We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The most amazing B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Diego Bed and Breakfast

San Diego Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Diego Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most amazing B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

The previous excellent reviews say it all, and it's all true! In over 35 years of traveling, I have stayed at B&Bs and hotels of all types, sizes and standards all over the world, and if B&Bs were rated with stars, this would get a 5-star rating for sure.
I just want to add in my own words first how incredible Karrie the proprietor is. You can tell she truly loves what she does, and her joy, sweet smile and kindness make you feel truly welcome. She goes out of her way to make your stay perfect - from looking information up and printing out directions for you, to filling the rooms with exquisitely fragrant flowers. When I told her I eat eggs almost every day (which is the only item she doesn't provide in her sumptuous breakfast of cereals, pastries, yogurt, cheese, fruits, jams and more) what did I find in the fridge upon my arrival - not only eggs but the feta cheese I told her I loved to eat with my eggs!
Finally, if like me you want peace and quiet, not a B&B or hotel with many people coming and going, slamming doors, talking and making noise at all hours, this is the perfect place for you - an entire apartment, all yours, over their garage, totally separate from their house. (And they don't park their car in the garage, so don't worry about the noise of a garage door opening at any hour.) You park your car in the back and have your own entrance. All in all, this is Heaven in the B&B world!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SingandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

This place is truly amazing. I cant say enough good things about our experience at the San Diego B&B. First, let me start with Karrie, the proprietor. She was wonderful!!! She catered to our every whim. She brought the breakfast at the times we requested, she printed out directions for us, and gave us great recommendations. She even printed out my boarding passes for the return flight. She was so pleasant, laid back, and accomodating. We truly enjoyed her hospitality! Now about the location, perfect. We went for a conference at the convention center and it was so close but it was also in a resedential neighborhood so it was quiet and serene. It was also very close to the airport. Overall, great location for checking out all of San Diego. As for the B&B... it was IMMACULATE. It was so clean I could have eaten off the floor. She paid attention to every detail. There were fresh flowers, beautiful lillies and roses in all of the rooms! On her daily cleaning she even went to the trouble of folding the toilet paper into a triangle and shined the chrome toothbrush holder! It was amazing. They really have your comfort in mind. The nightly turndown service even includes the classic mint chocolate on your pillow. In the bedroom they have a fabulous sound machine so I was lulled to sleep each evening by ocean waves. The linens were so comfortable and the luxurious his and hers bathrobes were a great touch. We only stayed 4 days but it also has a walk in closet, perfect for those guests staying longer. The place had an awesome book and dvd collection as well. LASTLY, and my most favorite part, the breakfast service. Waking up the first morning reminded me of being a kid at Christmas! We walked into the kitchen to be greeted by enough food for a king, or 10! She snuck in like a little elf, we never ever heard her or saw her as she has a special seperate door to the kitchen. So we awoke to the smell of fresh ground and brewed coffee and fantastic breakfast. Each morning it was slightly different, but always fantastic. From fresh baked cinnamon rolls, to quiche, to breads, bagels, fruits, cereals, yogurts....the list goes on! It's all layed out so beautifully and she even leaves the newspaper along with your fresh flower centerpiece. Truly amazing. Now, I will say, this is not a traditional B&B. You will not be eating with groups of people....again my favorite. Since you are the only ones there, you eat when you want, what you want and she comes later to clean up. To wrap this up, if I ever go back to San Diego, I will make sure to only stay here. TRULY REMARKABLE!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Liked — The cleanliness, location, and breakfast!
  • Disliked — NOTHING, it was all great!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OneL0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

This place is tucked away in a quiet little neighborhood minutes away from all the activity of San Diego. The rental space is immaculate. We stayed for our anniversary and found it to be perfect for couples who need alone time. The proprietor is a sweetheart and she does not miss a single detail.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, cozy
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Neoscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2007

A truly extraordinary experience in a thoughtfully crafted, welcoming lodging. This unique private apartment on the grounds of the proprietors' home compares well with the very finest of accommodations. Meticulously clean, tastefully furnished, bright and airy apartment is a haven for the business traveler or a wonderful base of operations for the tourist. Great North Park location in a quiet and pleasant residential neighborhood. Hosts delicately respect your privacy while attending to every detail. Modern kitchen appliances blend with 1930's architectural features in a harmonious and functional way. The website does not exaggerate one detail; on the contrary, be prepared for wonderful surprises. The only negative feature of a visit to the San Diego Bed and Breakfast is the reality that it is such a comfortable and welcoming setting that you will find yourself forgetting why you came to San Diego and thinking instead of lounging the days away in your private and romantic little hideaway!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioBuckeyeBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2006

Two of us spent three nights at the San Diego Bed and Breakfast. What a wonderful place! We so enjoyed our stay!

The guest apartment is beautiful, comfortable, and immaculate.

Our days started out with more food that two people could possibly eat [although we did our best]. Each morning we were faced with three kinds of muffins, bagels, bread, yogurt, cereal, biscotti, at least six kinds of fresh fruit, juice, milk, great coffee--plus a local paper.

The person I went with pretty much violently opposes the idea of a B&B because of all the people one usually has to greet and eat with. However, because SDBB has only the one apartment, there are no other guests to see. And the owners creep into the kitchen and leave breakfast quickly and quietly, so you don't need to talk to them if you don't wish to. However, they were available when needed, for example, to help us technophobes use their Wi-Fi.

If you love the idea of a B&B, but also love your privacy, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank harvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#21 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Bed and Breakfast

Property: San Diego Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3415 Bancroft Street, San Diego, CA 92104
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Balboa Park and downtown, this sophisticated 1939 cottage is your private living space with one bedroom, full bathroom, kitchen and living room. It is the perfect honeymoon retreat and the business traveler'€™s paradise, especially if you plan to bring your spouse. In the morning, your private continental breakfast is quietly set up in the B&B kitchen and in the evening your bed is turned down. You will feel profoundly and "stylishly"€“ at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego b&b
San Diego Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing