We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Aqua Mar
Nearby Hotels
US$ 190
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 242/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 249
US$ 226
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 342/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 255
US$ 190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 304/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 245
US$ 235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 272/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 188
US$ 154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 274/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 303
US$ 198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 250/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kings Inn San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 200
US$ 143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 192
US$ 162
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
55
70
27
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
70
27
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoint lomasmall hotelc unitvending machineclean roomsyour luggageshower curtainmicrowave and fridgeflat screen tvnon smokingstayed here for one nightstay there againbed was comfortablebeautiful roomsmall roomwater pressurewithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Clean updated rooms, excellent value for money. Easy location to get to sights, close to grocery store, coffee etc. No Laundry Facilities. They supply earplugs as its close to main road but we didn't need to use them. We checked out at 7am but no one there, called the number a few times but had to wait 45mins for someone to get there. Very limited parking, don't go out late as you won't get a park when you return!

Room Tip: Leave aircon on and you can't hear the traffic!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MJJP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for taking some time out of your day to write us a review. We're happy that you had a pleasant and well-valued stay here at the Hotel Aqua Mar. While it is great to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable, quiet, and convenient accommodations, we are sorry that you had the inconvenience of waiting to check out. We will be sure that it does not happen again. Next time you are back in the city, we hope you make us your first stop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Very clean and updated. Extremely small rooms with no dressers. Shower was really cold and would not warm up. Not much water pressure either. Parking could be difficult on weekends, though. Great location. I would recommend and stay again if guaranteed a hot shower.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank PittsbrghTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your recent review. We are happy to hear that you appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel but regret that you had some other issues during your stay. We sincerely apologize that you weren't able to take a hot shower, and that is certainly not what we want for our guests. Our team is on hand to help resolve any problems you may have during your stay, so please don't hesitate to reach out.
Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we'd love to host you again so you can have the experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

If you're looking for a slightly nicer motel to do nothing besides sleep in, this place will be perfect for you. If you're looking for what this hotel's website advertises, like I was, you will be disappointed. I was expecting a boutique hotel experience in a nice neighborhood with a "waterfront location" (direct quotation from the hotel's website). It was none of those things.

This is an important note that needs to be fixed by hotel management immediately: check in and check out times are unclear. According to both the hotel website and the confirmation email I received, check in time is 14:00 and check out time is 12:00. We arrived slightly early (1:45 pm). Usually hotels have no problem allowing you to check in a little early if they have your room available so we didn't think it would be a problem. When we arrived the office door was locked with a sign directing us to call a number for assistance. We did and a young lady arrived relatively quickly to check us in. It was not very pleasant waiting around outside in the sun next to a busy road with nowhere to sit down, but not that big of a deal. When she arrived the employee informed us that check in was not until 3:00 pm and we could pay a $15 early check in fee if we wanted to. I said no thank you we will just wait, but after a lot of talking she ended up being pretty helpful and getting us into a room with two queen beds (we reserved a room with one bed). Again, not a big deal, but already a slight annoyance/inconvenience.

As far as the room itself, it was clean and comfortable enough, but very very small. There was no closet or dresser of any kind so it was difficult to find a place to keep our personal belongings. It was nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room and everything functioned properly.

The day we checked out we got a knock on the door around 11:20. The hotel employee informed us that check out was supposed to be at 11:00. We told him that the information we received said check out was not until 12:00 and he responded that 12:00 is the late check out time. Fortunately he did not add any additional fees to our bill, but it was annoying and made us feel less welcome at Hotel Aqua Mar.

The hotel is definitely NOT waterfront as they advertise. The harbor is a couple blocks away but it is not scenic. There is no public beach nearby.

The coffee shop right across the street (Better Buzz) was excellent and we were happy for that convenience.

Overall, the room was basic but not awful, it was just not at all what was advertised and what we were expecting.

Room Tip: There's a busy road right next to the hotel, so try to get a room in the back for less noise.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Sabrina,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us in San Diego.
We apologize that your experience was not what you expected, but are glad to hear that our team was helpful in regard to the miscommunication about the checkout time, as well as getting you into a room early. Thank you for letting us know that there may be a discrepancy between what is listed on the website and the actuality of check-in/out times. We will use this information to improve the quality of experience that we are able to offer.
Again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused, and that the room and location did not meet your expectations. We hope that you give us another chance in the future to offer you the experience that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

All we wanted was a comfortable bed and a decent shower at a reasonable price for a quick weekend get a way. The beds were hard as rock, the pillows no better, the shower had no pressure...NONE...trickled out unless you had it at a cold or warm setting, no hot water pressure and the parking spots were so tight we had to park on the street in fear of getting dinged.
All of this and not such a great price after all....the two beds in the small room was so tight you could not walk through the room....no dresser, no closet, and the door cleared the toilet by less that half an inch. The A/C unit never could cool the room......do not waste your time or money.

Room Tip: DO NOT Stay in room 101
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Tony,
Thank you for notifying us of your experience. We are terribly sorry to hear that your visit with us was a disappointment and did not meet your expectations in comfort or value. It is saddening to read that the sleep quality and accommodations were not what you preferred and that parking was insufficient. We hope that despite these inconveniences you were still able to have a restful stay and take in some of the nearby attractions here in San Diego. Although we are an affordable property, we do not want to sacrifice quality. Again, we apologize that we fell short during your visit but we hope that you will consider us for another stay so we can make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

When I saw the pics of this hotel, I thought it looked like a quaint simple but updated and clean boutique hotel. The only redeeming quality about this hotel is that the gentleman at the front desk is kind. Other than that, it is horrible. Our room was literally the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. The 2 full (not queen as advertised) beds were crammed up against the walls with only a few feet in between them. There was hardly enough room to put down three small suitcases. Bath room was VERY tiny. But worst part was that the room was dirty. Walls were dirty, floors had dust bunnies and dirt in corners and bedding had stains on top cover. Looked like it had been washed but blood stains didn't come out. Gross! I had reserved the hotel for three nights and requested to cancel my reservation but the manager made me pay a full nights fee even though it was early in the day and I told her I wouldn't be able to stay in the hotel under the conditions we found our room. So I payed 250, for nothing. I am not a picky hotel stayer, but I expect clean. I couldn't' have imagined laying my head down on that bed and being able to sleep. Look closely at the photos and you will see that they are very misleading. I have no idea why this hotel has the rating it has, my guess is that many are "false reviews"

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bre g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Bre,
Thank you for notifying us of your experience. We're sorry that your stay was disappointing. Although we do not make any attempt to be misleading, we are sorry that you felt the images online are not representative of our property. We also apologize for the issues with cleanliness that you encountered. Our housekeeping team strives to provide every guest with a clean stay, and we are sorry that your visit was atypical. It is unfortunate that you were driven to cancel your reservation, and we can only ask that you consider us for another stay here in San Diego so that we can provide you with the experience that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews