We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #35 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was beautiful with perfect views. Had lunch at Maryjanes the food and service was great.The Concierge Charlie Gange was very helpful, anything we needed no problem. Starbucks downstairs and the airport 15 min away. We will be coming back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Diamond Rock Star Suite and had a private jacuzzi on the balcony and perfect views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lstolklane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review, lstolklane! Maryjane's is a guest favorite at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, so we're glad it was one of yours, too. We love that you enjoyed the views from your room, Starbucks and our great location too. We will pass on your kind comments to Charlie! We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Kevin A.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 75 of 5,333 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband was staying at the Hard Rock San Diego for a conference and I decided to fly down and join him. The hotel has a cool vibe, is very modern and located across the street from the marina. It's also smack in the middle of the Gas Lamp District. But it's not quiet at 2am. In fact it's so loud that you cannot sleep at all. Our room, 818, was located directly above the bar and when the bar closed the hallways were full of loud, drunk 22 year-olds. If your coming to San Diego jus to party and you plan to stay up late then this might be for you but if you care about sleep at all this hotel is a big NO. And they don't have movies on the TV that you can rent.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Abbi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review, Abbi! It's great to know you enjoyed our great location and overall vibe of the hotel. We are so sorry you experienced some unpleasant volumes during your stay. At times, our weekends are a little spirited. In the future, please don't hesitate to let us know how we can make your stay more comfortable while you are here. We hope you will consider staying with us again!

Kevin A.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our 5 day vacation started at a hotel we had not chosen. We were able to get one of the last rooms at the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego. From the moment we walked in the beautiful entry, it began to feel better. But that feeling better was nothing compared to when we met Sara Gale at the check in area. I can't begin to tell you what a difference she made in getting our vacation back on track to the wonderful time we had been looking forward to. Sara was an absolute delight to work with and we so appreciated the way she went out of her way to help us get our reservation information off April's phone and the surprise beverage when we got to our room put really big smiles on our faces. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

The Hard Rock Hotel is fortunate to have someone as lovely as Sara Gale with such an amazing personality mixed with outstanding professionalism. It is a very rare combination and you pull it off perfectly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow Thomas, thanks for the stellar review! We're so glad we could help save your vacation and give you the rock star treatment you deserve. It seems like you had an amazing stay at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego and we are so happy we were able to be a part of that! We’ve passed along your kind words to Sara Gale and we can’t wait to see you again!


Kevin A.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, California
1
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sent to wrong room type, waited for proper room after losing our prime seats at the pool. Strike 1 No luggage. Asked Sara at Front Desk for luggage, but didn't have ticket as FD took it during first check in to the wrong room. Sara was very rude and said her and the other gentleman were there all day and don't just take luggage tickets. Told me she found it from across the lobby and walked away to lounge area behind FD. Tipped 3 different guys for 1 luggage delivery, Strike 2. Room was a mess. TV and Stand are bent at least 4 - 6" inches to the left. Showed to Housekeeper. Coffee table also bent. Lamps unplugged. Leftover paper and decorations from previous party obviously everywhere in the room. Shower stinks from drain. Covered drain to stop smell and towel was covered with black looking something upon removal. Strike 3. Pool, Spa, Store, Valet, Mary Jane's staff were all excellent. Sara at the Front Desk needs training or a job that doesn't require her to have customer contact. The housekeepers and the supervisor I waited an hour to "check" the room need to be re-trained. Your room maintenance is poor and the rooms seem a little worse for wear every year. You can get cheeseburger spring rolls at the pool, but not from room service, even though it's all the same kitchen? Used to look forward to our yearly trip, but not so much. Looking for a new anniversary location.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your review. Your feedback is so helpful in knowing what we're doing right, and where we need to improve. We're glad you enjoyed your time at Mary Jane's, however we are very sorry for the experience you had with our front desk and with your room. Your comments will be addressed with our team and the corrective action will be taken. We hope you will give us another opportunity as we'd love to have you on your next anniversary trip.

Kevin A.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

spent one night on the 11th floor. Great views of San Diego, I was close many shops and restaurants. enjoyed the experience very much. Very easy to check in and out Staff was very helpful on advise or any needs. would recommend for another visit.

Room Tip: none to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennphll14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi dennphil14, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us a review! It's great to know you loved our location and our staff as much as we do! Hope you can visit Hard Rock Hotel San Diego again soon!

Kevin A.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,457 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#36 of 278 in San Diego
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 12,553 - ₹ 32,065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing