We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #14 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Mancunium
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

When I write reviews of hotels, I don't usually struggle to find something that I can criticise, but when the best that I can come up with is that the bench in the fitness room isn't adjustable, you get the idea that this place made me VERY happy. From the nice touches like the wrapped half grapefruit on the breakfast bar, to the friendly but efficient support of all the staff that we came into contact with from arriving to departure 5 days later, the Homewood at Del Mar delivered and exceeded expectations every day.

Useful tip? Whole foods at La Jolla is just 5 minutes away if you like to do your own thing in the well equipped kitchenette - well worth the drive.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mancunium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    336
    94
    38
    12
See reviews for
810
228
44
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

After spending a week at Homewood Suites a strongly recommend them to anyone traveling to the San Diego area.
Why we recommend HS:
1. Location: We enjoyed how close we were to all of the major Southern California attractions. We went to Seaworld, Zoo, Legoland, and Knott's Berry Farm. Knott's was a long drive, but the rest were close. The hotel was also a short drive to the nice beaches in La Jolla.
2. Service: The employees rock at the superior service they give to their customers. We arrived twelve hours early for check in and they let us check in early. This was very nice after a twelve hour drive through the night. Whenever I had a question I just called the hotel and they answered it. Even if they had to look it up.
3. Complimentary Breakfast and Dinner Monday-Thursday: We really enjoyed not having to worry about cooking or where to eat. This also saved us a lot of money. It was also nice to have to clean up dinner dishes. The employees take good care of you during their complimentary meals.
4. Room Size: We found the rooms to be very spacious and perfect for our family of five. It was nice having the two bathrooms.
5. Pool and Fitness Facility: We used these everyday sometimes several times a day. If we didn't feel like driving to the beach we went to the pool. The hot tub is nice and hot and well maintained. The fitness facility has two treadmills, one elliptical, and one bike. There were weights, mats, and a ball.
I recommend this hotel and we really felt like it was our home in San Diego. Thanks Homewood!

Room Tip: We loved our room because it stayed cool and it was away from all other rooms. It was really quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOAMY2PARADISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We've stayed in many Homewoods Suites and without a doubt this is the very best Homewood Suites we've been in. Everything from the decor, the hospitality of the staff, the breakfast buffet, to the location, etc., could not have been better! The 1 bedroom suites are spacious, the bed and pillows are extremely comfortable... even the sofa in the living area is comfortable!

This hotel is located in a corporate office area, set back off I-5, therefore there is no noise from the freeway. Another reviewer commented that it is a long way to restaurants. We didn't find that to be true because we stayed on the east side of I-5, although I think if one had driven over to the west side (coast side) of I-5, the restaurants would have been some distance. Actualy if one leaves the hotel and follows Vista Sorrento Parkway to Mira Mesa Blvd and turns left (east) there are a number of restaurants and several service stations within 15 minutes of the hotel.

This hotel is also conveniently located not only to the downtown area of San Diego as well as to La Jolla, Solano Beach (Cedros Design District) and Carlsbad. Just across I-5 is the Torrey Pines reserve and Highway 1 and it's close to the cliffs where one can watch parasailing. It is really a nice alternative to staying in a downtown San Diego hotel where one pays a fairly high rate for overnight parking. At the Homewood Suites, not only are the nightly rates reasonable, but the parking is free. Couple that with the light meal Monday-Thursday and the complimentary breakfast, this is really a bargain for southern California!

This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Great stay! This hotel is clean, well run and has a great staff. The rooms are cleaned early so when you came back mid afternoon from your activities you could come back and relax. The breakfast buffet has many and plenty choices with the hot entree changing every day. The dinners served on weekdays are an amazing bargin. Beer and wine are served with it and the staff will come around and ask you if you would like more. You definitely feel like you are welcome. I cannot wait to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonitabonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This property continues to impress me. From the staff, to the rooms, to the friendly environment- you absolutely cannot complain. They go out of their way to appease everyone. The breakfast and dinner options are always extremely tasty and hearty. And with all-inclusive wine & beer, what more could you ask for?! Don't forget to go next door to the Hilton Garden Inn while you're here and enjoy a drink and 1/2 price appetizers at Bistro 39. You will not regret choosing this property for your stay; either vacation, business, romantic, or any other reason, you will be completely satisfied and happy about your decision!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#9 of 24 in La Jolla
1,088 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,247 - ₹ 19,328
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing