We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disapointing noise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #33 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland
Level Contributor
264 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Disapointing noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel is in a great location. Close to the gaslamp but far enough away to not hear the noise. But the noise from the air condition on the roof was far worse than any gaslamp noise. I asked about the noise after the first night. No one got back to me. After getting in late the second night we didn't stop and ask, so the next morning I asked again, The next night on our way back in I asked again, and was told what the problem was. By then we only had one night left and it wasn't worth changing rooms. Not that they offered a room change. I had read a review about the noise on tripadvisor but the review made it sound like it was the heating unit. So I thought it was room specific. This noise was top floors specific. We were on the 11th floor with another floor above us.The bed spread was made of some different material and was noisy and wouldn't stay on the bed too. It was a little spending for a Priority Hotel, but on the good side the hotel was very contemporary, the room was large, and the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Stay on a lower floor to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDFlipFlops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for writing a review of your stay. We apologize for the experience during your stay, as it is not up to our normal standards. We are glad to see that our personable & passionate staff was still able to make a positive impression on you. We sincerely hope you will come back again to give us the chance to use that inspiring service to make your next stay the best it can be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    494
    125
    36
    33
See reviews for
202
658
111
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My fiance and I decided to take a break from stressful wedding planning and take a little weekend stay-cation at Hotel Indigo in SD... and I'm so glad we did!

Check in was a breeze and we went straight up to our room overlooking Petco Park during a Padres baseball game. The view was great, and we loved how "green" all the room products were! It's nice to see a hotel showing consideration for our planet.

We ate dinner at the restaurant downstairs and enjoyed people-watching the fans leaving the game. The food was very good.

We LOVED that it is a dog-friendly hotel because we LOVE dogs, but decided to leave our mutt at home so we could truly enjoy the evening for ourselves! Sorry Mowgli.

Anyway - slept like babies and came home from the staycation relaxed and rejuvenated. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melina619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Melina619,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We’re so happy to see you enjoyed your room, the view, & our commitment to living up to our LEED certification. Thank you for saying you would recommend us & hopefully you can bring Mowgli with you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hotel was all that I expected. Excellent location (1 block away from petco park) Great staff, and a very comfortable bed.

The rooms are spacious, with a great modern decor. And the free Internet is always appreciated.

The parking fee is overpriced, but that didn't affect us as the park meters are not in service during the weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YupiYey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
YupiYey,

Thank you for your review! We are so pleased to see your comments about our modern décor throughout the hotel & location within the Gaslamp Distrcit. Our friendly & helpful staff is always on hand to make sure our guests have a unique experience during their stays. We hope to see you back with us next time you’re in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My husband and I were excited to stay at the this hotel after reading the reviews and seeing the pictures online. When we checked in we were told that we had a room with 2 queen beds when our reservation was for a king. Not a huge deal but the guy was so rude about it. He said that the room situation "is what happens when you book through a third party" like it was some low class ridiculous way to book a hotel. He told us our only option was to upgrade for a view room which would cost us an extra 30 each day.
So we take the the room they give us and there's someone's hair on the bed we didn't sleep on. Yuck. Also, the cleaning person didn't take our dirty glasses each day. Again not a huge deal but I felt we were paying for a nice hotel.
Be prepared to pay for parking in this entire area. $38 per day!! At least we only paid for one night. We were comped a day since the valet lost our car keys and we had to change our plans since we couldn't leave the area. If you are there on a holiday you can use the meter parking overnight and save yourself some cAsh.
The rooftop bar is nice and the service there was good. Also, not all of the front desk team was bad at service but we started off on the wrong foot with our first encounter.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessgriffith22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Jessgriffith22,

We apologize for your experience during our stay, as it is not up to our normal standards. We have used your feedback in training with our housekeeping & front desk teams. We hope you will come back again in the future to let us inspire you with our improved service. Thank you again for your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I read other comments before make my reservation, and I completely concur with the positive reviews.

The location is great, within walking distance of just about everything in downtown. I walked from the Amtrak station (about 1 mile). There are dozens and dozens of places to eat within a 5-minute walk. I walked to the Convention Center (about .5 miles).

The staff is friendly and relaxed. The hotel is clean and has no unpleasant odors. The room I stayed in was small, cheery, clean and comfortable. The large walk-in shower with a large shower head was much appreciated.

I had a nice little breakfast served by a very friendly waiter.

Did I mention that the price is great?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased to see you had a great stay with us. Our staff strives to create unique great experiences for each guest & it sounds like they were able to contribute to your great time. We appreciate the compliments of our guest rooms as well. Come visit us again next time you’re in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,868 - ₹ 28,873
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia and IHG so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing