We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pendry San Diego(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,706)
Filter reviews
5,707 results
Traveller rating
3,338
1,528
503
191
147
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,338
1,528
503
191
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock starconvention centermary janesrock royaltypool partygaslamp districtbachelorette partypetco parkking suiterooftop poolthe gas lamp districtmini barbars and restaurantsvalet parkinggreat roomnobuhardrock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,548 - 4,553 of 5,707 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We've always enjoyed the Hard Rock Cafe and were intrigued to stay at one of their hotels. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very modern and packed with music memorabilia. We stayed on "THE WHO" floor and were glad to see that hotel guests were required to use their room key to access guest room floors. Good security with it being right on the Gas Lamp Quarter. Our room and view were spectacular! There was a great little restaurant/coffee shop on first floor as well as a night club. It is also the home of Nobu restaurant. Walk out the side door and you walk right into the Gas Lamp district. Tons of shops and restaurants, bars and pubs. Easy to get around the area and especially fun at night. The pool at the hotel is VERY small and VERY crowded - there is a cool bar which you can sit at and it's really nice. Wish the pool had been larger. Over all it was a great place to stay and we'd definitely visit again. If you are in town for the convention center - it's across the street - so is public transportation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ocean side, higher up.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for being a loyal patron to the Hard Rock chain and for writing a review! I apologize for the crowded pool but overall I am glad you enjoyed yourself and hope that you return to visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stay for three night over the fourth of July celebrations
Hotel was busy we booked a woodstock suite we checked in and where pointed to the elevators and went to the Woodstock floor couldn't, find our room asked at the pool bar ..no you need the twelfth floor ...
Room was ok but still had confetti on the floor from the last guests. Tv didn't, work so had to get them to sort it out
Radio alarm didn't work nor did the phone and the lights in the bathroom where faulty.reported these to the management and thought they would be fixed.. Had to report the same faults 24 hours later finally got them fixed
The hotels is in a good location but is very very over priced the car parking is an extra $45 per night. There are much better hotels in the area and I wish we had picked one of them

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul&Kirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

I am so sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay and all of the mishaps in your room. My sincerest apologies that our staff was not more accommodating in helping you locate your room and in resolving the technology issues in your room. We are continually working on improving and this review helps us to do so. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Booked a suite for a bachelor party. Staff were great at check in, room was exceptional, and the hotel facilities are excellent. Partied at the rooftop bar (closes at 1.30?) and ate in the restaurants, everything was great. It is a pricey hotel but if you want a good place to have fun this is it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Glad that the party was a success and seemed to have a great time! See you next time you are looking for fun in San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Great location in San Diego, you can walk everywhere. Our room was located by the door on the fourth floor which was not good. We heard people coming in at all hours of the night being very loud! Otherwise, a lovely place and we would definitely stay here again, I would ask for a room away from the door.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kramerbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Glad you enjoyed your experience, sorry for the noise due to your location, definitely let us know next time and we will accommodate you in a different room/floor. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I booked a twin suite for my sister's bachelorette party and from arrival the service was extremely friendly. When we got to our rooms we were all surprised at how beautiful and clean the room was. Not only that, but we had a balcony and an awesome view of the pool. We also had bottle service at the club 207 and again, everyone was very helpful and friendly. We had so much fun at the club! The music was awesome, the atmosphere was fun!!! I definitely recommend this hotel for any one looking to stay in downtown San Diego!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verballman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thanks for your review! We were happy to hear that you had a memorable and fun experience. We hope that your sister’s wedding was a success and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to San Diego, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews