We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$ 338
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/08/21
Booking.com
US$ 338
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$ 441
US$ 245
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/08/21
PricelineUS$ 370
Hotels.comUS$ 338
Lol.travelUS$ 441
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,099)
Filter reviews
3,099 results
Traveller rating
2,077
554
230
138
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,077
554
230
138
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews veranda restaurant spa pool avant restaurant family pool beautiful property spa services business conference great resort resort fee fire pit the san diego area rbi arlene saline wedding relaxation cabana
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 3,099 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2021

Beautiful grounds, chef's garden that requires a visit and conversation with the very personable gardener (Zack), impeccable and courteous client service, electric charging capabilities - and lovely relaxing rooms.

Date of stay: May 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank herreraanthonyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan F, Other at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2021

Dear herreraanthonyj,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate you recognizing Zack for being so personable. Please come back to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021

My husband and I recently stayed at the Rancho Bernardo Inn for 5 nights. We have stayed there many times in the past as my parents live nearby. Over the years, the resort has gone downhill and the buildings and rooms are looking very tired and outdated. The gardens are beautiful. There is also not enough staff. Because of Covid, housekeeping has not been being done during your stay. We asked for a refill of the coffee pods and did not receive them for over an hour after calling in the request (my husband just went to the front desk after half an hour). Worst of all, the air conditioning did not work. We couldn't get the room temperature below 75 degrees to sleep and it rose to over 80 degrees during the day, despite setting a set point of 68 degrees and making sure it was set to "Cool". We switched rooms but it was no better in the new room. Until they fix the central unit, I would not recommend this hotel. You will be hot and uncomfortable. If you need anything, you'll have to get it yourself.

Date of stay: May 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank ashleysF8213WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan F, Other at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Dear ashleysF8213WV,

Thank you for the feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience and apologize for any inconvenience. We will share this feedback with our team to make improvements where needed and address these concerns. Also, we are in the process of planning a refresh of our guestrooms that we hope to launch later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2021 via mobile

Read some mixed reviews about the property with some of the rooms being outdated, the hotel being dirty, or prices - but I can tell you that this place was an amazing gem! (Some parts felt like you were in EU).

Lindsi, the front desk manager deserves some special recognition from her upper management (she made sure the stay was the best it could be) - but in reality, the front desk staff was all pretty amazing from the moment you check in.

The room was clean, ever meal on property was amazing, the spa pool was gorgeous, and the grounds were well maintained.

Definitely worth checking out this hotel if you’re gonna visit some of the local wineries (or just want a different scene).

For those of you who want to get some insight on real review - things that were not so good that would have made it better or may be bothersome to you during your stay:

- the adult pool has a spa the size of home bath, it’s tiny. The spa pool is amazing but it’s an up charge (unless you get a service) for access.

- adult pool has no food or drink (again need to goto spa pool)

- no housekeeping, have to call for extra towels

- need a reservation to eat unless you want wait or get it to go.

- some of the areas (like tennis court) need some major TLC, they have empty housekeeping carts and trash in and around them.

- there is an extra charge for the restaurants to operate because of Covid. This is absolutely ridiculous. If you need to cover your overhead, better to increase your prices by 5% and hide that charge.

- worst pillows ever. Like flatter than a pancake... (and I like soft pillows)

Overall the resort is worth attending and I’d rate it 7.5/8 out of 10. Some parts were a sub 5, most of it was an 9.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank fivestarornostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan F, Other at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2021

Dear Dandlightman,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you had an amazing experience at our resort and truly appreciate these comments. We will be sure to recognize Lindsi for going above and beyond to make your stay special. Please come back to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

We were in town to visit family and wanted a nice place nearby to stay. I'm glad we picked this property. The views from the room were great. We were able to enjoy some piece and quiet and the service was great as well. The grounds are beautiful and nice to
just walk around. My girlfriend visited the spa and loved it and couldn't stop talking about it. I Highly recommend this property and we will be back

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank b0bbyv83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan F, Other at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2021

Dear b0bbyv83,

Thank you for sharing these comments. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic experience and look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021

We attended a wedding at the resort so decided to stay there as well. The grounds are truly spectacular: beautiful fountains and gardens everywhere. The Chef's Garden is worth a special visit. That's the highlight of the resort. From there, not so great. The rooms (and especially bathrooms) are very dated, as are some of the common areas. The food served everywhere except the high end restaurant (Avant) is very ordinary (we didn't eat at Avant). The service is - how shall I say this? - nonexistent. Example: no maid service for three days because of COVID. Really? Haven't they heard that the CDC doesn't feel surfaces are a big transmission risk? I'm getting a little tired of hotels that use the pandemic as an excuse to cut service -- and costs! Needless to say, paying almost $300 a night (the wedding party rate) for dated accomodations and non-existent service doesn't add up to a great value.

Room tip: Choose a room on the second floor.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan F, Other at Rancho Bernardo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2021

Dear Mike R,

Thank you for taking the time to share these comments. We are sorry to hear of the issues you encountered and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We will review this feedback with our team and address any areas of opportunity. We hope you will allow us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews