We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace of mind for my soul :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #14 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peace of mind for my soul :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

It wasn't easy figuring out hotels and mapping out college tour visits---from the Bay Area, for myself and my two teenagers on spring break. We stayed at 3 different hotels and I was most interested in this one, after reading this wonderful reviews. After our 2nd hotel on first st. in Azusa (Rodeway Inn) where I felt scared for our lives (somehow the handful of reviews were positive) it was SUCH A RELIEF to come to Dolphin Inn for 2 nights and have that "peace of mind for my soul" in feeling safe, taken care of, and the layout is like a little community. The rooms were cute and clean and quiet. Breakfast was just right for us and appreciated. We arrived from the UCSD tour in pouring down rain and one of the Housekeepers who was outside at that moment offered us HER umbrella. We didn't need it, but that gesture warmed my heart. Of course we appreciated the affordable price too, fit just right into our budget. I agree with all the other reviews, but feeling safe (and relaxed) was the best PLUS for me.

Room Tip: Room 28 has a nice balcony area, and is out of the way, on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you Debbie for visiting our little motel
On behalf of the owners and all our staff, we appreciate nice folks like you guys who gave us a chance.
Our biggest room is the once you were staying in Room 28
There is always a staff on duty if you have any needs. We also have surveillance 24/7 on property although Point loma is a predominently uppper-middle class to upper class neighborhood
Your every concern will be addressed.
Mnay thanks for a pleasant stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    316
    71
    13
    10
See reviews for
195
493
114
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The good: After much searching for a cheap hotel in San Diego that was in a decent location it brought me to the Dolphin Motel. The staff here are very friendly and print things for you and also help you out with any problems you have. The location is great and parking is free. You are around 5-10 minutes from downtown San Diego and all the attractions. The breakfast was okay- we had some muffins,coffee,yogurt, and orange juice but it was okay. Most importantly, the price was great and it is very clean.
The bad: The rooms are not very soundproof. I stayed on the 1st floor and was able to hear a lot of the footsteps from the room above me so that was a bit annoying. Also, if someone was outside your room talking you could hear them without much of a problem. I think that if the hotel was quieter i would have given it a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justinbbfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you justinbbfc for writing us a review
You are correct, our rooms are not big and we are an older motel.
With the noise, please notify our 24 hour staff on duty and we can ask the other guests to quiet down. We do have quiet time after 9pm due to our rooms being small.
You were staying on one of our busy nights during the weekend and a holiday. This happens when we fill up.
I thank you for writing about us from both perspectives as all places have both good & bad. Hope you come back to San Diego on vacation in the future. Call us early as well so we can give you our upstairs rooms, they are very popular and less noise from people above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Thanks to Tripadvisor, I had the opportunity to spend two nights this week at the Dolphin Motel. As advertised, the rooms are small and the amenities are basic, but saying that, it is probably one of the cleanest, most comfortable rooms I have experienced at any price. Good bed, pillows, and showers -- and a quiet room - not always the case at rooms 4x the price!!! Hanging out waiting for my daughter and enjoying the (free) breakfast on Easter Sunday morning, the owner was there handing out candy to the kids - nice touch! The staff took extra care at every opportunity, and are clearly committed to making each guest's experience a positive one. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank URKMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
It's been a pleasure having you guys. Your daughter was a darling! She definitely put a smile on to Holly's (the owner) day.
We'll see you next time you come down south to our little corner of California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This place is in close proximity to all famous localities like the cabrilli monument, old town, La Jolla shores and the airport! Their rooms are neat, clean and offers excellent value for your price. In addition to the morning breakfast, which is free of cost, the owners and the employees are extremely helpful in so many different levels.

What shocked me the most is the fact that they only charge almost half as much as the marriots and holiday inns even during the busy season. I would 100% recommend this place for both individuals and family members. You guys are simply amazing.

Sethu from Lowell, MA

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sethumadhavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Hello Sethu!
I love La Jolla, that's my favorite place to visit when I have time, and I always recommend it to guests who visit the front office. i try to not steal Holly's recommendations which is Cabrillo National Monument which is just a 10 minutes drive at the end of Point Loma. It has the best view of the downtown area and all the military bases/vessels we have. Occasionally you also see a submarine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

we stayed at the dolphin motel for 5 nights. The room was a good size, with a good bathroom, very comfortable bed, a/c and cable TV. The room was spotless and was cleaned every day. A breakfast of muffins, fruit, coffee, juice & yogurt was included. Staff were really friendly & helpful, in fact one day we were at the bus stop and the owner came out and insisted driving us to the beach and he stopped to show us a few places of interest on the way! A good location with bars & restaurants within 5 minutes walk, and if you don't have a car, like us the bus stop is 2 minutes away and links with the trolley to downtown etc. Cant imagine you will find a better place to stay for the money in San Diego

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mpbmpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Why hello again guys!
We're glad you walked across the street and tried Point Loma Seafoods, we've never had a complaint about that place and it is the local favorite for seafood. We also recommend Miguel's (which is Mexican food).
If I remember correctly, you guys stayed on top of the office upstairs. it was our pleasure having you here and hope you make San Diego a part of your destination the next time you make a run around the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 2912 Garrison St, San Diego, CA 92106-2770
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,603 - ₹ 4,913
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Budget Motel since 1976. Budget very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Best Price! Budget Value! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to the owners Holly and Alan over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing