We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Not a fancy hotel but worths what it costs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Ranked #60 of 283 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a fancy hotel but worths what it costs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

My room was ok, clean, good size; the breakfast was not really good, but fill your stomach. Great location, a couple of blocks from Little Italy, Friendly Staff especially Moises.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ED7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    604
    163
    37
    18
See reviews for
332
480
71
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Our stay was Jan. 18 & 19th 2012. Great place to spend your pre-cruise time. The room was clean and comfortable. We never made it to the pool but it looked nice. You could hear the train in our room facing the bay, but not too bad. We were on the 8th floor. Elevators were good. The staff were very freindly.

The restaurant next door had excellent service but could have had a bigger menu.

The hotel was in walking distance to Seaport Village, Little Italy, and to the shore where we spent most of our time walking around and going whale watching.

Our only complaint was the water temp. in the shower flucuates.

Room Tip: free shuttle to ship. we took a cab to hotel for around $12, but could have taken the shuttle
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

well we only stayed here for 2 nights, we were touring the states, but not only is it excellently situated but everything you want is within a 5 min walk.
The staff were friendly, the rooms secure and clean and breakfast, as far as we were conserned decent, i have read a lot of negative comments on this hotel and sorry but as a traveller to " the states " on a regular basis i think this hotel is really good.
If you want to be treated like royalty nip over the bridge to the hotel corinado and loose your mortgage, yes we stayed there as well and not a patch on the location of this hotel !
We will be back xxx

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitwickboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Clean, comfortable, with a view of the Bay,okay a partial one. Save your pennies, for food and drinks. How long do you spend in your room anyway, but while you are there its more than good value. It has a heated pool and jaccusi. The staff are helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were a bit basic, but again, its included in the price. Location very handy for Little Italy, close enough to walk to the promenade, within walking distance of the trolley line and Coaster line for the beaches and coast.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room...enjoy the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbuckner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybofey, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

This hotel was great. We stayed for two nights. Really easy to get to if your coming from LA. CLose to Sea World as well. The Restaurant that is attached is beautiful. The staff at the front desk couldnt have been more friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean and we had a great view of the port.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aiden D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#48 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#112 of 283 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#80 of 283 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in San Diego
#74 Business Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,273 - ₹ 15,205
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing