We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North
Ranked #195 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I just have to say how kind and helpful the front desk staff are at this place. We needed to catch a cab to get to a dinner reservation but the taxi phone lines were busy. The guy working the front desk had just ended his shift, and offered to drive us. Gave us a ride on the house and kept us entertained the whole time, thanks Bobby! We'll definitely be staying here again, great great value and very hospitable staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 196 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

stayed just one night on 2-28-12..booked online directly with them about 1 month in advance. Had problem finding me system at first, but with conf # jumped right to it
the room I had seemed a little small, it is basically a small bedroom with an attached bathroom and walk-in closet, where there is an under counter fridge, microwave and coffee maker
Bathroom sink is really a bar sink with garbage disposal, very unusual but 100% functional
The desk staff is friendly and very helpful, pointing me in the right direction to Little Italy and good food
This place is no $500 a night hotel...it is exactly what it claims to be...a good bargain, with free wifi and a continental breakfast....I felt safe and slept soundly while there...I'll be back if ever in the area again

Room Tip: there are 2 buildings, ask for the main with courtyard if possible
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

compared to the price the level and service of this hotel is really good one, i booked in it 3 weeks in row
clean room, smells good, great service . i even needed extra pillows and blanket at 5.00AM, i called the reception and after like 5 min they brought it to me , i guess the guys name is bobby he was so nice and friendly
i recommend staying in it

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yanal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is a good choice if you are looking for an inexpensive hotel option in the downtown area of San Diego that is easy to walk to.

You are only 8 min walk to the trolley, and the bus stops one block from the hotel going downtown and three block on fifth ave if you are going to the Hillcrest area.

The hotel is built around an open courtyard with external outside entrances to the rooms. You can hear and see the airlines landing on Rwy 27 at San Diego international just over this hotel, so putting your room fan on at night will create white noise so you can sleep.

The rooms are on the small size, but well laid out. The breakfast is from 7-10 and is basic with pastries, fruit, cereals, tea, coffee, juice and milk.

Internet is available via wi fi, and there is a machine in the lobby for those with out a computer. However there is a better option of using Kinkos downtown on C street for access and much cheaper.

Good value for sure,and an easy walking hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room for less noise from higher rooms, it was a good choice for my stay.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aviatorstarboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

If you like to be harassed, this is your place. I came home at 1:30 and they told me I wasn't staying there and to leave. After several minutes of pleading with the guy to let me in the security door, san diego's worst(cops) showed up. They then proceeded to threaten to arrest me if I didn't leave. So, I left, and I ended up staying on the streets of san diego until about 4:30 in the morning. When I came back the security door was open(thank God), so I went up to my room and grabbed my stuff and went to the airport. When I called the hotel's GM, and hotels.com, they told me it never happened. Basically, they were trying to steal my stuff. Stay here if you feel like being robbed. Never use hotels.com as they will only have the hotel's back. Disgusting!

Room Tip: There are none
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#67 of 278 in San Diego
661 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North

Address: 1840 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-2609 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - San Diego Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 5,268 - ₹ 11,692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North is located within walking distance to San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. The San Diego Convention Center and San Diego Airport is located 1.5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing