We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is full-serve?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Ranked #84 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Candia NH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This is full-serve?”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

After reserving this over the phone for $190 a night they then whacked me for $20 a night to park and $13 for WiFi. The latter charge was dropped after I questioned it. But then $2 for coffee in the lobby? You'd think full-serve would mean "everything included".
Then there was the noise. The refrigerator was so loud I unplugged it and the heater so loud I turned that off. But I could get rid of the guy next door who had the TV on when I was working and that sound came under the door clear enough to almost follow the plot.
And then there was the sanitation. An unclean toilet and a large piece of plastic in the ice cream I ordered for dinner. The Olive Oil ice cream otherwise was very good, although the service was kind of slow for being so uncrowded.
Oh, I forgot the worst thing--they left the alarm clock set for 5:30 without telling me! And the stupid thing doesn't have a night mode so I had to have my iPhone by my bedside to see what time it was when I woke up in the middle of my time-shifted night. Not to mention that the reading light bulb was out.
There you have it--my first TridAdvisor review. Try Hampton Inn next door or there's a Clarion a block from the beach in Del Mar. Great little town, btw.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    199
    63
    20
    16
See reviews for
118
108
27
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

A nice property with a good restaurant, fitness club, pool area, and location. Centrally located to north and south San Diego, close to shopping and dining, close to I-5, and 5 minutes to Del Mar Beach and Ocean Drive.

Room Tip: Request a room facing east or north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johansp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My company is based in La Jolla so I have stayed at the La Jolla Marriott for many years. In my opinion, that hotel has gone down hill over the last 2 years so I wanted to try another property that was still reasonably close by. Only 5 minutes farther up I-5 North is the Del Mar Marriott. It is so much nicer than the one in the La Jolla. It has been completely updated, and the rooms are very clean & spacious. The concierge lounge is outstanding with a very wide variety of hot & cold foods for both breakfast & dinner. I did not use the pool area, but it looked really nice. I don't like that the parking garage isn't attached to the hotel because you have to walk completely around the building so I deducted a star. It is also shared by an office building so there are many reserved spaces that hotel guests can't use. The parking is cheaper than many hotels at only $10/night. There was discount applied to my bill so that may only apply to higher Marriott status levels.

The hotel is in a very quiet business park area so I had no problem with noise either outside of the hotel (traffic/people) or inside either. This also means that there are few services within walking distance, but there are lots of sidewalks if you want to walk or run. It is a straight shot down Carmel Valley Road (about 5-10 minutes depending on traffic and the lights) to get to the beach and the cute little Del Mar restaurant area. I highly recommend eating at Jakes Del Mar but you have to make a reservation. They have the best seafood but it's definitely pricey.

In short, if you want a Marriott property near La Jolla/Del Mar, this is by far the nicest one. It's great for business but would also be a good base for a San Diego vacation. If you need to be closer to downtown, the Marriott Gaslamp District is the best of any Marriott property in all of San Diego, however it is also usually the most expensive. If you're looking to use points for vacation, definitely choose the Gaslamp. It is ultra modern, hip and in a spectacular location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyandChuck2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The property is very clean and the rooms appear new. Although I did not visit the pool area, it looked very nice from my window and appeared to have a good social scene. The hotel is about a twenty minute walk (5 minute drive) from the Del Mar Town Center, which has some good dining and shopping options. The property isn't really far from things to do, but you pretty much have to drive if you want a good selection. Downtown Del Mar and the ocean is about a 12-15 minute drive. I had a few relatively minor service failures, but although annoying at the time they didn't really taint my view of the overall stay. The Hampton Inn next door is a bit better value and seemed clean (no parking fee, free breakfast and slightly lower rate) but the Marriott definitely has a nicer property.

Room Tip: Confirm that all rooms have been renovated and if so ask for one overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
213 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband had a business meeting in the area so I had a couple of days to relax. The room was pleasant and nice. There was no shampoo when we checked into our room, but they provided it almost immediately. Parking is expensive though. The weather was perfect to sit outside by the lounge and pool area but instead of having a quiet place to read a book, the background music was VERY loud and at times brassy! Not all of us are hard of hearing. I changed spots 3 times to find a "quieter" place but it was all the same - LOUD! So I had to go back inside to find a quiet place (our room!) but would have loved to be sitting outside with such perfect weather.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enjoy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 km away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
4.9 km away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#66 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
2.8 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
2.7 km away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Property: San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Address: 11966 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2592
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#96 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,561 - ₹ 21,443
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego Marriott Del Mar is an ideal choice for a hotel in Northern San Diego, California whether you're traveling for business, pleasure, or planning a meeting. Our location in Del Mar is a seaside hideaway 20 minutes north of downtown San Diego and just south of Solana Beach. Along with our versatile meeting and banquet space, fine catering and luxury amenities we are an outstanding San Diego hotel choice for travelers simply looking for relaxing Southern California accommodations near the ocean. Our Del Mar, California hotel is convenient to beaches for surfing or sunbathing and also close to shopping at the Del Mar Downtown Historic Village. Events at the Del Mar Fairgrounds and golf at Torrey Pines also excite our guests. San Diego Marriott Del Mar provides an array of diverse and exciting entertainment! Our unique on-site restaurant, Arterra, offers a trendy dining destination with award-winning cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Take an evening to unwind with some cocktails from our full bar or outdoor lounge and enjoy some of your favorites at our fresh sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Diego Marriott Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing