We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #35 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Loved this hotel and its atmosphere. Best soundtrack ever in an elevator . Good people in the staff and very comfortable room. In the heart of Gaslamp and probably one of the best options for those attending a conference in the convention center.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank PeterLay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Hey Peter - we are so glad to hear you had a good stay with us here at the Hard Rock Hotel in San Diego! We have a great staff and fun atmosphere and we love that you loved it all! Come back for more fun and energy - we'll always have both!

Kevin A.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 239 of 5,341 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Seriously, whoever designed these rooms must have a fetish for others bathroom use. The water closet (that's the nice term for toilet or crapper) is separate from the shower but it is right off the main living space and is behind a frosted glass door. Thus when your significant other or whoever else you are traveling with or picked up at the bar, or street (I won't judge you) is taking care of nature's call, you can have the senses trifecta. What is that you ask? Well, first you get to watch their silhouette from either the living room, or the bedroom (I forgot to mention the frosted glass window facing the bedroom. Number two of the trifecta is sound, as the door does not seal or latch shut in any way shape or form. Lastly, this brings us to the smell, no fan, no ventilation and right next to where you sleep. Need I say more? Don't get me started on the screwy shower! Let's just say outside of the perfect location, there is nothing redeeming to this overpriced hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jsalvador2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let us know about your experience. I am so sorry your stay was anything less than exceptional. I've shared your review with our staff so we can ensure improvement. We hope you will give us another chance as we would love you to enjoy the exceptional stay you deserved on this trip.

Kevin A.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

The only issues we had with the room were: 1) no outlets near mirror for hair/makeup and 2) coffee maker didn't work well - only made Espresso. How about using Keurig?

Other than those things, we really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: The only issues we had with the room were: 1) no outlets near mirror for hair/makeup and 2) coffee m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetwaterslv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thanks so much for your review. Your feedback is so helpful in knowing what we're doing right, and where we can improve. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall, and I apologize for failing to meet some of your expectations. We hope you will give us another opportunity as we'd love to have you as our guest again!

Kevin A.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hard Rock hotel in San Diego. The staff that checked us in made a room upgrade suggested based on the fact we were celebrating birthdays that was appreciated. The room was stylish and clean. The hotel is conveniently located within the Gaslamp district so you can easily walk to nearby attractions and have plenty of options for restaurants, bars and clubs. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candyj4316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thanks for your review and comments about our location! The Gaslamp Quarter is a favorite of our guests and we're glad you enjoyed it! Please visit us again soon!

Kevin A.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Such a great experience! I came to the Hard Rock Hotel last weekend for a family vacation and it was absolutely amazing! It was easy and quick parking, check in and being treated like a Rock Star! From the convenience of walking along the bay to being in a Gaslamp district, this place was great. I was greeted by a Valet named Jackson and he was very helpful. He explained the parking rates and was super kind and supportive . Antonio, the bellmen, then helped me out with my bags which felt like VIP service. I highly recommend this place for either business or for vacation. I ended up walking to the Petco Park to watch the Padres/Dogers which is right next-door. Great vacation and I can't wait to go back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Your review makes us happy, Jessica! Thanks so much for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. We love delivering a one of a kind experience at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, and we look forward to your next visit!

Kevin A.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,460 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 278 in San Diego
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 12,442 - ₹ 31,464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing