We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT FAMILY HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #11 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“GREAT FAMILY HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Just returned from a week long vacation visiting my son who attends SDSU. I didn't realize the hotel is a good 20 minutes from the college but just one exit to La Jolla and very easy access to the major freeways. The staff was excellent and can't seem to do enough for you to make your stay as easy as possible. I was traveling with my younger children so this hotel is perfect for kids. The breakfast in the morning is good and well stocked. They offer dinner Monday through Thursday,but we only made one due to our busy schedule. This hotel is close to Legoland (15 min. drive). If you want to stay closer to the downtown, then this is not your hotel but if you want to be closer to La Jolla and out of the busy downtown, then I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    314
    85
    35
    11
See reviews for
749
211
42
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Recently stayed at this property with my wife and three kids. Very clean, excellent room service, and pleasant staff. As usual, we tried to do too much in too short a time on this vacation, with the end result of three irritable children each afternoon. Staying here helped to diffuse that issue because 1) kids could play in the pool until they were absolutely worn out and 2) great attitude of the staff made my wife and I feel more relaxed. Location is far enough from San Diego that you feel secluded, but close enough to I-5 that you can be downtown in 10 minutes. One of the best, if not the best, hotels I've stayed at in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

My wife and two teenagers stayed here for 3 midweek nights for a brief San Diego vacation. We requested, and recieved, a pool view King suite with a sofa bed. It was just right.

We had a first floor room that had double doors that opened to the pool patio. In the morning we walked the 60 feet to get our coffee and sat out on our own small patio. Breakfast = ditto. In the evening we trudged those same 60 feet to have a glass of wine and then a fresh salad and dinner.

Staff service was spot on and friendly. We asked for a recommendation for good pizza (teens right?) and had a great experience with Ogi's delivery right to our door. Parking was plentiful and convenient.

We are already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: First floor pool view patio room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I have been staying in this hotel once a year for a week since 2008. Great Rooms and very spacious. My kids love the breakfast and dinner. All employees and very nice and helpful. This hotel is near everything from downtown to legoland. Front desk staff is very nice and helpful to whatever my family and I needed. Although I have to say that we miss some old faces from the front desk staff. One CSR that my family really liked was a young girl name noemi, she always had a smile so early in the morning. Amanda was another young lady that was very sweet. I hope they come back. Overall this hotel is great.

Room Tip: corner rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

If you are looking for a very clean hotel, look no further. This is definitely one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in! I was on a 2 week vacation with my family and we stayed at 7 different hotels. This was definitely one of the best! The hotel was spotless, the staff was constantly cleaning. The hotel had complimentary breakfast, which was different everyday, and they were constantly replenishing the food and cleaning the area. I have never seen such a large staff, and not only were they constantly cleaning but they were very friendly too! My compliments to this hotel and their staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,695 - ₹ 22,141
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing