We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“a really great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Ranked #8 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Montana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“a really great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

There's a lot of positive things about this place.

First is location -- it's extremely convenient to the airport and most of the attractions as well. There is also a Trader Joes and Vons within less than a half mile -- almost walking distance. The location on the esplanade park and walkway is wonderful, with bayfront/estuary views and a huge walking/biking pathway right outside the door and a huge park there too. Its in a quiet safe neighborhood with the only sound disturbances being the planes taking off, because of the proximity to the airport.

The rooms have a nice almost full kitchen -- full size fridge, dishwasher, microwave, 2 burner range and no oven. There is a nice large granite type counter area that is very convenient for food preparation and a small dining table with 2 chairs in our one bedroom unit. There's a nice little balcony with one chair on it -- for a little reading or coffee in the sunshine. There are two LG flatscreen TVs -- one in the living room and one in the bedroom that are quite adequate. The fold out couch in the living room is smallish and the cushions are showing some age related compression, but it was still comfortable. There's a worktable with ergonomic chair and easy web access stuff and outlets that are efficient and comfortable. The bed linens are soft and comfortable, there are a wide variety of pillows available. The toilet paper is Cottonelle -- so it's nice and soft, not the single ply sandpaper stuff that many places are trying to offer now, and the toiletries are very nice Neutrogena products.

The business center computers are antiquated and slow and pretty much only useful for printing out boarding passes. The laundry is large and bright with plenty of machines that are modern and do a good job. My husband enjoyed the exercise equipment that included a treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike, free weights and a weight machine - drinking fountains and a TV were available in the workout room.

The gardens and outdoor areas were extensive, well landscaped and maintained.. There was quite a variety of outdoor seating available, with many areas having gas fireplaces in the seating areas. There were several outdoor grills available for guest use that were modern, clean and ready to go.
The breakfast and dinner offerings are adequate - but not gourmet. You get hot filling food, but it's just kind of average. Standard make your own waffles, bagels, english muffins, etc, - three "hot offerings" which usually are eggs, sausage and tater tots -- the best of which is the tater tots, and a fruit and yogurt bar that has canned peaches, canned mandarins, cottage cheese and yogurt, and some fresh melon chunks. Evening offerings are a nice enough salad bar, and a hot offering that has been during our stay - edible, but mostly because it's included. There's drinkable wine and beer and with the nice pool table and fireplace area, it offers a nice opportunity to unwind after the day.
I found the staff to be friendly and responsive, even when our flight was delayed. The cleaning staff is polite, unobtrusive and efficient.
The hotel offers very good rates, with nice discounts for government and AAA and they participate in the HH points program. It is a family oriented hotel, so there will be kids at breakfast, in the pool, etc.... and, of course, their behavior is up to their parents ... but we had no problem with noise.
Overall - the best place to stay in SanDiego if you're not looking for night life, excitement etc. If you want a great convenient location, nice facilities, large room, kitchen facilities, and the open air experience -- with just a few minutes to the zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa park, airport and downtown -- no parking fees, no internet fees, and a safe place where you and your kids can stretch out and run around.... This one's got it!!!

Room Tip: Use your HH rewards site to make requests or go the Homewood Suites site where you can actually pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktheider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    340
    75
    26
    12
See reviews for
771
280
45
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was an ideal place for our San Diego vacation. The hotel is in a beautifully developed small mixed residential/cultural/small business neighborhood that was formerly a naval training station. You are in the city without the noise and traffic of an urban area. Many amenities within easy (1/2 mile) walking distance, including a great little supermarket (Von's); a good selection of restaurants, cafes. Everything else we wanted to do--Zoo, Balboa Park, Coronado, beaches--was in easy (10-15 min) driving distance.

We had a king suite in the south building, facing the water, with a small balcony. I'd highly recommend the latter two options. There are two L shaped buildings--the north building surrounds the pool and the south building the basketball court. Suite was beautiful, large, very clean, nicely decorated, with an open plan, overlooking the boat channel and walking path. There is a large outdoor terrace at each building. The laundry was a welcome amenity and had front & top loading washer options.

Our room was quiet and we were never bothered by noise from other guests or rooms on either side. Yes, there are planes overhead, but we did not find this an issue at the hotel. There are a LOT of planes in San Diego, and we found everywhere we went, every beach, every park, every attraction, had planes overhead.

Some great things I didn't expect--there is a (free!) shopping service....just fill out a slip with what you need & hotel staff will pick it up. The evening 'receptions' (M-Th) were full dinners (we enjoyed chicken teriyaki; roast chicken; taco night--skipped the salisbury steak night) and surprisingly good. The breakfast was a cut above the usual hotel fare in both quality and quantity. My daughter, a hotel waffle connoisseur, found the 'make your own' here the best she's had.

Staff was unfailingly wonderful. Everyone we encountered had a pleasant greeting. Everyone seemed happy and all were helpful, from the shuttle driver to housekeeping and everyone in between. If you have any forgotten necessities, the front desk will send them up free of charge (we forgot to pack a razor; they brought up some with a small can of shave cream, gratis, even though you could buy similar items in their small pantry/store). The attention to our comfort and overall friendliness were outstanding and really helped make our stay an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank painted_daisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMAC21, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank You choosing Homewood Suites Liberty Station and bestowing us with five stars, our goal is to consistently provide superior service and accommodations. Your comments are very important and will be shared with the staff.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Homewood Suites Liberty Station Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Delaware
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was our second stay at Homewood Suites Liberty Station. Will always stay here while in San Diego. Everything was great, so good that the other than in the dining room for dinner and breakfast, I did not see the staff at all. No problems, spent about 10 seconds at the front desk to pick up keys, 5 seconds to check out! Great location, convenient to downtown and other attractions. Clean comfortable room with lots of space. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgr415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

As many review mention, it is a family place.
So if you are not fond of kids running, screaming, etc... chose another place.
We asked for a top floor, and were told there was no availability (we checked in at 4pm...).
3 nights out of 4, we had to bear the noise of whoever running, jumping, in the room above us.
Called the front desk who casually replied they would look into it. Nothing happened.
And they boast a "guaranteed satisfaction" offer that was never presented to me.
If it had, I would have complained that for USD 175++, we could have received better treatment.
Location is perfect.
Staff is hardly polite and certainly no helpful.
Maybe because we are not Americans, so for them, a one-time guest not worth much.

Room Tip: If you cannot get a top floor - guaranteed, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurentBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMAC21, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
We appreciate your business and your feedback. We take all comments very seriously and I apologize that your stay was less than perfect. The fact that you were not American or only staying one time had no bearing on the level of service received.
I can understand your frustration in not getting a top floor. We review these requests daily and make every effort to honor them. However, on occasion due to high occupancy we have limited availability on the selection of rooms.
We sell a good night’s sleep here so we take issues like noise complaints very seriously. As such we react to all reports and attempt to find a solution for everyone involved. I am truly sorry that you were disturbed and that we were unable to resolve this issue.
Your comments will be shared with our entire team and will certainly assist us in our ongoing improvements throughout the hotel.

Happy travels to you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Great location. 2-bed suite had 2 baths, ful kitchen, 3 tv's. My son was happy to stay in the living room on the pull-out bed because it was a thrill that he 'had his own tv!' Clean rooms, very pleasant staff and heated pool. Walk up the path behind the hotel to a great playground for the kids. Free breakfast and free evening meal (evening is M-F only) with beer and wine means big savings for a family. Even if you need to bring in a bag of chicken nuggets for the kids to heat in your room, the adults will be eating for free at the taco bar or orange chicken and rice buffet. So easy to drive anywhere we wanted to go from here (SeaWorld, Belmont Park, Legoland, Balboa Park area, Coronado). Safe, quiet, with restaurants in walking distance and grocery stores a few blocks away. We will stay here again. With free food, parking, and internet, this is a great deal for a famiy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DynamicDuo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,928 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,770 - ₹ 22,448
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing