We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,987)
Filter reviews
1,987 results
Traveller rating
1,747
148
47
24
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,747
148
47
24
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amaya restaurant adult pool relaxation pool chocolate covered oreos prado suite four seasons amazing property family pool tennis courts pool staff rooms are beautiful star resort turn down service room service southern california fitness center the san diego area
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 1,987 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Amazing views!
All the staff were very polite and helpful. Amaya restaurant decors in the outside could be improved especially during the holidays.
Alex and Ryan were very professional and gave us a good customer service during our dinner night. Great architectural design!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ariel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review and for joining us for your Thanksgiving getaway. We appreciate the kind words about our staff and property. Our holiday decorations are now up and the entire hotel has turned festive for the holidays. We hope to welcome you back again, and hopefully around the holidays so you may enjoy the holiday decor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

The staff was absolutely incredible, top to bottom. The gentlemen tending bar mixed some of the tastiest (and unique) cocktails I've had in a long time, which made for an excellent nightcap on our room's patio. The rooms were spacious and extremely comfortable - with fantastic turndown service. The staff took excellent care of us during the working sessions of our Company Retreat, and then made sure we had plenty of fun activities lined up for after: golfing, hiking, sea kayaking, surfing, and more, plus private fire pits at night. Can't wait to return, both for business and pleasure!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for your review for your recent stay and that we were able to help in creating such wonderful memories. We look forward to welcome you back again for both work and play!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Stayed for a few nights and had an incredible time. The staff was beyond gracious and the property was luxurious. Easily one of the nicest places I have stayed.

I got the impression that guest satisfaction was taken seriously here as I didn't have a bad experience with any of the staff - they were all very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tripguy370928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for the terrific review and the compliment to our team. We take pride in our Five Star service and we appreciate the acknowledgement in your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We had our company retreat to the property. It's one of the nicest hotels and properties I've stayed at. An amazing place for a retreat or company off-site. The property has ample dedicated conference space. There was another large group while we were there and we hardly noticed them. There are several onsite restaurants and walking distance to the golf course and clubhouse, so you can do all the meals on property.

The experience is incredible. Three large beautiful pools and in general tons of open space in an around the property. The staff was top notch, very friendly and welcoming and service was impeccable. They also suggested multiple different local activities for our afternoons off including hiking, horseback riding (onsite), sea kayaking in La Jolla and surf lessons. There's tons of other local activities as well.

We did a few on-site team activities.

I recommend their evening smore's experience. They set up several fire pits in a private area of the lawn and have a smore's spread.

They also offered night putting on their putting green with glow in the dark balls. Really fun evening activity for the team.

I stayed in the Palazzo Suite which is absolutely incredible and worth the upgrade. It's a two room suite with a dining table that seats 8, an in room bar, two bathrooms, a private deck and enough closet space for Saudi Royalty. It was large enough to host groups and work sessions for meetings for our retreat.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soulsurfer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for the wonderful and detailed review of your experience. We are thrilled you and your team had a terrific time during your company retreat and we hope to welcome you all back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

What a gorgeous property! Amazing service from their stellar staff starting with Jim, The Gatekeeper to Shawn, Director of Golf and everyone else I interacted with. Best work retreat experience by far! Hope to come back again!

One of the nights, our group went golfing in the dark. We had LED golf balls and the green was set up with colourful lights to help guide the way. It was the best activity during my stay!

One my favorite parts of my stay was walking into the lobby and enjoying the smell of Fall!

Room Tip: Amazing cocktail program and great cigar selection!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vwasveiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontGrandDelMar, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for the 5 star review and for sharing details about your recent visit. We are thrilled we were able to provide a wonderful experience for your company retreat and they you enjoyed all of your activities on and around the resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews