We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night in December to attend a party. From the moment you are greeted at the front gate to entering the lobby, you know you have entered a world class hotel. Check in was super quick and they even had a toy chest with toys for our little one to choose. We were on the first floor. The room was luxurious and had a huge bath tub. The only thing you may want to know beforehand is that there is little to no cell reception, which could be a good thing if you really want to escape. There is also free WiFi that is easy to connect to. We had breakfast at the Amaya (i believe that is the correct name) and that was a great experience as well. We loved our stay!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for the five star review. We are thrilled you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. It's always wonderful to see how excited children get when they discover the toy chest! Thank you again for sharing your review and we hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2017

Stayed 1 night for a company holiday party. No pool time or golfing, but the grounds were very clean and quiet. If you are looking for somewhere to escape and get away, this is it.

Loved the room! We were on the 3rd floor (lobby level) overlooking the adult pool. This was definitely one of the nice hotel rooms I have been in. Bed, couch, full size tub. TV in the vanity area across form the shower, so you could watch TV while you shower. Plenty of closet space as well. No cheap fixtures or furniture, all very nice and felt more like a home and less of a hotel room. Balcony was a bit small but if you open both sliders you can make accommodate more people.

My one complaint: No ice machine? I walked around the halls for a bit before one of the cleaning people found me and told me the ice machine was hidden in a closet, and not accessible to guests?

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for your detailed review and we are happy to learn you enjoyed your experience with us at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. As it relates to ice machines, ice is provided to all guests at evening turn down service. Should you desire ice prior to turn down, our in-doom dining team is happy to deliver it directly to your room. We take great pride in providing excellent service to our guests and we hope to welcome you back again for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

In a nutshell, the little things (and for our trip, one very big thing) are missing here. The grounds and hotel itself are BEAUTIFUL. Staff is polite and helpful, but yet somehow there are (rather huge) service gaps here.
We were in a Toscana suite, very spacious with a dining table and nice view. There were three adults and one child. Our room had one bed and a pullout sofa. I'm not sure if the staff thought we would all sleep in the one bed together but there were no pillows or blankets for the sofa bed - we were told to check for extra in the closet, where I found one pillow. When paying over $800/night for a room, attention to detail is kind of thing I expect. We travelled with our (hypoallergenic 4 pound) puppy and as such were put in a "pet" suite, i.e. the carpet is nothing you want to walk on without socks - on the bright side the puppy was supplied with a bed, it was just the humans who were left wondering how'd they'd sleep comfortably. And the answer to that question was NOT AT ALL if you are sleeping on the pullout couch, not even the 4 year old could be convinced, we ended up calling for a single cot which two of us squished on and were 1000% more comfortable than the pullout.
Our experience fell apart with the dining experience. Long story short, my daughter has severe allergies, I made pre arrival food plans, confirming a list of her safe foods with the F&B Manager, and unfortunately they were not followed through on, compounded by the fact that she was also served food that she's allergic to. Luckily, for some reason, she choose not eat pasta that night, and we were saved from a life threatening situation - after I was informed by the staff that the pasta did in fact contain eggs, one of my daughter's anaphylactic allergies. Please note that the Manager did call and apologize and noted they would look into the situation as to ensure it did not happen again. Unfortunately, it happened at all, and our faith in the Fairmont food and beverage staff standards is certainly gone.
Overall, this is a beautiful property. If you are someone looking for wine and dine and beautiful things, you will be impressed here. If you appreciate a little more substance for your money, you will be left wanting.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Lovely hotel on spacious grounds. Staff is helpful and the rooms are attractive, spacious and clean. I found I wanted to spend more time at the hotel than I had planned. We really enjoyed the pool area.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank susancW1187VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time at the resort and at the pool! We hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Best hotel experience ever. Dinner and the service at Addison was impeccable, best ever dining experience. I just wish the prices were a bit more readily available without having to ask. I knew it would be expensive but I guess the assumption is, if you're dining here, you probably don't care about the price (but I do). Was offered 4 different champagne options to start, with all the details of each one except the price. Turned out I chose champagne that was $50/glass. I should've asked first...

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,096 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,087 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,222 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,036 reviews
Downtown
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#2 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 27,551 - ₹ 64,860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the elegance and comfort of an old-world Mediterranean estate, San Diego's luxury Fairmont Grand Del Mar golf resort and spa welcomes guests to Southern California with signature charm and impeccable service. Magnificently situated on 400-acres in a pristine coastal canyon five miles from the Pacific Ocean, Fairmont Grand Del Mar shines as TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Vacation at this Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond luxury San Diego resort featuring the private Tom Fazio designed golf course, A Five-Star spa, four sparkling pools, tennis courts, yoga and fitness classes, Explorer's Club for kids, nightlife and exquisite dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star and Five Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Prestigia so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing