We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Way to Start Your Day”
Review of The Mission

The Mission
Ranked #228 of 4,745 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Terrific Way to Start Your Day”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

There are three Mission restaurants scattered across San Diego. We went to the one near "J" and 13th downtown. What a nice find.

We sat out on the porch that surrounds two sides of the restaurant. Service was warm and friendly, courteous and professional.

I ordered the roast beef hash that came with rosemary potatoes and toast, and perfectly scrambled eggs. My only complaint is that the coffee was weak but most folks would probably think it was great. Being from the Pacific Northwest, I love it strong.

My wife ordered the pancakes with banana slices, blueberries and raspberries embedded in them. For $2 more it included scrambled eggs and two thick slices of bacon.

This was our best meal in San Diego and we plan to go back again before we leave.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mguelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    92
    23
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Yummy way to start the day”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We ventured into The Mission for breakfast and it was delicious. We had the homemade granola, fresh fruit, and yogurt and the breakfast burritos. The portion sizes are kind of small, so be sure to order sides if you are hungry. The service was good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is my second favorite breakfast place in San Diego. Arrive before 9am on the weekends if you don't want to wait, but if you have to stand around for a bit it is worth it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“why is this place so popular?”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Average food & service ... Noisy! We waited quite awhile. Once seated we waited for beverages. Once we ordered we waited again for food. Breakfast should not take 1-1/2 hours

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Mission is a must.”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Having been once before about a year ago, we knew a return visit to The Mission was in order during this trip to San Diego. We arrived later on a Monday morning, and the wait wasn't bad at all. The wait staff was friendly and the food was amazing, both in flavor and presentation. The Strawberry Banana pancakes, and the Rancheros Verde were both delicious.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNTraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mission also viewed

 

Been to The Mission? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing