We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beach get-away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beach Haven
Ranked #123 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Liberal, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beach get-away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great area! Plenty of places to eat, shop and drink all in walking distance. About a block from the beach. Our 1 bedroom suite was alittle more dated than the pictures, but they are clearly remodeling the rooms. Very clean and cozy. Check in was good. Friendly staff. Would definately go back for a stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    72
    19
    16
    22
See reviews for
74
44
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Beach Haven Inn is a cozy little beach motel right around the corner from the beach, my boyfriend and I stayed for four nights in December and we loved it. As we left we said we would definitely stay at Beach Haven the next time we were in San Diego. Larger hotels/resorts may have more amenities, however, we loved so many more things about Beach Haven, being able to park right next to the room, we loved the size of the rooms, a fully stocked kitchen with fridge and oven/stove, the separate bedroom and the living room with the sleeper sofa...it was all just perfect! It was quiet, had a pool and a hot tub. We could hear the waves from outside and walked to the beach at night to see the waves coming in, it was beautiful. Thank you Beach Haven Inn, we look forward to our next stay with you!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

This is our 3rd time staying @ Beach Haven Inn. Haven't had a problem with cleanliness. Not too fancy but well appointed and awesome location & toasty hot tub- I love a toasty hot tub. The rooms are spacious & we booked the suite with kitchen; really nice. Totally will stay here again. If you want upscale stay @ the Catamaran but you'll pay more than double, although it is nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaiatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at the Beach Haven Inn for a weekend trip. It was one of the less inexpensive hotel on Pacific beach. The area is fun with lots of bars, caters to a younger crowd. But this hotel needed some serious updating.

Our check-in took forever. 50 minutes. The person checking us in was running around doing other things at the same time, and telling us really useless information, like the city wanted to install parking meters on the street in the future. Really? We're only staying a few days.

The rooms were not very clean. The beds seemed ok, but the shower really needed some work. I didn't want to look too closely at the shower seams, because there was some black stuff there. We were with friends who had another room, and they said they had a real gnats problem. We were told our rooms were "updated", so I'd hate to see what the non-updated rooms looked like. FYI, the room did not look "updated" at all, unless what they meant by updating was to paint it and put a new mirror on the wall. However, the beds were comfortable, and seemed clean.

There is no "continental breakfast" as was stated-- it's just hot water and coffee. Most motel places will at least give you a packaged roll or an apple.

When we stayed it was really noisy at night. Not the hotel's fault because it is on Pacific Beach, but something you may want to be aware of.

Our door was broken so we couldn't open it from the inside (uh, fire hazard!). Our friends had to let us out of our own room. They did fix it the next day though.

The rooms are quite cramped. Not much shelving space to put your stuff down.

Obviously, I was not paying for 5 stars, but I did have the minimal standards of cleanliness and efficient service. I don't think Beach Haven Inn met these standards this time.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms with kitchens seemed nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CotijaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Great mix of reasonable price for the location, easy access (don't need a car unless leaving the beach area). Off street parking. Clean, well kept - BIG suite. Small pool, but the beach is like 50 yards away. Responsive, friendly, knowledgeable desk staff. NOT a "party" hotel. Bike & surf board rentals nearby. Would highly recommend in the Pacific Beach area.

Room Tip: Variety of rooms & amenities, check out their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_TV_Producer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#143 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#109 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#230 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#223 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haven? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven

Property: Beach Haven
Address: 4740 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,892 - ₹ 19,454
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Haven Inn is located in Pacific Beach just 1 block from the breathtaking Pacific Ocean. It is an ideal location for those who want to center their stay around the sun, surf, and water sports that surround our Pacific Beach hotel.We offer affordable double queen and studio rooms, plus one bedroom suites. The studios and suites in our hotel in Pacific Beach have fully equipped kitchens and are perfect for families. Our pool and spa are conveniently located in our center courtyard and our barbecue area offers an outdoor charcoal grill. Take advantage of our free high speed internet in our lobby while you enjoy the comforts of beach living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Beach Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel San Diego
Beach Haven San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing