We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit, thoughts 4 years on.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Retford, Notts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Second visit, thoughts 4 years on.”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We first visited the Grand Del Mar the year it opened and were very impressed, hence when the opportunity came to visit San Diego again we did not hesitate to book a second stay.
Was it as good as the first time? Almost- the staff and hotel itself were excellent, standards as high as before, all the staff were very courteous and friendly and the rooms were beautifully kept with no expense spared to provide beautiful towels and bed linens daily.
Only a couple of grumpy comments- regarding the adults only, no cellphone rule at the 'quiet' pool-why put families with young children in the rooms opening directly onto the serenity pool area, and why don't other guests take note of the no cellphone rule?? This was really annoying as people could not be bothered to get off their backsides and move away from the pool area to speak on their phone. When I'm trying to relax and read in a quiet area I do not want to hear other peoples' boring conversations!! A few of the pool attendants (mostly young students) were brave enough to ask guests to put the phones away but the majority did nothing about it. The hotel needs to make this rule more obvious, there are signs, but not big enough ones!!

Another tip would be to check your account daily which you can do on the room tv, as we found that on the first day somebody else had charged their breakfast to our room! It was taken off our account but best to do it as soon as it occurs and saves time on checkout. We paid cash as much as possible and ate breakfast at the cafe on the third floor and kept all receipts until the end of our stay in case there were any other occurances.

Finally, as the hotel is spread out over three floors, there can be a very long walk to the room, ours was at a far corner of the hotel which involved a trek to the lobby and pool area. There was probably a short cut by going outside but we never discovered it! Therefore if you find a long walk too much, request a room close to the centre of the hotel.

We spent 13 nights there and it was definitely more enjoyable for us when the 'weekend' crowd disapeared as the pool area was a lot more relaxing (which was the main reason for our stay- trying to pack a year's worth of sun into 2 weeks, important when you live in rainy England), the hotel is much busier than during our last trip but we were also there during the 4th July which is a major deal in the US and we are glad that the hotel is obviously enjoying success.
On balance, still one of my favourite hotels to stay at.

Room Tip: Requst a room close to the centre of the hotel if you don't like walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazydaisy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,508
    119
    39
    19
    15
See reviews for
487
656
35
344
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe township
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Unfortunately, I only had about 18 hours in the Grand Del Mar. I have travel extensively both domestic and international, and I must say this is the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The exquisite design and attention to detail is magnificent. The property is adorned with imported marble, wood, fabrics, etc that give an incredible feeling to the place. I did not get a chance to try any of the great amenties there as I was attending a business function and stayed just one night. But the food, service and resort was spectacular. I would love to come back and bring my wife here. Awesome!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are actually the first floor (where check in is). To get to "first"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbruce1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I'm not a golfer, but stayed at the Grand Del mar this past weekend. The intent was to have a place to "crash" after a romantic multi-course birthday dinner for my dining companion at Addison. Quite the place to crash.

I've traveled around the world and been on many high end cruises and five star hotels. The Grand is definitely one of the very best I've had the privilege to stay at.

We started with a hike / run around the property. The concierge has maps of the trail(s) which ( I believe) connects to the Los Pensaquitos trail system. It's a great 3.5 mile off road run with some hills to get your heart racing. They do horse rides there too so watch out as there are droppings to dodge. The last mile is the main drive (paved) but still a great workout.

The hotel is sprawling, elegant and lush - only a few stories high and service is impeccable. Decor is high end mediterranean - kind of what you would find in a brand new Ritz Carlton. A good way to think of it is kind of a "toned" down (and much, much higher quality) version of the Venetian in Las Vegas.

Pros:
- Room quality was excellent. The property IS a few years old but the room felt BRAND new. It was like we were the first ones ever staying in it. Towels were large and soft and linens crisp and comfortable. My only gripe would be the pillows were too big (overstuffed) but I'm sure had I called I could have gotten a different set. (This is the type of place that you get whatever it is you ask for.) We had a "basic" room and it was absolutely everything you could need. The master bath was the best I've seen in a resort and the closet area well thought out.

- Dining - we ate at the Hotel restaurant Addison which was one of the best dining experiences of my life. Room service was also excellent.

- Resort - We don't golf but loved the fact the resort had it's own hiking trail. The pool(s) looked nice and there is a separate spa pool that is for adults only. There is also horseback riding.

Cons:
- Maybe the crowd - they are how do I put it delicately, conservative and not exactly the most diverse? Not that folks weren't dressed casually or friendly, but they are very much the "country club set". That said, the staff was great and made everyone feel welcome.

- Price. Again I shouldn't really complain - this place is worth the going rate of $500+ night and dining isn't inexpensive either (expect $500+ on dinner for two at Addison.) Hotel bar cocktails around $15-20 each, etc. Again, you get what you pay for. Worth a splurge - and perfect place for a special occasion.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Even the basic room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonFTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and fell in love with this place. The location, staff, services were amazing. We easily could have never left our room and been content. They're amazingly gorgeous and have incredible amenities. Everyone from the check in girl to concierge, from the guy delivering our breakfast to the valet team were incredible and made you feel comfortable. Our friends ordered us a cheese plate from Texas through the front desk and commented on how nice everyone is. While the scenery is out of this world, the staff is what sets them apart. Thanks Grand del Mar for an amazing honeymoon!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanAw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Once you get beyond the Italiano heavy interiors--dark, lots of marble and gilding this place is fantastic!! It's like a grand Vegas hotel (think Venetian) without the slots and noise plus amazing service...what a relaxing and lovely trip we had. The service is top-notch, food great, rooms really lovely, gym great (but too dark). My only complaint would be that while the spa is beautiful, my massage was complelely mediocre and the services beyond the norm of expensive. $100 for a Blowdry (base price) Seriously?

Really though, it was just a lovely get away and will go back. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hungrymungry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
920 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 28,996 - ₹ 64,062
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing