We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a pre-cruise stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Ranked #115 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We arrived for our cruise to Hawaii here 2 days prior and stayed at the Holiday Inn Bayside. We got there early due to the 3 hour time change and we got our room immediately. They were very pleasant and easy to deal with. After going to our room, we were pleasantly surprised. We asked for first floor and got it. Opened the door and the room was great but the big surprise was the patio doors to a patio with a table and chairs and poolside.
The room also had a coffee maker with all the fixings for coffee and tea and was well equipped with soaps, lotions and such as well as a flat screen TV.,

We booked for 2 nights so had a free day in between. We perused the booklets and such in the office and decided the hop on hop off trolley sounded nice. They told us where to meet at 9:30 a.m. and the trolley would pick us up. We had a wonderful day sightseeing in San Diego and ate at the Seaside Village. Wonderful. My favorite Ice cream was on offer. Ben & Jerry's chunky monkey.
The day of the cruise, they had a free shuttle to the port.
The hotel has a nice restaurant beside it where we ate breakfast and it was a huge meal and quite cheap. Under $10. each.

Room Tip: It depends. Some would like the 5 story highrise but we were happy with our first floor room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0hanna7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

558 - 562 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed here for a few days and found it was far from the main sights of the city, the downtown, and restaurants. The hotel was fine, but factor cabs int your budget to get to the city center if you stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdnTravelr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Myself and my father stayed here September 2011 for three nights and hated every minute the room l stayed in stunk something cronic,and the room my father stayed in we would have to say was haunted seriously he stayed in a end room,and the side of his room their was knocking and banging every night we were there.All l can say is l plan in the future to go back to San Diego as it is a really beautiful city but l plan on staying at the Holiday inn across from the Maritime Museum as that looks a really nice CLEAN hotel,please do not stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melleasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed for one night after flying in from the UK and had a king room which, although clean and fresh, was a little on the small side. We also stayed for 4 nights at the end of our trip; this time we had booked a one bedroom suite and we were not disappointed. The suite (on the 4th floor) was huge and had 2 bathrooms. The bedroom was a corner room with floor to ceiling windows which afforded lovely views over the marina and bay. The hotel cafe was good for breakfast, and there are several restaurants within walking distance - Jimmy's Famous Ale Tavern being one of them - good food and cocktails. Free parking. Would stay here again if in the area, and would definitely pay the extra for a suite.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WizardBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

First - the Holiday inn Bayside in San Diego, is notthe Holiday inn "On the Bay" in San Diego.
Althoughboth are located on Harbor Drive, the Bayside is Northwest of the Airport about a block from Rosecrans St. The other is located in downtown on the embarcadero. We stayed at the Bayside only one night as we had an early morning flight. We found the hotel to be convenient to the airport. The shuttle begins running at 5am pretty much on call or at about 15 minute intervals for the less than 2 mile run to the terminals. The other nice thing about the location is th access to Shelter Island for restaurants and nightlife. A short walk across Scott St. will bring you to several good long standing seafood restaurants. The hotel itself is quite nice with a restaurant, bar and convenience store on premises. The staff is friendly and professional, and the rooms completely in standard with the Holiday Inn brand. I would recommend this location for people spending several days to a week in San Diego, as it offers ease of parking and road access as well as a location central to either driving or walking to various venues.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VATraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#46 of 286 in San Diego
1,422 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside

Address: 4875 N. Harbor Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 6,601 - ₹ 12,817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting beautiful San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn Bayside is located in the newly redeveloped Point Loma area, in walking distance of over a dozen restaurants, sport fishing & whale watching marina, scenic walking paths along the San Diego Bay, and Liberty Station. It is conveniently located only one mile from the San Diego Airport and four miles to the Gaslamp Quarter and Convention Center. Our bay view meeting rooms and outdoor tropical courtyard venues provide the ideal setting for your next meeting in San Diego, along with a service culture that guarantees your event to be a big success.Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business? We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing