We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Beach in Del Mar”

Ocean Beach Dog Beach
Ranked #54 of 438 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dog Beach in Del Mar”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great place to let your dogs go! Our poms like to jump in the outlet and freak me out as the tide comes into the lagoon. Our German Shepard, has enough room to get her hair up on her back and learn to play well w/ others....
Del Mar is SUPER strict w/ their parking, so make sure you put your money in the meter and get your ticket.
This used to be where the race h

orses went to soak their legs during Del Mar...don't think it happens anymore, but fun place to come and watch your dogs! VB courts (sand :) are there too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cre8dnrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    82
    21
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place for dogs off leash!!”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Lots of room for dogs to run, didn't run into any mean dogs.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mariann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My dog was getting older and was not into water sports so much but we loved walking that beach. The people and dogs were nice and it's great to see people having fun with their dogs.

Helpful?
Thank thedoglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great kayaking, great fun with dogs”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I was taking Sea Kayaking lessons and it was a great location for that. Plus the fun of all the dogs running freely and going in the water. My daughterf and fiance go there every week with their dog and she loves it.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank bwilbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for Big dogs”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The big dogs loved it. Playing in the surf with other dogs. My little dog was scared of all the big dogs.

Helpful?
Thank DeborahnJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Beach Dog Beach also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Beach Dog Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing