonus having a PF Changs next door - definitely the highlight for our 2-year old! The pool is decent, gym not too good. We ate in the hotel restaurant once, not very good and more aimed at afterwork drinking crowd. Overall, good hotel but we felt overpriced. We booked online and when tax included we paid over $800 for 4 nights.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mackdaddynewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyLJ-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2011

We appreciate your comments. Along with P.F. Chang’s China Bistro, there are over two dozen restaurants, from casual to world-class within walking distance of Embassy Suites San Diego – La Jolla. And you’ll be happy to hear we have updated the lighting in our suites with brighter, energy efficient bulbs. For your future travel plans, please continue to check our website for all specials and packages that provide extra value to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,373 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2010

My family and I stayed at the Embassy Suites La Jolla from Nov 14-17, 2010. I was here on business, but my wife and two kids had their own fun while I was working. The hotel rooms are recently renovated about 3 years ago and it shows. Nice flat screen TVs, granite in bathroom, etc. We stayed on the 11th floor out of a possible 12 floors. I'm and HHonors member and can tell you this is a Category 7 hotel which means if you wanted to use reward points to stay here it would cost you 50,000 points per night. The complimentary breakfast and manager's receptions were great. There is a parking garage of about 4 levels and costs $19/day to park in there. This hotel is geared for business travelers, but families can stay here no problem. The pool is indoors, but the very small hot tub is outdoors. The business center computers were very slow. Our blackberries could surf the internet faster! One day house keeping was very late making up our room, but it's because there were lots of people checking out that day and those rooms get priority to be made up first before existing/ongoing guests rooms are made up.

There is a Westfield Mall across the street which has a Starbucks which opens at 5am. There's also a Peets Coffee just down the street which opens at 6am. This hotel is about 20 minutes away from downtown San Diego. Definitely would stay here again if given the chance!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2thdoc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyLJ-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

Thank you for relating your hotel experience. We wanted to let you and future guests know that our 24 hour Complimentary Business Center will be seeing a complete upgrade in the next few months, including faster Internet connections. Hope to see you again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

My stay at this hotel was nice, located conveniently between the 805 and 5. This hotel is great for those who want to enjoy being near by La Jolla (Located La Jolla UTC) without the expensive La Jolla Shores price. I found the rooms and lobby to be clean and comfortable. If I had any complaints I'd say rooms are a bit dated but why would you go to San Diego just to hang out in your hotel room.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATravelerCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyLJ-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our convenient location allows our guests to experience the best of San Diego and La Jolla. We hope you’ll be visiting us again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We have 3 teenage boys and the breakfast they provide at Embassy Suites fills the boys up and they like it. We all enjoy the free happy hour and we all have a great time sitting around and relaxing and visiting. It is worth it to us to go to ES because of the "all suites" and the food. We go here a lot and 3 times we have been upgraded to the presidential suite ( 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full living room, dining area, and the most wonderful loos you have ever seen.) The only downside there is the hotel restaurant. The food is pretty limited, expensive, and not all that good. They are never busy and I would guess that accounts for there lack of effort. The people at the front desk seem to be always on edge because sooo many people come in rude, demanding, and act like they deserve Waldorf Astoria treatment for 1/3 the price. Basically, very family friendly, a bit noisy, but clean, no bed bugs, and affordable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalMomHighland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My wife and I have stayed at more than a half dozen Embassy Suites in several states. We love Embassy Suites - Great bang for your buck!
I'm not saying this particular property was not clean and comfortable, but the front desk people were not very helpful. and it costs $17 a day to park. Considering the fact that it is located in a high-end business area of San Diego/La Jolla called "the Golden Tiangle" I was disappointed at the level of service we received. There were no parking spots reserved for check-in so one has to park in the parking structure (no elevator) and haul your own bags. The bellperson is not always present and there is only one luggage cart. The breakfast offerings were minimal compared to other Embassy Suites.

When my wife went to use the pool for the first time - we discovered her room key card did not work (1 of 2) She as not asked her room number but rather refused assistance unless she showed ID - she was on her way to the pool!! She didn't have ID! When we complained to the manager, we got a wimpy "that shouldn't have happened" No real apology or effort to make it up.

As I said - when compared to other Embassy suites and considering it's location - I was dissapointed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla

Address: 4550 La Jolla Village Dr, San Diego, CA 92122-1248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#37 Business Hotel in San Diego
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 9,379 - ₹ 21,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the beautiful beaches of La Jolla, CA, the Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla offers unparalleled comfort for business and leisure travelers. Hotel guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and refreshments with light snacks at the complimentary Evening Reception. The hotel's 340 suites are 100% non-smoking and feature a private bedroom, living room with sofa bed, two HDTVs, MP3 player/clock radio, workspace with ergonomic desk chair, and Internet connection availability. Additional on-site amenities include meeting and event space, business center, fitness center, dry sauna, and indoor pool. Dine easily with room service or at one of the on-site restaurants, P.F. Chang's China Bistro or Indulge Restaurant and Lounge. Ideal for business travelers, this La Jolla hotel is conveniently located near the offices of Ernst & Young, IBM, and Pfizer. Leisure guests enjoy close proximity to La Jolla beaches, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland California, Torrey Pines Golf Course, and Westfield UTC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla Hotel San Diego
Embassy Suites La Jolla
San Diego Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing