We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Westin San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 262
US$ 213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 274/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton San Diego Mission Valley(San Diego)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 201
US$ 196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 238
US$ 213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 218
US$ 166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 200
US$ 163
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$ 273
US$ 220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Horton Grand Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 313
US$ 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 216
US$ 165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,671)
Filter reviews
1,671 results
Traveller rating
811
541
211
73
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
811
541
211
73
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspf changsindoor poolla jollaevening receptionmall across the streetkoi pondmade to order breakfastfree happy hourparking garagecomplimentary breakfastthe sofa bedno elevatorthe breakfast areaper dayroom keybusiness centerbusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 1,671 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I travel a lot and stay at Embassy Suites around the U.S. whenever I can. I enjoy the property and the concept. I was visiting UC San Diego with my daughter and we stayed at the Embassy Suites La Jolla. It is wonderfully located close to a huge shopping area with great restaurants and also to the university. However, the hotel has the worst Wifi connection that I have seen. We called the front desk to say the Wifi kept losing connection and we could only barely get it in the front portion of the suite, not the bedroom where I was trying to work. The front desk person reported that the Wifi was working and had no other comments. When we checked out the next day, the folks at the front desk were apologetic about the wifi and said that they get many complaints about it. They also said it only appears to work toward the inner part of the hotel and not the bedrooms. I appreciated their honesty. This hotel needs to correct the wifi issue right away and not charge guest for wifi at all. The parking rates at this hotel are also a bit steep so be ready for that costs. The valet system is confusing. When driving on to the property, the valet is not by the front door, they are by a restaurant so you aren't sure who the valet service belongs. The staff was pleasant. The breakfast food presentation did not look as nice as other Embassy Suites. The fruit was in the bowls looked a bit old and the coffee station creates a bottle neck for people trying to get to the food. The bedrooms were clean and the bed comfortable. This property has higher rates and the service and amenities should be better (wifi, valet location and breakfast food presentation). In fact, the following night we stayed at Embassy Suites in Santa Ana which is undergoing major renovation with the entire middle section torn apart and the breakfast area in a temporary location, and the staff, wifi and breakfast service and presentation were far better.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

This is a typical Embassy Suites, with the rooms around the atrium and plants and a Koi pond in the lobby/breakfast area. It is a bit taller than many, with 12 floors, which is nice if you happen to get one of the higher floors to keep some of the atrium noise out. That being said, the rooms themselves were extremely quiet...we heard nothing from either neighbor and very little from the atrium except during exceptionally busy times (breakfast and during the evening reception).

The rooms have been recently renovated...new furniture and carpet. The only thing they didn't completely renovate was the bathroom, so it looked a bit dated. But it was clean and functional, which is all we cared about.

The evening reception was probably one of the best, if not the best, we've ever seen at an Embassy Suites. It's not that the food was great...it was basically veggies and chips and a different type of dip each night. But the adult beverages were served from the restaurant bar, so you didn't have to wait in line in the same area as the kids who were able to get their sodas from self serve machines. Given that the hotel was pretty overrun with kids (expected during summer), it was nice to go to the bar, get a drink quickly, and then sit there in the quieter area with mostly adults (there was an outdoor area behind the bar/restaurant that was excellent for adult conversation). But for those with kids, there was plenty of seating out in the atrium and lots of kids were out there enjoying the Koi pond.

What made the evening reception so great for us though was the staff. In particular, Matt, Andrew and Eric were just exceptional. They even came out to the outdoor seating area to ask if we wanted anything else...we didn't have to go in and wait in line for a drink! And this was not a one time deal...they were constantly out there looking after the guests. They were so good that we stayed and ordered dinner there two nights at the bar, and chatted with them. Super friendly guys, and so helpful and service oriented.

Also very good was the breakfast. Yes, it could get crowded, but they allowed people to sit in the restaurant area (which was closed at the time) if they wanted a quiet space. The made to order omelettes were great, and they had a really good selection of breads and fruit. If you didn't want an omelette but wanted eggs or meat or potatoes, they had a buffet line set up where you could get those things without having to wait in the omelette line.

The pool was indoors, but the hot tub was outside of the pool area in a nice sitting area for sunbathing. The gym was off the pool area and was small but adequate

The only reason I gave the hotel 4 stars instead of 5 is because of an issue we've had on the last two visits there. When we checked out, we were given our bill and all charges checked out. However, when the charges cleared our credit card, there was the "correct" charge, and then there was an additional charge of $10.15. The last time that happened, we called and were told it was for "water in the room." They do have two bottles of water in the rooms that they charge for if you use them; however, we are Diamond members and get free water so would never bother to use water we have to buy. They told us the last time that they would credit us the water charge, but they never did. Lo and behold, there it was again this trip. I do not know if the housekeepers are claiming people drink the water and then drink it themselves, or if this hotel just has a policy of charging people for water whether they use it or not, but either way, it is ridiculous that we have to make phone calls to get a 10 dollar charge that should never have been there taken off our credit card. This time, we just filed a dispute with AmEx and they immediately credited us (I'm sure they just ate the charge themselves, but honestly, they shouldn't have to do that).

Would we stay there again? Absolutely. But we would do two things differently. First, upon check out, we would tell them specifically that we did not use the water, or anything else that wasn't on the bill they gave us then and there, and that we wanted a note put on our file that we expect no further surprise charges to our card. And secondly, we would either not have a car with us and would take Uber or public transportation, or we would find somewhere else to park. The parking garage was painfully tight, and at $29 a night for parking, it would be worth it to us for a little inconvenience to find a better place to park (not sure that there is one nearby though...the mall is across the street but I'm sure they monitor it for overnight parking).

Room Tip: Higher floors don't get as much noise from the atrium.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamikoBold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Went here for a business trip but brought my cousin along from overseas. The staff was amazing. From the easy check-in process w/ Genesis, to Iniego helping us with our luggage and giving us water, Aida taking care of us during breakfast, Giselle notifying me that I forgot my phone at valet, Aaliyah ensuring a fast no hassle check-out....the complete solution. Best staff of any Embassy Suites I have stayed at. Will definitely stay here again and recommend to business associates, family, and friends!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djaybalboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

This is a typical big city Embassy Suites. It is older, but has been recently updated and looks very nice. The location is great, right across the street from a mall and there is a PF Chang's in front of the hotel. I stayed here for 7 nights using reward points, so I can't speak to the value, but I did look at the pricing and in my opinion, it is a bit overpriced during high season. It isn't ridiculous, but high for a mid-range hotel.

The property is very clean inside and out. I never saw any trash anywhere, the carpets were clean and it smelled fresh. The same applies to the room where everything was spotless. There were no stains on the carpet or furniture and the bathroom was clean. While recently updated, the bathroom still has the original beige tub and stone floors that just can't be cleaned anymore. It looks a bit dingy, but it is in fact clean. Housekeeping was a bit inconsistent. Some days I wouldn't get a new supply of tea, another the overflowing trash wasn't emptied, one day they took the dirty towels and didn't replace them, etc. And, some days it was perfect.

The suites are large as at most Embassy Suites with this design. The amenities are nice, everything worked in the room, and the TV had lots of HD channels. The TV is very slow to respond, which was an annoyance. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens and huge pillows. I never heard anything through the walls. I could hear kids screaming from the atrium through the door, but I couldn't hear it in the bedroom at all. The standard wi-fi was plenty fast for what I wanted to do.

All of the staff I interacted with were friendly and helpful, especially Shara from room service. There was a bit of a hassle when I added extra nights to my reward stay. I had to make a separate reservation and then wait until that morning to get new keys. I know it is possible to add days to existing keys (I worked at a DoubleTree), but that seemed impossible here. It wasn't a deal breaker, but it was a bit of a drag.

The reasons I knocked one star off my review were relatively minor and would not stop me from staying here again. They were, however, an annoyance. The parking structure is way too narrow in some places. I saw two incidents where someone banged into another car while trying to turn around. My advice is to continue all the way to the top deck where there is plenty of room to maneuver. Drop your bags at the entrance before parking because there is no elevator in the structure and it is not attached to the hotel. There is no valet parking. The charge is $28 per day, which is typical in this area.

I never made it to breakfast mostly because it ends at 9 am on weekdays and that's too early for me. On the weekend when it runs later, it was overrun with screaming children and there were no tables available. I'm sure the food is typical of Embassy Suites and perfectly fine, but there isn't nearly enough seating for such a large hotel. I ordered room service a few times for dinner and the food was very good, delivered promptly and a reasonable price (for a hotel). However, a friend and I walked out of the restaurant one night because no one waited on us. So, stick to room service for food at the hotel.

My biggest peeve with hotels these days is when they use a motion sensor to activate the A/C. In this case, the sensor is located in the living room part of the room, so every few hours during the night the A/C would turn off and it would get hot in the bedroom. It got so warm that it woke me up and I would have to walk to the other room to reactivate it. There might be a sensor on the thermostat in the bedroom, but it is behind the door and wouldn't work anyway. The windows don't open, so you are reliant on air conditioning and it should stay on all night.

In spite of the shortcomings, I would definitely stay here under similar circumstances. It is close to local attractions and both Scripps and UCSD Hospitals. I moved to another nearby luxury hotel for one night and it wasn't nearly as pleasant as the Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank davegidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for nine nights during our family vacation. The pictures online do not do it justice. Beautiful hotel centrally located to Sea World, Lego Land, San Diego Zoo and the Safari park. The staff was extremely friendly, happy hour was fantastic, and the place was beyond clean. A nice outdoor mall was located directly across the street within a short walking distance that had plenty of shopping and restaurants to eat at. I highly recommended this hotel to anyone looking to visit San Diego. The only downfall is they do charge a parking fee of $20 a night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews