We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vey comfortable stay, let down by lack of restaurants/bars in vicinity” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #14 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
London SE27
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Vey comfortable stay, let down by lack of restaurants/bars in vicinity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed for 3 nights & were impressed by the comfort & facilities in the room (studio suite) including: 2 ring hob, sink, microwave, full size fridge, coffee maker- all in a spacious room with dining area & large shower.

There was free internet access in the room, but via USB (one only)- seemed OK, but not particularly fast. I think there was wifi only in the communal spaces.

The queen sized bed was extremely comfortable & standard of cleanliness was good.Staff were always courteous & friendly & willing to assist with any queries. A request for more towels via room service was dealt with quickly & efficiently. There is pool & fitness area but we did not try them.

The breakfast was also very reasonable: choice of hot & cold (typically variations of scrambled eggs, sometimes sausages/bacon, along with potatoes/hash browns). Plus toast (white & brown), cereals, juices, selection of teas, coffee, muffins, porridge, yoghurt, fresh grapefruit, tinned fruits & a waffle maker.

The free evening meal is only on offer from Monday-Thursday so we missed out on this as we stayed friday- monday.

Our issue with this hotel is the location-it is a long way from any restaurants, bars, shops etc. It is very close to the I-5 which makes it convenient for San Diego's big time attractions but not so good if after a hard days sightseeing you just want to pop out to a local haunt for a meal or just to relax as this involved a major drive. There is the sister Hilton Hotel on the same site & we had a meal there one night, which was pleasant, but very quiet. The food was good & the waiter attentive & knowledgeable about the beers & wines available.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southlondonerSE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    316
    86
    35
    11
See reviews for
750
212
42
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

The hotel was clean and well maintained. It does appear to be an older hotel and there were minor updates and fixes that could be made, but overall it was clean. Our family of four stayed in a King Suite, and as other reviews I've read mention, the room was a bit small. However we like the division of space and the kitchen area for meals. There was just enough room in the "living room" area to pull out the sleeper sofa. The kitchen is small, but adequate. We did have to ask for an extra pot and silverware, but housekeeping brought them up within 5-10 minutes.This suite is better suited for a single traveller or couple.

The breakfast was better than most and offered a good selection. They had the "continental bkfst standards" plus waffles and a different main course option each day. Day 1 was 2 different types of scrambled eggs, tater tot hashbrowns and turkey sausage; day 2 was scrambled eggs and biscuits and gravy.

Unfortunately, we didn't take advantage of the pool/ spa area or the fitness room.

The location of the hotel is great. We spent one day in San Deigo and one day in the La Jolla/ Del Mar area. It was close enough to head back for lunches and naps. It is also close to several restaurants (if you don't have any dietary restrictions), grocery stores and Starbucks ;)

We will definitely stay here again, but next time in a larger room!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZDesertRoseAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I had booked this hotel for 2 days in November 2011, very clean,excellent customer service,free breakfast and very beautiful area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorne, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

This is a nice hotel. The rooms are clean, the pool is nice and the staff is friendly. The sales manager does mess things up and not tell the front desk though, so be on the ball with that. They have a great free breakfast and complimentary wine and beer at night with food, which is pretty good. It's right next to The Hilton Garden Inn so if you want a nicer dinner it's there. I liked this hotel alot. It's great for business travelers and is super close to downtown Delmar and La Jolla. Not near many restaurants, but that's what you have car for.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merishore25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Wa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Booked a package deal through Hilton, (Air, Car and Hotel) beat all online competition by 100 bucks. All I can say is that this was an absolutely wonderful stay. My wife, I and my mother in law stayed her for over a week for our son's graduation from USMC boot camp. Glad I picked this over several choices in the hotel circle area. Room are clean, staff is outstanding and you cannot beat the free breakfast and Welcome Dinner on Monday's thru Thursday nights. Saved tons of money by not having to eat breakfast and Dinner on the outside. I had such a great trip that I took the time to write an email to the Hilton Corporate office to thank them for the wonderful stay!!! Facility is kept spotless at all times, and the staff were absolutely great and service was well above what was expected. If I go to San Diego again, will definitely stay here as opposed to closer to downtown SD..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dasixers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,686 - ₹ 22,579
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing