We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Watch the elevator does not chop off your arms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center
Ranked #158 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
376 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great location. Watch the elevator does not chop off your arms”
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Location is its saving grace. Rooms are small. Air conditioning is very noisy. The elevator is a 100 years old and dangerous.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. The elevators are slow, you almost need three arms, one to open the door, one to open the gate and one for your luggage. Plus think how interesting hugging would be if we did have three arms? As for danger, in 100 years we have not lost a single guest. Several have expired of natural causes prior to the elevator's lobby arrival, but we're not counting them. Next time you're coming to San Diego use the hotel's website link on Trip Advisor ,you'll get the lowest rate offered anywhere and making any changes will be a snap. Remember the "Elevator Ride" at Disneyland's Haunted Hotel.....It's not like that...usually. ;} Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    429
    311
    161
    152
See reviews for
194
382
107
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We just needed a place to crash for the night after seeing the San Diego safari zoo. Surprisingly, the hotel is located in the busy nightlife area of gas lamp quarter! We arrived late night and parked through the hotel valet-$20/day (cheaper than parking on paid parking lots). The elevator is antique-with cage door,, it used to be the fastest back in the day.. They have a restaurant open 24hrs, and wifi is free of charge. The room was very clean, the roof top was a nice added feature to view the city. Will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolavegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the nice review. We are a great little affordable hotel in the heart of it all. The rooms aren't the largest and it can get noisy on the weekends but we're clean, well maintained and pride ourselves on service. Our parking charges are the lowest downtown. Next time you're coming to San Diego book using the hotel website link right here on Trip Advisor. You'll get the lowest rate possible and if you need to make changes its as simple, hassle free as possible. We hape to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I was in town for a conference and stayed 5 nights at the Ramada Inn. The reviews are pretty accurate on this property.

The rooms are on the small side but clean -- Tue/Wed/Thursday the hotel was pretty quiet but on Friday & Sat night the party starts in Gaslamp and it does get noisy. I had ear plugs and it helped!

The front desk staff & bellman were outstanding! I spoke to the hotel Manger during my stay due to an issue with my room and he immediately addressed the issue and "made it right". (Thank you!)

If you want a "resort hotel" I would recommend not staying here -- if you want a reasonably priced room without a lot of "fluff" and a great staff -- give it try.

Room Tip: The view from the roof is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We you summed it up pretty well. Great little hotel, wonderful location, rooms aren't the largest but clean and comfy and on the weekends it can get loud outside. Affordable with a wonderful local restaurant. It that fits your needs then we're the hotel for you. Nest time you come use the hotel website link on Trip Advisor,it will take you to the lowest rate and we'll get your reservation right away and any needed changes are easy to make with no hassles. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phelan, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Glittering Little Diamond in the rough! This 100 year hotel is as charming as it is unique. Its location in the heart of the buzz of the Gas Lamp Quarter is unparalleled. Very charming, with a wonderful balance of modern amenities yet true to the period.

Pros & Cons
- Rooms are small - but well appointed, modern furnishings (including flat screen) and clean.
- Bathrooms are tiny - but fully functional- Toilet, shower, sink and hair dryer. Plenty of towels.
- Elevators are turn of the last century charming, with the old school manual doors sliding "cage doors" - But they do cause some delays, so if your impatient stay on a lower floor and use the stairs.
- Guest get a 10% discount at the Adjoining restaurant,it is yummy, and open 24 hours.
- LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION, awesome! My wife and I valet our car and walked everywhere.
- Friendly and efficient and accommodating staff

Bottom-line, I hope you don't plan to book here, cause my bride and I plan return trips!

Room Tip: elevators are slow so lower floors make using the stairs a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest , Thank you for the review. We do have a great little affordable hotel in the best location downtown. Our restaurant is one of the most popular . Next time to come to San Diego use the hotel website link on Trip Advisor. It gets you the lowest rate available, we receive your reservation instantly and it's easy to make changes if your travel plans change. One can't ask for more than that. We hope to see you again very soon. Thank you again for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brancaster Staithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I loved the hotel. It had lots of old fashioned charm that really appealed. OK the rooms were a bit smaller than many other faceless US hotels, but that only added to the charm in my view as it represented authentic hotels how they used to be.
I have to say the noise was horrendous though, despite being on 8th floor facing away from the main entertainment strip. The problem is that the hotel has absolutey no soundproofing, and it's as though you had windows open fully. Despite fan being on, ear plugs and a pillow over my head, the noise was still disturbing. Don't expect to sleep between 10 pm and 3 am.

Room Tip: as for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. We do have a lovely hotel with a great restaurant and the best location downtown. We are in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, downtown San Diego;s restaurant and entertainment district . Some weekends have special events and some weekends the crowds are larger than others. Obviously the week end you were there was a noisy one indeed. Rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter than the front. Most week ends we're sold out so it's hard to switch rooms. We wish your stay had been a quieter one . Thank you for your business. We enjoyed having you as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
#128 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#67 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center

Property: Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center
Address: 830 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6307 (Formerly Hotel St. James)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,460 - ₹ 21,252
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique style hotel is centrally located in San Diego's exciting Gaslamp Quarter. We invite you to step back in time to the elegant comforts, friendly hospitality and impeccable service of a bygone era. Opened in 1913 as the St. James Hotel, San Diego's original high-rise luxury hotel, our beautifully restored property is an oasis of historic style for leisure and business travelers. We are 6 1/2 blocks from San Diego's waterfront convention center. It's a pleasant 7 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Gaslamp Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Suites Gaslamp/ Hotel San Diego
Ramada Inn And Suites Gaslamp/Convention Center
Ramada Inn San Diego
Ramada San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing