We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old fashioned value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #17 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“old fashioned value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This place is like a throw back to the way motels look in old movies. We stayed here two nights. Very friendly helpful staff. They gave great recommendations for things to see outside of the usual. Nice location. Right across the street from the pier. We went for an early morning walk & saw fisherman bringing in the Yellow Tuna! They would even loan you a GPS if you needed one to get around. Yes the rooms are tiny & sparse. But the service is beyond all the big places. It is immaculately clean, has free internet, free parking, plus, a light breakfast is included. Coffee, juice, yogurt & fruit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 80hours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    316
    71
    13
    10
See reviews for
195
493
114
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

So...If you wanna B%T€# and complain...Do them a favor, just don't bother staying here...If you enjoy value, please.....By all means, book TODAY. This place has everything a great little motel has to offer....Friendly staff, nice cozy room, cleanliness, and a place to rest your head at days end. (I recommend Cabrillo Monument. It's AWESOME!!!!) I personally, don't see why people complain about "HOW SMALL" the rooms are...I thought it was perfect in size (Plus I was able to rub elbows with my honey) It's in a great location, it's California! Great ocean air (Which I am sure the locals sometimes take for granted)....I personally feel inspired travelling to San Diego. (I guess it's not for everyone)...I would recommend this place to my best friend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misledandliberated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about us.
We haven't lost a GPS yet because all our customers here are good people.
Our value is based on integrity and simplicity.
Sometimes, in other places there may be a great distance between the customer and management but here the owners come to work every day. And can be approached for whatever reason. Simply catch them during the morning during breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We just returned from a trip to San Diego to celebrate our three year wedding anniversary. As graduate students, we are on a tight budget. We chose the Dolphin Motel because we had heard it was a nice place to stay with great prices. We were really impressed! The owners and staff we incredibly friendly and helpful. Definitely top-notch service! The room was small but very clean and the motel is in walking distance of the harbor and some wonderful restaurants. If you need anything (a cab, a restaurant suggestion, etc.) just ask at the front desk. They helped us out a lot!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Hello Emily,
You guys are just the travelers we love to stay with us!
You are very intelligent to have done research prior to going on vacation
and save the extra money for other things while on vacation
I agree with your ideas and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I would recommend this motel for comfort, location, and safety!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Sweet and simple. Love it! Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Drove to the Dolphin from the San Diego Airport in 10 minutes! We arrived later in the evening and were happy to have our keys handed to us almost as we walked in. The rooms are small, but VERY CLEAN. Great linens. Breakfast is served in the small courtyard and consists of muffins, yogurt, juice, bananas, and coffee. Just right! The staff and owners make you feel at home and are extremely helpful. Will definately come back. Best budget motel we have stayed in.

Room Tip: The room above the office has a small outdoor sitting area that overlooks the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you so much Marilyn! As always, since you guys have done some research, you always weigh the best balance and what you need.
The room you recommend is by far our most popular room! it is filled up every day throughout the year! By popular demand please reserve early (like 2-3 months ahead).
We also have other rooms upstairs which is of course just as popular.
And space is also limited.
Last but not least, all of us here thank you for your time staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 2912 Garrison St, San Diego, CA 92106-2770
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,601 - ₹ 4,910
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Budget Motel since 1976. Budget very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Best Price! Budget Value! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to the owners Holly and Alan over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing