We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
Ranked #59 of 283 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is a fairly typical Embassy Suites, and while it has gone through some renovations, it is showing its age. My wife and I had a suite on the 12th (top) floor, and we discovered a drip coming from the ceiling in the corner of the sitting area -- either a leak in the roof or the plumbing had obviously been there for a while, since the ceiling was heavily stained and bits of the ceiling had fallen off at some time in the past. We reported this to the front desk, and they were very apologetic and offered to move us to a different suite. We didn't feel like repacking all our stuff, though, and the drip wasn't really bothering us that much.

Despite that minor glitch, it was a pleasant stay -- the staff were friendly, and the suite was comfortable. We will probably stay there again the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    466
    183
    69
    26
See reviews for
608
217
34
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY, USA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed for one night while in the area for business and overall really liked it. It's an atrium-style layout with 11 floors. I had a 1 bedroom suite (true suite, not divider walled) that was spacious and well appointed. The hotel was completed renovated 5 years ago and further fitted with flat screen TVs a year ago. In addition to the usual coffee maker there is also a small fridge and microwave. Internet is about $10 and self-parking is $20. Everyone was friendly--I had to go to the nearby Hyatt for dinner and the bellman was happy to drive me over in the van.

The fitness room is a little small for the size of the hotel, just three treadmills, a couple of elliptical trainers, and that's about it. It wasn't too busy when I was in there at 8 am but it wouldn't take much to fill it up. The indoor pool looked nice but too small for laps. There is a hot tub outside.

The free breakfast buffet has a good selection of hot and cold items. It ends at 9 am so I stopped by after my workout, loaded some things onto a tray and ate in my room later, which worked out well. It did seem to get a little crowded and there were several people waiting in line for the omelet station.

The Embassy Suites is not as nice as the Hyatt 5 minutes down the road, and you can't beat the Hyatt's beautiful lap pool and nextdoor enormous health club which Hyatt guests can use (for $13 I think). But the ES is a little cheaper and would be better for families due to the suite layout and free breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main road could get car noise but I couldn't hear anything from my room on...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jack783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

First of all, this is for solo business travel, and my review would probably be different (and slightly more favorable) for vacation travel with the kids. After staying at nearby the Hilton Garden Inn (Del Mar) and DoubleTree (Del Mar), the Embassy ranks at the bottom of my list of Hilton choices when I travel to this area. It is not a terrible hotel, by any means; it just isn't my favorite among the various Hilton brand options in the area. For a family get-away on a weekend it may be the best option in the area, with the large family room and spacious accommodations. During my stay, however, I had the impression that the hotel seems a bit "tired" and stale (as are many Embassy Suites around the country), and the general feel of the hotel left me wanting more. That being said, all my interactions with the staff were very pleasant and the check in was very speedy and friendly.

The Good:

The location is very convenient, right off the 805 freeway and across from a large shopping mall with lots of options for food and beverage. A quick 15 minute drive over the hill takes you to the beach at La Jolla and the quaint and upscale shops and restaurants there.

The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a typical Embassy Suites layout of sitting room with sofa/desk in the front room and a bedroom in the back. The views from the taller floors are nice (for this area, which is very commercial). The bathroom amenities are nice (they even included a razor, shaving cream, toothbrush, toothpaste, and a mending kit). The linens and towels are very nice quality, however the pillows are synthetic and very spongy - if you are used to down pillows, you may wake up with a neck-ache like I did every morning.

Staff is very friendly and helpful

The Not-so-Good:

This hotel is one of the more expensive Hilton options nearby for the regular room rates. Add $20 a day for parking and it becomes significantly more expensive, without delivering additional meaningful value. The parking garage fills up quickly and is so narrow you have to back up if someone comes the other way while trying to exit, which is incredibly frustrating when you are just trying to get to the office in the morning.

The Free Breakfast: Standing in line for breakfast. Really? Come on! I am fortunate to get free breakfast at *any* Hilton (as HHonors Gold or Diamond) so the "free" breakfast at the Embassy was not my reason for choosing the hotel. However, if it had been, the deal-killer for me is that there is no quick buffet for hot items like pancakes, french toast, waffles, etc. Instead you have to queue up behind everyone in a long serpentine line to order one person at a time. The problem is so bad, they even post a "warning" about it in the rooms!) You must stand in line for anything besides cold cereal, muffins, or toast.

After standing in line 15 minutes my first day for two pancakes, I opted to go across the street to Corner Bakery for my breakfast the remaining days of my stay. As to the rest of the food options at the "breakfast buffet", they are less numerous and of lower quality than the aforementioned HGI and Doubltree, both of which offer very nice (and fast) breakfasts by comparison. For example, the coffee at the Embassy is made from coffee-flavored syrup and hot water that is mixed as you dispense it - like the stuff in a college dorm or cruise ship - it is not even brewed. (That was a big turn-off to me)

I found the air in my room to be stale smelling; almost as though someone had smoked in the room some time before and the smell never quite cleared (there isn't a way to crack a window for fresh air). Also, I happened to check in on an unusually cold and rainy evening and I turned on the heater in the room (which inexplicably had been turned completely off). I quickly realized why it had been disabled by a previous occupant - the fan was noisy and the air that issued from the vents smelled awful - dusty and dirty and reminiscent of the exhaust from an old vacuum cleaner that needs to have its bag changed. In fairness, heaters probably aren't used much in San Diego, but it was still off-putting.

Bottom line, if you are traveling on business and don't mind driving an extra 10 minutes, I would personally recommend the nearby Hilton Garden Inn or Doubletree hotels - you'll save money on the room rate and get free parking, plus you will have a newer room and a far superior breakfast in the morning, with equally friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: As a Diamond, I was "upgraded" to the HHonors floor (10th floor), but the room seemed like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SBH2OMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We had a great experience at the Embassy Suites in La Jolla. Our room and bathroom were really clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet and we enjoyed the hot made-to-order breakfast. We were really happy with the location. A terrific hotel at an affordable price with a lot of amenities. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozalyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyLJ-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla! We truly appreciate your comments, and it means a lot that you would recognize our fantastic team. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I have stayed here numerous times while on business trips to our Home office in San Diego. The hotel is very nice and in a great location. You can walk to numerous great restaurants in the La Jolla area. It is still a drive down to Torry Pines or to the La Jolla area overlooking the ocean but not far. There is free breakfast and happy hour that is a nice perk. They do have an outdoor area with fire pits for a nice nightcap. This is a typical Embassy Suites set up that is done right and in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyLJ-GM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla! We truly appreciate your comments, and particularly that you would recognize our team members Paul, Paige, and Dibiana. They are a fantastic representation of our hotel, and we are always grateful to hear feedback about our guests' service experience.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla
Address: 4550 La Jolla Village Drive, San Diego, CA 92122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in San Diego
#37 Business Hotel in San Diego
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#50 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,682 - ₹ 23,660
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the beautiful beaches of La Jolla, CA, the Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla offers unparalleled comfort for business and leisure travelers. Hotel guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and refreshments with light snacks at the complimentary Evening Reception. The hotel's 340 suites are 100% non-smoking and feature a private bedroom, living room with sofa bed, two HDTVs, MP3 player/clock radio, workspace with ergonomic desk chair, and Internet connection availability. Additional on-site amenities include meeting and event space, business center, fitness center, dry sauna, and indoor pool. Dine easily with room service or at one of the on-site restaurants, P.F. Chang's China Bistro or Indulge Restaurant and Lounge. Ideal for business travelers, this La Jolla hotel is conveniently located near the offices of Ernst & Young, IBM, and Pfizer. Leisure guests enjoy close proximity to La Jolla beaches, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland California, Torrey Pines Golf Course, and Westfield UTC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego - La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Diego - La Jolla Hotel San Diego
Embassy Suites La Jolla
San Diego Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing