We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (843)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveller rating
263
316
158
61
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
316
158
61
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews point loma new tower shuffle board main building close to the airport pizza nova ping pong pool area shelter island would stay here again free shuttle on site restaurant liberty station upgraded to a suite the shuttle driver nice pool old town
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 843 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

this is the best place we stayed at on our whole trip. clean, friendly and very relaxing and comfortable. they offer a free pick up and drop off to and from the airport. rooms aren’t anything spectacular but nice clean and exactly what one needs. they have a cafe and bar on premises which makes meals quite simple but also options available across the road. staff are very friendly and helpful. we were extremely impressed by the guys in the bar. very friendly and really loved their job. we’re genuinely interested in everyone and whether they were happy and enjoying themselves and always going out of their way to help in any way.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi Trevor,

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! It's also wonderful that you were able to enjoy the on-site bar and restaurant and found our Bartenders to be as delightful as wel do! The sentiments are greatly appreciated. We hope to see you soon!

Warmest Regards,

Carissa Knapp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is really pretty basic, maybe 1 step up from a Motel 6 or maybe like a Comfort Inn. Bed linens are coarse and scratchy. Toilet paper is very cheap and thin and not pleasant to use. Service is poor and gift shop does not carry either the local paper, San Diego Union Tribune or the LA times - peculiar! How is a tourist supposed to learn about local activities? On site restaurant is also lousy. Poor service, overpriced for what they offer. Won't be back. Lots of other better options.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Hi Julia C,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with our property particularly with our staff service, beds, room ammenities. We always aim to provide an exceptional stay for all of our guests that is why I regret to see that you did not have a great experience. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you during your stay. Rest assured, your comments will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing the improvements needed.

We value you as our guest and hope that you would still consider staying with us again in the future.

Regards,

Christian C.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Close to airport and across the road from the Bayside.
Enjoyed our 1 night here before our flight out of San Diego.
Stayed in the 2nd building. The common areas need refurbishing, especially the carpet. Once in the room it was of good size and not too bad. It was clean and comfy so pleasantly surprised. Aircon a little noisy but earplugs are amazing things. Loved the fact we could grab bicycles complimentary of the Hotel and ride around the Bayside. Many restaurants to choose from. Try Mitch's for lunch, great little fresh seafood place that the locals enjoy.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Neish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi Neish,

Thanks so much for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your night here and that you found your room to be comfortable. We too, are big fans of Mitch's!

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Carissa Knapp | Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We stayed here for 6 days while attending a ship's reunion.
The accommodations were very comfortable, although showing signs of wear. There were a number of places in the bathroom and main room where the wallpaper was peeling up, it didn't look terrible but a bit of work would have improved the impression quite a bit. Also, the cooling didn't seem to work very well in the room. If I set it to low the fan rattled so much we couldn't sleep, so it had to stay on Medium...which was almost too high for the need.
The bed was very comfortable and the bedding clean and neat. The shower worked very well and high enough for a tall person of my stature (6' 3"). Only bad mark was the bathroom sink didn't drain very well, seems we had to pull the plunger out to get enough clearance to drain properly...maybe a little bit of maintenance would solve this issue as well.
The elevator in 'building A' was extremely slow, seemed like it was always a 5 minute trip ... whether we were going 4 floors or 1.
The staff was very good and pleasant to deal with, especially in the attached restaurant and bar.
The pool area was very nice, we used the hot tub one night and was very happy with the accommodations. There is also a nice 'play' area with seating and grass to play cornhole.
Pricing was reasonable, our reunion group was able to get free parking (which is quite good, since the cost is $14 per day).

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaAz-JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hello!

Thank you so much for your feedback and for allowing us to host your stay during your Ships reunion! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and time at your reunion. We will definitely be looking into the condition of the room you were in and fix the wallpaper to ensure an even better stay next time and for future guests!

I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities on site and found the staff to be accommodating. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope to do so again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Carissa Knapp | Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We hosted our Ships reunion here and was very pleased with the results. The hotel did everything perfectly!! The staff was great. Accommodations were great. Location was great. Recommend it for anyone wanting a reunion in San Diego.

Room tip: Multiple wings and floors. In our wing the Fifth floor offers an express elevator.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinna M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi Leon,

Thank you so much for allowing us to host your reunion and stay! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and will be referring us! We greatly appreciate it and hope to host your stay again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Carissa Knapp | Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews