We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walked about 7 blocks but worth it.(esp for vegetarians)”

The Mission Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 4,716 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Mission Beach
Fresno
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Walked about 7 blocks but worth it.(esp for vegetarians)”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

There was a short wait to get in for a late breakfast but that meant something and there was a seat to wait in. The host was such a nice fellow. The menu took a little while to get through. It was difficult to make my mind up but finally with the help of the waitress I chose a soy chorizo/potato/egg/avocado combo! Yum. My husband got banana pancakes. Everything was really fresh and we fed a few homeless people on the way back to the hotel due to the hugh portions. You might think about sharing.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BlumaFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    125
    29
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food & service”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Loved the food -- had the chilaquiles, scrambled eggs with black beans, tortilla chips, fresh salsa and cheese. Crowded and noisy -- fine on my own, but would have had a hard time talking.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mollyhanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Everyone recommended this to us - locals, hotel staff, and of course, review sites. It was worth the trip! The breakfast (specifically the French toast) was amazing, and the value cannot be beat!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank AJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Oh. Yum.”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Iced coffee.
Hot latte.
Enormous granola pancakes with berries.
Delicious wraps.
YUM.
Looks great to eat in, but we always carried out -- staying across the street with a large crowd.
Would totally go back if we ever get the chance to stay in Mission Beach again!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmama15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Healthier Breakfast Choice”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My wife and daughter love to go out for breakfast, For my wife the best way to rate a breakfast place is the coffee. For her the coffee here was great and hot. All the food was delicious although my scrambled eggs were a bit cool. Potatoes were abundant and delicious. The apple sausage was a bit on the spicy side. We had a short wait and service was friendly. However by the time we left the line had grown quite long. Arrive early or expect to wait. Certainly the best breakfast place in the area.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrLee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mission Restaurant also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to The Mission Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing