We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and quirky hostel with awesome location in the heart of downtown San Diego”
Review of Lucky D's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lucky D's Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Unique and quirky hostel with awesome location in the heart of downtown San Diego”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Pros:
- located in the heart of the Gaslamp district, great for restaurants, bars, shopping
- cool artwork done by people who have passed through over the years, with some very insightful and thought provoking quotes along the stairway that have stayed with me. I felt like that's what made this hostel stand out amongst all the hostels I've stayed at over the years because it felt like visitors left their mark on this place

Cons:
- nothing different than other hotels: sharing bedroom and community bathrooms with other rooms
- can be a bit noisy as drunk ppl head back from the nearby Gaslamp district

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    140
    54
    25
    16
See reviews for
8
67
233
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stayed at Lucky D's for 8 days and I had a lot of fun everyday. The staff is really nice, the hostel is clean, the beds are great and it is located in a good spot- you can walk almost everywhere!! They have a nice common room where you can spend some time and meet other people from the hostel. Besides they have a lot of freebies and the entire stay is cheap. I have been to some other hostels before, but this was by far the best!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Lots of character, very clean, very nice staff and a good spot in San Diego. I felt very safe, there were lockers in the room, wasn't too noisy at night (keep in mind though I stayed here in Feb and I think the place was just a little quieter than it might be at other times), common room with huge TV, one in the kitchen as well, free dinner a few nights of the week (who's gonna say no to that!), I'd stay here again. Only quips are the lack of an elevator (had to lug my suitcase up the stairs, but these few minutes shouldn't put you off the rest of your stay) and a creaky bunk bed, but no biggy compared to a great stay.

Room Tip: Right above a bar, so maybe not the second floor if you can help it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JToaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlstad, Värmlands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Lucky D´s is a great Hostel with the greatest vibe and feeling! The staff is super friendly and proffesional and serviseminded. The hostel has a cool modern feeling and has a great location close to downtown San Diego and to the Harbor and supercosy Seaport Village. They offer activities every night and serve breakfast every day and dinner two times a week. One of the best places I stayed on my travel in California.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PernillaKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed in Lucky D's recently, it was actually the 2nd hostel I stayed in San Diego, and it was BY FAR the best. This place offers so many freebies, it really is value for money. They have a great free breakfast with waffles at the weekends, but the best part were the free dinners they had on various nights during the week, which was so welcome for the traveller on a budget! The kitchen is huge and is an awesome place to meet people, I really love the atmosphere of the place most of all. The staff are such a good laugh, they take you out to different bars, get you drinking in the common room and are really helpful and friendly, which you don't always find in hostels. The location was also pretty good, they are right in the Gaslamp area so you are really close to all the bars and restaurants. I really recommend this place, it is so colourful and cheerful, there's always good music playing in the hallways. Definitely will be returning to Lucky D's!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors are more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#16 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky D's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky D's Hostel

Property: Lucky D's Hostel
Address: 615 8th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,133 - ₹ 6,335
Hotel Class:2 star — Lucky D's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the party! Stay because it feels like home. Lucky D's Hostel is a top San Diego hostel, and it is a guaranteed good time. When is the last time somebody promised you that? Lucky D's is fun, comfortable, clean and safe. It has an amazing atmosphere and a perfect location. Lucky D's has a wonderful team on staff. They are knowledgeable, helpful and will make sure you have a good time. San Diego is a fantastic city and Lucky D's is in the middle of the action. There are fun things to do every day, a party every night. We are conveniently located just steps away from the Gaslamp District, home of San Diego's hottest nightlife, restaurants, bars and shops. It's close to all of the city's attractions and the best beaches are a quick bus ride away. With Lucky D's, you'll have so many new friends you won't know what to do with them all. Why are you still reading this? Go make a reservation already. Lucky D's Hostel in San Diego has it all and we're waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Lucky D's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky d`s Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing