We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room & good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Ranked #151 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice room & good service”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed one night recently in a 1 queen studio room. Property looks fairly new and room was in good condition. Kitchen was a little bit small, and looked to basically be good for microwave and fridge only. You probably could cook on the stovetop, but would be difficult. Room was equipped with TV with all of the local cable channels and DVD/VCR combo. Bathroom is configured with the sink outside of the bathroom.

Common areas were very nice and plentiful. Room includes semi-full breakfast. Would recommend that they do more of a completely full breakfast like Residence Inn. There was also a Sundowner service, but this also skimped a little, with it being Tues-Thurs, instead of the typical Mon-Thurs. One other small gripe would be the issue of no housekeeping on the weekend unless you request it. Seems a little cheap to not provide a towel change without requesting it.

By the way, everyone at this property that I encountered was very friendly. I would stay here again, but for the rate offered, would hope that they would make these small improvements.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoosierCFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    65
    16
    11
    6
See reviews for
77
19
10
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We had two large suites for 4 person each for a long family reunion of 1 months in June/July 2011. We all enjoyed our stay.

What I liked
-- Staff are really friendly and professional; specially cleaning crew were super nice and helpful
-- Laundromat inside the hotel

What I didn't like
-- Cost! We paid over 180 per night per room
-- Breakfast items didn't have a great variety

Things to know
-- The hotel is almost far from city center and best way to go to city center is by a car (we didn't use public transit but I didn't spot any buses around the hotel)
-- There is a plaza with a grocery store and a few restaurants and coffee shops in it right next to the hotel, 1 minute walk
-- Cleaning service is not daily! The thoroughly clean the rooms once a week. They just remove the trash and do a quick cleaning everyday and if I am not mistaken that quick cleaning service is not available on Sundays
-- They serve free dinner a few times a week

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sishab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The Staybridge Suites at Sorrento Mesa was on the whole a pretty average all-suite hotel that offers all of the standard services and amenities you would expect from this style of hotel.
We stayed in a "Studio" which provided a queen sized bed and a sleeper sofa and only one room. Our 4-year old daughter had little problems sleeping on the sofa bed, but the queen bed for the adults was just average. Housekeeping services (their "light touch" room cleaning) are only provided Monday-Friday unless you ask specifically for a cleaning on the weekends. The property does a full cleaning upon check out according to their printed policy.
Breakfast is provided every morning and a "Sundowner" service (beer/wine and a limited self-service dinner selection) from Monday-Thursdays. The food service, especially for breakfast, we felt was really geared toward their normal businessperson guests. At breakfast on the weekends we found the staff had difficulty keeping up with cleaning dishes and replenishing some food items in a timely manner. The food itself was of average quality for a breakfast-inclusive product.
We picked this location based on being a midpoint between Carlsbad (Legoland) and the San Diego (SeaWorld, Zoo, downtown) attractions. This worked out for us fairly well, but traffic can be an issue around rush hours Monday-Friday as Mira Mesa Blvd. is a major suburban artery.
We had no major issues and felt the hotel was safe, secure, and clean.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingTarHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in late May. Room was well planned with plenty of space for 2 adults and 4 kids. View overlooking the pool was welcomed. Nice breakfast with lots to choose from. Pool and bbq area were very clean and quiet. Checked out early and they had a to-go beakfast bag ready for each of us. Excellent. Shops right next door and food court also. Great location

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2and4makes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

My wife and my sister-in-law and I traveled to San Diego for a couple of days of R&R and stayed two nights at Staybridge Sorrento Mesa, which seemed a good alternative to booking two separate rooms. We appreciated the two bedroom suite. The included breakfast was nice, as was the three times a week free dinner. The staff were friendly and helpful, although they had no good suggestions for places to go jogging. There is a fitness center, but the free in-room internet led us to Los Peñasquitos Canyon reserve, which had great trails. Our room was clean and quiet. There were nearby shops and restaurants to which we could easily walk. One downside was that we left the "do not disturb" magnet up for our morning run, and apparently there is no room cleaning after the morning rounds. One other slight downside is the location in suburban San Diego, so you have to drive 20-30 minutes to get to the attractions closer to downtown. On the other hand, it's a shorter drive to Legoland. Overall, we were generally satisfied and didn't feel ripped off.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
13.2 km away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
1.3 km away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
1.7 km away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
1.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
1.7 km away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Property: Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Address: 6639 Mira Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-6307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,502 - ₹ 21,073
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home to the Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa! Located just minutes from I-805 and I-15, we put all of the wonderful things San Diego has to offer at your fingertips! Nestled within San Diego's Telecomm and Biotech Corridor, we are also a quick drive to Sea World, La Jolla, Lego Land and the North County beach communities. Next door you'll find a shopping center complete with over 15 restaurants including: Thai, Greek, Mexican, Sushi, and Indian cuisine, BevMo, UPS Store and a Fresh and Easy Grocery store. All of our spacious suites feature our newly upgraded bedding as well as a fully equipped kitchen. We also offer premium cable, complete with international channels, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Our 24 hour guest service staff are always on call to help make your stay with us exceptional. Please make yourself at home and get comfortable at the Staybridge Suites in Sorrento Mesa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa Hotel San Diego
Staybridge Suites Sorrento Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing