We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #14 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
S��͏D"
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

This is a great hotel for families to stay at. The staff was always extremely friendly and willing to help with any request. The location is very good, although you won't be in a touristy area, it's in the middle of a business park, and residential area, so dining choices are not within walking distance (except for the restaurants at the adjacent Hilton Garden Inn), but this makes it to be very quiet. All attractions, beach, airport, Zoo, Sea World are 30 minutes or less, and during the week we were always driving against traffic, so we never were caught in it. The breakfast is very good, plenty of selections, and Monday - Thursday, there is dinner served, which always help with the budget when taking the family, and it was very good. Unfortunately there are no soft drinks, just lemonade and tea, but there is wine that is served with dinner.

They also rent beach equipment (umbrellas, towels, mats), the umbrella is somewhat small, so, rent two.

This is a great value, and the pool is not huge, decent size but my kids loved it.

If you are going with the family, this is a great choice, having a suite with a full kitchen (albeit small in size) is great

Will definitely stay there again next time we go to San Diego

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thechooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,014
    321
    88
    35
    11
See reviews for
760
214
43
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We weren't sure where to stay in San Diego and a friend of ours suggested the Homewood Suites. They were absolutely right in recommending this wonderful hotel. In terms of travelling, it is right off of the I-5, so driving was no problem. The staff were amazingly cheerful and helpful (special shout out to Jay who was training and to David whose cheery disposition in the morning was a perfect match to the amazing breakfasts that were put out). The food was tasty and varied and the waffles were a hit with my kids. We stayed in for two dinners and they were delicious as well... and the glass of wine was a welcome treat after a day of Legoland with a million people. We loved the two bedroom suite; there was plenty of room for everyone and the cleaning service was top notch. My son says it is the best hotel so far that he has stayed in.

We will be returning to this hotel when we come back to San Diego. For the price, the value is incredible and the amenities are amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Just returned from a week long vacation visiting my son who attends SDSU. I didn't realize the hotel is a good 20 minutes from the college but just one exit to La Jolla and very easy access to the major freeways. The staff was excellent and can't seem to do enough for you to make your stay as easy as possible. I was traveling with my younger children so this hotel is perfect for kids. The breakfast in the morning is good and well stocked. They offer dinner Monday through Thursday,but we only made one due to our busy schedule. This hotel is close to Legoland (15 min. drive). If you want to stay closer to the downtown, then this is not your hotel but if you want to be closer to La Jolla and out of the busy downtown, then I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Recently stayed at this property with my wife and three kids. Very clean, excellent room service, and pleasant staff. As usual, we tried to do too much in too short a time on this vacation, with the end result of three irritable children each afternoon. Staying here helped to diffuse that issue because 1) kids could play in the pool until they were absolutely worn out and 2) great attitude of the staff made my wife and I feel more relaxed. Location is far enough from San Diego that you feel secluded, but close enough to I-5 that you can be downtown in 10 minutes. One of the best, if not the best, hotels I've stayed at in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

My wife and two teenagers stayed here for 3 midweek nights for a brief San Diego vacation. We requested, and recieved, a pool view King suite with a sofa bed. It was just right.

We had a first floor room that had double doors that opened to the pool patio. In the morning we walked the 60 feet to get our coffee and sat out on our own small patio. Breakfast = ditto. In the evening we trudged those same 60 feet to have a glass of wine and then a fresh salad and dinner.

Staff service was spot on and friendly. We asked for a recommendation for good pizza (teens right?) and had a great experience with Ogi's delivery right to our door. Parking was plentiful and convenient.

We are already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: First floor pool view patio room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,205 - ₹ 22,819
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing