We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old fashioned value”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #58 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This place is like a throw back to the way motels look in old movies. We stayed here two nights. Very friendly helpful staff. They gave great recommendations for things to see outside of the usual. Nice location. Right across the street from the pier. We went for an early morning walk & saw fisherman bringing in the Yellow Tuna! They would even loan you a GPS if you needed one to get around. Yes the rooms are tiny & sparse. But the service is beyond all the big places. It is immaculately clean, has free internet, free parking, plus, a light breakfast is included. Coffee, juice, yogurt & fruit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 80hours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 657 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

So...If you wanna B%T€# and complain...Do them a favor, just don't bother staying here...If you enjoy value, please.....By all means, book TODAY. This place has everything a great little motel has to offer....Friendly staff, nice cozy room, cleanliness, and a place to rest your head at days end. (I recommend Cabrillo Monument. It's AWESOME!!!!) I personally, don't see why people complain about "HOW SMALL" the rooms are...I thought it was perfect in size (Plus I was able to rub elbows with my honey) It's in a great location, it's California! Great ocean air (Which I am sure the locals sometimes take for granted)....I personally feel inspired travelling to San Diego. (I guess it's not for everyone)...I would recommend this place to my best friend.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misledandliberated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about us.
We haven't lost a GPS yet because all our customers here are good people.
Our value is based on integrity and simplicity.
Sometimes, in other places there may be a great distance between the customer and management but here the owners come to work every day. And can be approached for whatever reason. Simply catch them during the morning during breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We just returned from a trip to San Diego to celebrate our three year wedding anniversary. As graduate students, we are on a tight budget. We chose the Dolphin Motel because we had heard it was a nice place to stay with great prices. We were really impressed! The owners and staff we incredibly friendly and helpful. Definitely top-notch service! The room was small but very clean and the motel is in walking distance of the harbor and some wonderful restaurants. If you need anything (a cab, a restaurant suggestion, etc.) just ask at the front desk. They helped us out a lot!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Hello Emily,
You guys are just the travelers we love to stay with us!
You are very intelligent to have done research prior to going on vacation
and save the extra money for other things while on vacation
I agree with your ideas and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I would recommend this motel for comfort, location, and safety!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Sweet and simple. Love it! Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Drove to the Dolphin from the San Diego Airport in 10 minutes! We arrived later in the evening and were happy to have our keys handed to us almost as we walked in. The rooms are small, but VERY CLEAN. Great linens. Breakfast is served in the small courtyard and consists of muffins, yogurt, juice, bananas, and coffee. Just right! The staff and owners make you feel at home and are extremely helpful. Will definately come back. Best budget motel we have stayed in.

Room Tip: The room above the office has a small outdoor sitting area that overlooks the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you so much Marilyn! As always, since you guys have done some research, you always weigh the best balance and what you need.
The room you recommend is by far our most popular room! it is filled up every day throughout the year! By popular demand please reserve early (like 2-3 months ahead).
We also have other rooms upstairs which is of course just as popular.
And space is also limited.
Last but not least, all of us here thank you for your time staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#187 of 286 in San Diego
149 reviews
Ramada San Diego Airport
#142 of 286 in San Diego
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Aqua Mar
#152 of 286 in San Diego
168 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 2912 Garrison St, San Diego, CA 92106-2770
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 5,117 - ₹ 12,435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Budget Motel since 1976. Budget very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Best Price! Budget Value! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to our staff over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing