We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Modern, clean, AND pet-friendly!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #34 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modern, clean, AND pet-friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

My husband, our dog and I stayed here in May over the holiday weekend. I was skeptical of all of the positive reviews, since this was my first experience at a pet-friendly hotel. I guess I expected it to be dirty and smell like "dog." Thankfully, I was wrong! The lobby and our room were pretty clean, and we appreciated the modern vibe. I'm still unsure about the carpet covering part of the floor in the room, though. What if my dog or a past guest's dog had peed on it? It's dark so you can't really see it..... So I was a little paranoid about the dog not staying on the carpet for too long, haha.
For those who didn't really love the location, I would say that I actually liked it better than being right in the middle of the gaslamp district. it's a little quieter but also very close the action. it's also a short walk to the convention center, which was helpful for me as I attended a conference for 2 days.
The reason I didn't give 5 stars was that I didn't love the staff. They weren't outright rude, but also didn't own up to their mistakes. For example, upon checking in I informed them that I had 2 separate reservations, one for two consecutive nights, and the other for one night. they said, no problem. Then after the second night (of the first reservation), they called the room to ask my husband why we hadn't checked out. then they had trouble locating my second reservation. when i returned from the conference, i stopped by the front desk to inquire, and the person assisting me basically blamed me for making 2 reservations and not informing them. seriously? i informed them when i checked in! *sigh*
we'll be staying here again in a few weeks, so i may end up updating this review, based on our encounters with the staff again. hopefully it'll be better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bulldog524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Bulldog524,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so pleased that we have exceeded your expectations for being a pet-friendly hotel and that you were happy with our location in the downtown area. While we are sorry about the reservation mix up, we hope to make it up to you and make your stay as pleasant as possible on your return visit. We look forward to seeing you again in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    492
    124
    36
    33
See reviews for
202
654
111
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

My husband and I decided to do a "staycation" at the Hotel Indigo for his birthday weekend. The location of this hotel is great as it’s right in the gaslamp and just steps from Petco Park.
Parking is valet only and rates are the same as all other hotels downtown. The valets were helpful and friendly, always asking if we needed directions when leaving. The staff was friendly as well, no problems with check-in or any other issues throughout our stay. Our room had a fabulous view of downtown and the ballpark! Their bar on the upper level had a great view, with fire pits. A great place to hang out pre and post Gaslamp. The hotel is pet friendly with water bowls and treats for the visiting dogs. We would definitely stay here again and hang out at their bar!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for writing your review on the hotel! We are so happy that you had such a wonderful time during your stay with us. We especially appreciate your enthusiasm for the friendly staff and ease of check-in & out, as we pride ourselves on making you, the guest, our number one priority. We hope that you and your husband will join us for another ‘staycation’ soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Pros

- Location is excellent and you can just walk across the street.
- In gas lamp quater where a lot of activities were going on.
- Nice large, bed, with nice view of the convention center.

Con:

- No wifi in my room while I was staying there.
- no free shuttle to the air port

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Applejuice2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Applejuice2012,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel! We are glad that you were satisfied with our room layout as well as our overall location within the Gaslamp district. We hope that you will consider us again for your stay during next year’s Comic-Con convention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is a great location. Down the street from the Petco Ballpark. Location is great

Parking: Valet Only

Place had a gym with water cooler. Terrace near the gym. The 9th floor had the gym, the terrace, the bar/lounge area. The grass area for the pets, and another terrace with the firepit and view.
There was a bar downstairs/eatery with a business center. Very clean place and pet friendly. The rooms were excellent and clean and modern style.

Did a segway tour with the "Another side of San Diego" Did the Balboa Park tour, it was fun since I have never been on a segway before. Recommended for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbtran321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
mbtran321,

Thanks for writing a review! It sounds like you had the chance to experience many of the hotel amenities during your 3 days with us. We’re glad you were able to see San Diego in such a unique way as the segway tours as well. The whole hotel is pet friendly which offers pet owners the chance to bring their furry friends & other travelers to enjoy their presence. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We spend two nights (Sat. & Sun.) at the Hotel Indigo. Our fifth floor room had a nice view of Petco Park. The 9th floor terrace bar has an even better view. The hotel is conveniently located on the southeast edge of the Gaslamp District. It's a comfortable walk to the district restaurants, Horton Plaza and Seaport Village.

Nicely furnished rooms with a decent restaurant in the lobby. This is a great option for a weekend in downtown San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FuelScience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
FuelScience,

We appreciate your review of the time you spent with us! Our Level 9 terrace bar has beautiful views of the Petco Park & it’s great you were able to experience that in your room as well. We’re glad you had the chance to sample our Table 509 restaurant too. Come see us for your next weekend getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
No photo provided
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,936 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,202 - ₹ 27,502
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia and IHG so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing