We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,678)
Filter reviews
1,678 results
Traveller rating
1,000
465
136
48
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,000
465
136
48
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean front partial ocean view oceanfront room pool area world famous restaurant board walk within walking distance sound of the waves pool and hot tub mission beach third floor balcony door awesome location underground parking belmont park restaurants and bars front desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,678 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My mother, sister, and I visited San Diego and stayed at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel. It was a special trip celebrating our 75 year old mother over my fall break from school. I carefully planned an ocean front suite because our goal was to enjoy a relaxing time by the beach listening to the surf and enjoying each other.

The hotel staff was exceptional for every need - family, couples, young and old. In fact each time we needed something, we'd look up to see Saul there already to help. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Plus, at check in guest sign an informational notice about no smoking, loud music... Everyone was respectful, kind, and shared a good time.

Even though we were there for a relaxing, quiet time, there were so many fun things to do. Eating at terrific places all around... the fish tacos at Woody's and the pecan bread pudding at World Famous tempted our tastebuds. Watching the surfers at the Pacific Surf School and families on the beach brought smiles to our faces. Listening to the roar of the ocean when night fell and the white waves accented the darkness of the sea filled our souls.. It was truly a dream come true.

We highly recommend the Blue Sea Beach Hotel and are looking forward to going again.

Room Tip: Difference between 'ocean view' and 'ocean front' when booking. Suites have 2 bathrooms, balconies, tvs + fridg & micro
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSeaGM, Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide this AMAZING review! We are thrilled to have contributed to your 5-star experience! It is truly a delight to know of all the wonderful things you enjoyed about the hotel and the area and we certainly hope you can join us again during your next visit to the San Diego area - we would love to have you as our guest!

Sincerely,
Nicholas Villalobos
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had an amazing time at Blue Sea Beach Hotel!! Customer service was incredible from check-in to housekeeping to maintenance crew working around the property— everyone there was there to welcome and help if they could! Amenities were great- meeting & exceeding our expectations! Boogie boards, chairs and umbrellas to rent at front desk! We were naively surprised by parking fee coming from a small town but par for the course, I’m sure! Location is perfect— right on the beach , great restaurants & shopping within walking distance. Rooms were clean, super comfortable & quiet. We’ll definitely book here again! Thanks for a great trip!!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Summer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSeaGM, Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide your wonderful feedback! We are delighted you had a great visit to the Blue Sea Beach Hotel - mentioning the spectacular views of Pacific Beach, convenient location amongst the many restaurants, and the layout and comfort of the hotel! Your review is greatly valued as we strive to offer the best service that contributes to memorable experiences. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the San Diego area!

Thank you,
Nicholas Villalobos
Assistant General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Martina, Natalie and the entire staff are AWESOME!!! Wish I could remember everyone’s name. This was our second visit and we can’t wait for our third. Amazing location and great accommodations. Expect a call from the Kiernan Clan again soon.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSeaGM, Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Kiernan Family,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We will be sure to recognize the mentioned staff for their excellent service. We are thrilled to have you as a returning guest and look forward to your next visit to The Blue Sea Beach Hotel.

Thank you,
Nicholas Villalobos
Assisant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is in a fantastic location. The rooms were on the smaller side but you are at the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool deck area was very clean as were all the common areas. There was a shower for those coming in from the beach that was very nice. We have stayed other places in the past on the beach but this is a great value will stay again. Great for couples or families.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 76AmyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSeaGM, Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are delighted you had a wonderful time with us at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel - mentioning the great location, clean rooms, and friendly staff! It is truly our pleasure to help create memorable experiences and 5-star service for our guests. We hope you can join us again during your next visit to the San Diego area.

Sincerely,
Nicholas Villalobos
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This no-frills hotel is nothing to look at from the outside. So our expectations were low. But when we arrived in our ocean view room we were pleasantly surprised. We had a very nice view and the room was bigger than we expected. The best thing about this hotel is that it is in the heart of the action on Pacific beach. It is walking distance to many eating a establishments. The boardwalk is right there. The view from the pool area is amazing. The rooms were a bit on the expensive side but for being right on the beach, what would you expect?

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSeaGM, Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Mark,

We are thrilled we were able to surpass your expectations. As you mentioned we are located directly in the heart of Pacifica Beach walking distance to many fine bars, restaurants and attractions. We look forward to your next visit to the Blue Sea Beach Hotel.

Thank you,
Nicholas Villalobos
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews