We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place. Good price, clean, comfortable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Point Loma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Point Loma
Ranked #213 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Spokane Valley, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place. Good price, clean, comfortable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Good price. Wish we had more access to towels and other ammenities, our hours didn't match the sleep schedule of the staff. They were very friendly and commonly available but not whenever we needed towels it seemed. Rooms are small but clean, you'll have everything you need. Good location.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannami09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
We are so happy to hear that you had an amazing experience at our hotel. We strive to maintain an outstanding cleanness in our rooms, great customer service, being helpful and accommodating. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    53
    27
    17
    29
See reviews for
41
59
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

Rode our harleys from Green Valley Arizona to San Diego got in late and was greeted well. The motel is very clean and centrally located good parking and safe for te bikes. I can't say enough good things to say I will be back and will encourage all my friends to stay

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
We’re very happy to hear about your pleasant experience at out hotel. As you mentioned, our location is excellent, very convenient and safe. It’s great to know you were also pleased with the great quality you received for such an affordable price. Thanks for posting your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

We have stayed here 2 times . The manager Ray was very helpful for us because we booked on Expedia and it was the wrong room that we desired, but Ray gave us the correct room at the same price. Very nice! The 2 room suite was very adequate and had all the amenities that you find in the high end hotels that can get very expensive in San Diego.
It has a great location on the main street and within walking distance to stores, restaurants and the beautiful marina. It is freeway close to all of San Diego's main attractions.
I have just booked two more nights for next week.
A budget traveler's delight. Here's a tip. Don't book Point Loma Inn and Suites through a booking agent but call direct for the best price. They are very accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We’re delighted to hear about your pleasant experience with us. We strive to be better each day and continue providing exceptional customer service and clean and fresh rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyanet, illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

im not a super hotel snob or anything, but its not up to my standards for a few reasons. firstly, let me say that the staff was honestly GREAT. we had some changes last minute so we changed our dates last moment literally a day before. they accomadated the changes without hesitation. on their website they have a name your price type deal, and the owner bargained with me and gave me a fair price around 48 a night so it was very very cheap. we stayed one night. we were supposed to stay two but i couldnt deal with it here. when we got there checkin was fast and i asked for lower floor because we have a toddler and we got one. first, the area is really divey looking but alot of san diego is like that. i have been to san diego SEVERALLL times throughout my life and i know that it aint all bright and shiny everywhere. but this was really not a nice area. the hotels exterior is nothing pleasant. it was really bad looking but they did work hard to keep it clean, its just old. when you see the pics online, it seems pretty decent and looked like nice furnishings, however when you go in, they arent. they are VERY cheap, and lots of it was falling apart, wobbly tables, and there is a mirror headboard that we were worried about falling over. it was a kitchen suite, however it was so cramped and tiny in the room. the bed was very uncomfortable. and the oven had a bad smell when we used it. the bathroom was not very nice, decent but not great. there was a window in there too right infront of the shower. most of the room was cleaned well, however the carpet was FILTHY but i find this a problem even in really nice hotels there werent enough towels though :/ this place was probably worth the price for the AREA, but i really wouldnt stay again. at night, it was extremely noisy outside, not just cars, but people talking and doors shutting, the doors and walls are like paper. we also had no place to set up my sons pack and play thats how crowded it was so he got in bed with us. the beds wasnt comfortable, and that combined with the noise, we BARELY slept that night so we checked out early the next day i said i couldnt take a moment more of it. id rather pay the 40 more and go to a holiday inn. we tried the budget route, and it just was not for us. its very old and dingy and though the staff is great and DO work hard to keep it best as it can be, IMO it just needs to be torn down and redone.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashpinoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

This is a cute little hotel that has a wonderful staff and it located in the middle of everything...only a 5-10 minute drive to anywhere you would want to go in San Diego. The down side of that is it is off of a busy road and the rooms are not the most quiet. Nothing ear plugs can't solve though. The rooms are small, but they were clean. Folks this isn't a Hyatt or a Hilton, but if your looking for a cheap place to stay so you can spend your money elsewhere this is a great place. Ray the manager was always accomodating and there are microwaves and fridges in the rooms which is nice if your staying for a long period of time. We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BekaandJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
We’re very happy to hear about your pleasant experience at out hotel. As you mentioned, our location is excellent, very convenient. It’s great to know you were also pleased with the great quality you received for such an affordable price. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 km away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.4 km away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#184 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#163 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#139 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#112 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Point Loma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Point Loma

Property: Hotel Point Loma
Address: 2933 Fenelon St, San Diego, CA 92106-2718
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,210 - ₹ 13,315
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Point Loma 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy beautiful southern California while staying at Point Loma Inn and Suites. Just steps away from Harbor Drive and Shelter Island, bay-side near the landings and marina boardwalk. You will be minutes from the lush beaches and bays of San Diego's coast, filled with the world's most exotic yachts. Point Loma Inn is only a few short minutes from the San Diego Int'l Airport, near the Gaslamp Quarter and local tourist attractions. For those looking to enjoy a night out on the town Gaslamp provides restaurants, nightclubs, winery, shopping museums, and more. The world renowned Sea World is located just ten minutes away, as well as the Liberty Station, which also includes restaurants, shops, a historic golf course, and is home to over 48 museums. Point Loma Inn offers a high standard of service and facilities to meet the individual needs of each guest. Call today! Southern California await you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Point Loma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Loma Hotel San Diego
Point Loma Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing