We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean, spacious, comfortable stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Ranked #113 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious, comfortable stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We came to Residence Inn MV for a midweek stay while we had to be out of our San Diego home for the week. As a family of five, hotel stays are not our favorite thing, but this time was perfect. We had a large spacious room with a full kitchen (important since I had to pack lunches for school each day). Our family loved and appreciated the breakfasts and dinners provided. Our room was clean and the new renovation was very appealing.

This hotel is a great place to stay and everyone we encountered was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    243
    94
    38
    17
See reviews for
415
56
16
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We traveled to San Diego for a family vacation in late January and stayed at the Residence Inn Mission Valley. It was an awesome place for a family - we loved the breakfasts and having dinner provided during the week saved us a great deal of money and hassle since we didn't have to get out again just to eat. The hotel was close to all of the attractions - zoo, Sea World, Old Town, etc. and had great highway access for when we wanted to drive up to La Jolla.

As most have said, the parking fee is somewhat frustrating but not much you can do about this since most hotels charge this fee.

Overall, we had a great experience - the front desk staff was very helpful and our room looked great every day. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank astodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The kids loved the heated pool...although it could have been a little warmer. We all ended up in the jacuzzi because we could only take the cold for so long, then again it was a winter night when we first went in, and a less than sunny morning the second time.
The room was excellent. It had a king size bed with a pull out couch, and the best kitchenette we have ever seen at a hotel.
And to save the best for last: Warm Breakfast...that's right, not continental...WARM! Ohhhh just remembering my pleasant surprise!!!

PS.
Reason for not giving 5 stars for value: $180 bill for just the room & parking. I feel that's a little too much. I know most hotels do this...but I still cannot be ok with paying to park my car for staying at a place I'm already paying for! Hopefully that helps some of you as a starting point or as leverage.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrod9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My husband and I used to like this place due it's close to my husband's conference venue ... until Oct 2011. On the nighnt we checked in, I already noticed a huge difference in housekeeping: bathroom was grossly filthy (door had yellow stuff clinging on its panels and brownish hand marks as well, floor was dirty, light switches were dirty, toilet bowl was very nasty, brownish coloration clinging inside the bowl). Trash was full under kitchen cabinet, my husband had to take it out himself. The bed sheets and pillow cases smelled like sweat. There were only 5 small hangers in the closet (for a 6 day stay, 12 pairs of outfit for my husband and my self, 5 hangers aren't sufficient). I addressed the cleanliness issue to the front desk and I fairness, she offered to transfer us to a different room but since it was past 11 PM and having cleaned the bathroom door, disinfected all the lateral surface including toilet bowl, door knobs, light switches, and tv remote control, I just asked to have the linens/pillowcases changed and provide more hangers. Well, it took me a phone call, 1 trip to the front desk, and my husband to take a trip again to the front desk before we get a clean set of linens and more hangers.....a total of over 1 hour. Speaking of housekeeping, the batch of housekeepers were the MOST LAZY I have ever encountered (next to Residence Inn Airport and Greenbrier Norfolk, VA). I have to call to get our room serviced, ask for fresh towels, and have our linens changed mid-week).
This place used to be pleasant in 2009-2010. I don't know what happen, but one thing for sure, WE ARE NOT COMING BACK until they achieve an acceptable housekeeping standard.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yNCAWE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This was our 4th time staying in this hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is very good and has a variety of food to choose from. The managers social hour on Monday thru Thursday was hosted by a great staff and the food was delicious. If we go back to San Diego we will definately stay here.

Room Tip: Since we don't have children I would prefer to stay on the top floor to avoid children being chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busrider53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#170 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Address: 1865 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3319
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,173 - ₹ 29,774
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Mission Valley is in the center of it all! We are an upscale all suite extended stay hotel in San Diego California located only five miles from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and just down the street from Sea World Adventure Park®. From the beaches of Torrey Pines to Belmont and Balboa Parks to the night life of the Downtown Gaslamp Quarter, The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego MissionValley is in the heart of all San Diego! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing