We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Nearby Hotels
US$ 168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 177
US$ 142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 166
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 418
US$ 348
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 292
US$ 286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 284
US$ 226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 188
US$ 144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 236
US$ 213
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 193
US$ 165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 652
HardRockSD.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveller rating
323
219
71
27
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
219
71
27
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarterra restaurantthe concierge loungesushi cheffront deskbusiness parktorrey pinespool areaself parkinggreat roomvery nice hotelbusiness tripnice poolper nightfreewaygymplatinumlegoland
Filter
Updating list...
539 - 544 of 664 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

A nice property with a good restaurant, fitness club, pool area, and location. Centrally located to north and south San Diego, close to shopping and dining, close to I-5, and 5 minutes to Del Mar Beach and Ocean Drive.

Room Tip: Request a room facing east or north.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johansp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My company is based in La Jolla so I have stayed at the La Jolla Marriott for many years. In my opinion, that hotel has gone down hill over the last 2 years so I wanted to try another property that was still reasonably close by. Only 5 minutes farther up I-5 North is the Del Mar Marriott. It is so much nicer than the one in the La Jolla. It has been completely updated, and the rooms are very clean & spacious. The concierge lounge is outstanding with a very wide variety of hot & cold foods for both breakfast & dinner. I did not use the pool area, but it looked really nice. I don't like that the parking garage isn't attached to the hotel because you have to walk completely around the building so I deducted a star. It is also shared by an office building so there are many reserved spaces that hotel guests can't use. The parking is cheaper than many hotels at only $10/night. There was discount applied to my bill so that may only apply to higher Marriott status levels.

The hotel is in a very quiet business park area so I had no problem with noise either outside of the hotel (traffic/people) or inside either. This also means that there are few services within walking distance, but there are lots of sidewalks if you want to walk or run. It is a straight shot down Carmel Valley Road (about 5-10 minutes depending on traffic and the lights) to get to the beach and the cute little Del Mar restaurant area. I highly recommend eating at Jakes Del Mar but you have to make a reservation. They have the best seafood but it's definitely pricey.

In short, if you want a Marriott property near La Jolla/Del Mar, this is by far the nicest one. It's great for business but would also be a good base for a San Diego vacation. If you need to be closer to downtown, the Marriott Gaslamp District is the best of any Marriott property in all of San Diego, however it is also usually the most expensive. If you're looking to use points for vacation, definitely choose the Gaslamp. It is ultra modern, hip and in a spectacular location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyandChuck2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The property is very clean and the rooms appear new. Although I did not visit the pool area, it looked very nice from my window and appeared to have a good social scene. The hotel is about a twenty minute walk (5 minute drive) from the Del Mar Town Center, which has some good dining and shopping options. The property isn't really far from things to do, but you pretty much have to drive if you want a good selection. Downtown Del Mar and the ocean is about a 12-15 minute drive. I had a few relatively minor service failures, but although annoying at the time they didn't really taint my view of the overall stay. The Hampton Inn next door is a bit better value and seemed clean (no parking fee, free breakfast and slightly lower rate) but the Marriott definitely has a nicer property.

Room Tip: Confirm that all rooms have been renovated and if so ask for one overlooking the pool area.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband had a business meeting in the area so I had a couple of days to relax. The room was pleasant and nice. There was no shampoo when we checked into our room, but they provided it almost immediately. Parking is expensive though. The weather was perfect to sit outside by the lounge and pool area but instead of having a quiet place to read a book, the background music was VERY loud and at times brassy! Not all of us are hard of hearing. I changed spots 3 times to find a "quieter" place but it was all the same - LOUD! So I had to go back inside to find a quiet place (our room!) but would have loved to be sitting outside with such perfect weather.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enjoy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Excellent hotel for a Business Trip. When you include valet or parking and the always expensive room service it got to be quite pricey on the expense report. It's in a business park with not much to see or do in walking distance, but rent a convertible and your just minutes from anything and everything you'd want to see in San Diego.

Room Tip: Ask for their "Pure" rooms. They have 10 hypoallergenic rooms available.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPhagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews