We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome location, great space”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome!!  Entrance and living area - 46' HDTV, bright and sunny.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome!!  Entrance and living area - 46' HDTV, bright and sunny.
living area, bright and sunny, convertible sleeper futon sleeps 2 adults living area, sleeper futon for 2 and leather sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Welcome!!  Entrance and living area - 46' HDTV, bright and sunny.
living area, bright and sunny, convertible sleeper futon sleeps 2 adults
living area, sleeper futon for 2 and leather sofa
Light bright kitchen - just bring your appetite!
Dining area opens to light, bright kitchen
Large, fully stocked kitchen
Bathroom - shower, tub, and amenities
Full size bed and dresser, fan and air conditioning
High thread count linens & full size Sealy Cloveridge bed
Outside patio with BBQ, table, chairs
Your backyard - 99 steps away
Your backyard at night
Mission Beach from the Air - Come Join us!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
San Diego, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeannie V
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“They ruined my vacation with their abrupt business practices.”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

99 Steps
Review for 99 Steps

Linda allowed us to drop our bags early as our flight was before check in time. That was nice of her. That's where it ended. The photos of her place make it look much larger and nicer than it is. It's very small and old. The sheets were cheap and the shower faucet barely worked and the towel rack falls off the wall. The screws are stripped. Most importantly, I have stayed in PB countless times. This was our first venture with Airbnb. We had booked it for the 2 of us, but at the last minute my daughter and her husband were able to come. Our unit sleeps 1-4, so I gave this no thought. When we arrived she gave us linens and towels for 4 with a smile and welcome. Then 3 days later we get a call from Airbnb telling us that Linda is evicting us since we violated the contract by bringing in another 2 guests. My fault admittedly, I didn't read the fine print about notification to our host. I would have been delighted to pay for them had I known it was necessary as it is not the custom in other rentals I have used many times. Instead of nicely approaching us and letting us know of this violation, I get a call for eviction in the middle of our vacation! Mind you, we were never there as we were out deep sea fishing the first couple of days, so she can't complain that we were loud or lousy guests as we weren't even present. She or the Company could have informed us nicely that more money was due and that would have been fine. Opening the dialogue with a threat is never a good idea. Both Linda and Airbnb should understand that. When I got the call telling us we were evicted, after my initial surprise and anger, I asked if I could just cover the cost for my daughter and her husband. "Why of course! That will be $50 per day per person". I gladly paid it and that was that. Their approach to this matter sucked. To top it all off, Linda calls us the next day and asks us to give up our room to accommodate another guest. Seriously?! We are travelers. We are kind and accommodating people. Not this time. How dare she even approach us with this request. 49 steps has a lousy host and in itself is a lousy accommodation. PB and Mission Beach have much better places to rent and stay where you are treated with respect and kindness. I owned my mistake in not knowing there would be an additional fee and gladly paid that fee. You were rude in your approach and then added salt to the wound. I can not recommend this unit or host to anyone out there looking for a place to stay in San Diego.

August 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
This "abrupt" guest arrived with several unauthorized people, twice the number she had reserved the unit for. As a courtesy, we allowed them to stay and upgraded the linens and amenities during a peak summer week. A hotel would have turned them away. Booking was thru Air B&B, not Trip Advisor, and after expressing our concern, Air B&B contacted the "guest" with their policy re illegal guests. Likewise, reviewer arrived at 10:30 a.m. with her unrevealed extra guests in tow, and requested to be let in to my private Air B&B lodging. Both my housekeeper and I were appalled as it was not yet checkout time for our previous guests! Comments regarding the property, etc. are inaccurate as is her version of events; suffice it to say, this review needs to be considered in context and this guest avoided at all costs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carmichael CA
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jul 2013
It was a pleasure hosting Dot and her family! From the time the reservation was made, and all during their stay, our communication was excellent. Our 99 Steps units are in the best location in Mission Beach - incredibly central while still being pleasant and relaxing. The interiors are upgraded with the best beds, linens, kitchens, etc. and walking to the beach is a breeze. We pride ourselves on customer service and offer the best rates. Our new housekeeper had removed part of the Keurig for cleaning and we were happy to deliver a new one along with lots of KCups for morning coffee! We are sorry your first visit was so short, and look forward to hosting you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VirginiaH...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised, delighted, charmed!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I am pretty picky when it comes to hotels/homestays. I loved staying in this apartment. It was very clean, super close to the beach, and stocked with everything you could need. I stayed here for a work trip, and the experience was much more enjoyable than a hotel. I loved the urban vibe - it is SO well located, I never used my car . Yet at night, it was quiet enough I could hear the ocean. There's something very calm about this apartment and very friendly, a real kitchen big enough to cook Thanksgiving dinner for the family in, brand new pilllowtop bed, nice quality linens and towels. I really did feel like a welcomed guest. I had heard MB was noisy and crowded but once I closed my door, I was in my own little custom painted world. Good shopping/supermarkets nearby, restaurants, activities, lots to do. Although we never met in person my hosts made sure that everything was taken care of. They were very nice to work with before and during my stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I felt welcomed and at home; owners clearly love and care for the property.
Liked least: Leaving. I could live in this apartment, it is so well laid out. Lots of space & storage, rare at the beach.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing