We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for Business and Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Ranked #94 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay for Business and Family”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Very pleased with our recent stay at the Hilton San Diego Resort and Spa. We travelled with two young kids, mixing business and family stay. We chose a garden view twin room, in one of the villas. Very happy with the room - good size, very comfortable, had a fridge microwave and sink which was good for looking after the kids' needs. Our view was over the back garden which was basically a fence, so that was not so hot, but we didn't mind.

The resort itself is very good. It's not Dubai, so don't expect a never ending buffet and marble pillars, but the resort does itself justice. The pool is heated, and the depth is 3 - 5 feet so the kids could touch the bottom in areas. There are two wonderful hot tubs just off the pool, a table tennis table and a giant draughts set. It's very picturesque and the sunset over the bay is an attractive sight.

There's a motor boat, jetski kayak rental on the beach, which we didn't use as the weather was not great. The beach is a manmade looking one, but it's fine for the kids. Jogging or rollerblading along the bayfront is fun, and there are bikes to rent. There's a very good children's playground about 7-10 mins walk along the waterfront.

We travelled downtown to the convention centre, to balboa park and the zoo, as well as to seaworld - all by taxi, very easy short trips. Fashion mall is much better the name sounds, and has some good toy shops as well as a wide range of clothing.

Food choices in the hotel are good, for both adults and kids, and the room service choices are good too. it's fairly gourmet and the quality is quite high. As it's off season now, we didn't have the full choice of dining as some of the venues were not open.

The best thing about the hotel is the staff - exceptionally friendly and happy to please - Larry in the restaurant and Ramon on the front desk were great, but all the staff create a happy, easy going and helpful environment.

The only annoying thing about the hotel is the lack of in room wifi - we went to the onsite convention centre to login to free wifi.

Amenities - a very good hotel shop, helpful reception and conceriege, business centre, fed ex package handling, hotel shuttle - very helpful and individualised service, great value on zoo and sea world tickets (prices similar but many additional perks included esp sea world multi entry)

Why not 5 stars - well it's just a little old, the choices are just a little limited compared to modern resort hotels esp in the Middle East and Asia, but the staff make up for all of this - it deserves a 4.5 rating.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front and back of villa palacio face an iron fence, which is not so attractive. th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank east2westandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,167
    881
    571
    311
    173
See reviews for
1,179
724
81
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I just returned from an overnight visit to San Diego, staying at the Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa on Mission Bay. The hotel really is a mixed bag - there are wonderful things about it, and some real negatives as well. Overall, my opinion is that I wouldn't return here, or recommend it to a friend - there are too many other, nicer hotels to choose from in the San Diego area.

WHAT I LIKED:
*Nice location right on Mission Bay. Sandy beach out front and miles of walking trails right from your doorstep.
*Large room, newly-redecorated and furnished.
*Appointments and amenities are very nice.
*Big, flat-screened HD TVs in the rooms.
*Room rate is moderate for the location.

WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE:
*Despite the fact that the furnishings and appointments in the rooms and public areas are renovated, the infrastructure itself is not. EG, things like the door locks, light switches, air conditioning units look straight out of the 70s. The hallways were stark. This gives the impression that the hotel was renovated recently, but on the cheap, and gives parts of the hotel a very dated look and feel.
*The $32 DAILY fee for parking is absolute robbery! This hotel is not located in Manhattan or downtown San Francisco, and the owners/management should be ashamed of this policy. This alone is a deal-breaker in terms of my ever returning here.
*They advertise availability of free Wi-Fi, but it turns out it is only available in the reception area and conference rooms (I could not get it in the lounges outside of the restaurant or by the pool). There is no Wi-Fi available in the rooms; you have to pay for wired access. This is deal-breaker #2 for me. COME ON HILTON PEOPLE, THIS IS 2012!
*Bathrooms are small and shower/tub was very dated looking.
*Swimming pool/jacuzzi area was attractive, but too small for a resort with this many rooms. It was filled to the brim on a Tuesday in mid-March; I can only imagine how overcrowded it must get on a sunny, Summer day when the resort is full and everyone wants to swim!

As other reviewers have suggested, this is a hotel with a lot of potential. If they spent a few extra dollars to complete the renovations, installed Wi-Fi, and reduced the rate of their parking fee by about 75%, I would give this hotel five stars....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JAMESINTHAILAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonmissionbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for your review. It is important for us to learn about our guests’ experiences so that we can continue to improve upon our services and accommodations. I am glad that you enjoyed the location of our resort. We take pride in being located right on the sand, steps away from the bay itself. We are constantly adding new amenities to modernize our guest rooms, and we’re glad you enjoyed the rooms.

I am sorry about some of the negative experiences you had during your stay. Please allow me to address some of your concerns.

Our public areas have just gone through a major renovation, and we are continuing to improve upon other areas of our resort.

While we found that our parking fee is the market price for other resorts around Mission Bay, we are looking into the matter. As we continue to assess our parking fee and look for solutions, we do offer discounted shuttle rates and complimentary shuttle rides to and from SeaWorld and Old Town for those who choose not to park on our property.

As for our wifi availability, we are so pleased to announce that because of the recommendations from our guests to make wifi accessible in the rooms, we are currently working on this project as we speak, and it should be complete in the coming weeks!

We sincerely hope that you come back and allow us another opportunity to give you a better experience. If you have any other questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally. I welcome further discussions about your experience at our resort.

Warmly,
Vera
vgalace@missionbayhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamondGirl419
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We booked this hotel through Priceline on a $79 per night bid. We weren't sure what to expect because of some of the reviews on Trip Advisor, but I can say that I was pleased with this property. We were assigned a room on the 6th floor tower across from the lobby and had wonderful views of Mission Bay and beyond. The balcony was furnished with a table and 2 chairs and made for quiet mornings as the sun came up. Our room was beautifully appointed--the room and bathroom appeared to have been the result of a recent remodel. Very comfy bed with a nightlite attached to the headboard for those who want to read if your traveling companion wants to sleep.
Check-in was very easy and quick. We purchased coffee and yogurt every morning and both were delicious. Lunch at poolside was great---we had waitresses so you could order adult beverages and foods such as grilled chicken sandwiches or burgers. The prices were about the same as any other resort we've been to.
We took a taxi service to this hotel from the airport rather than rent a car. Not worth renting a car since you have to pay for parking here as well as the cost of a rental. We were only staying here 2 nights as a layover on our way to Maui. The hotel does offer a shuttle service to Old Town San Diego and SeaWorld for free. Other destinations are available for a fee.
This property is well landscaped and cared for. I loved it because I felt like we were on our own island area...very private even though you could look out past the property gates and watch all the joggers, walkers and runners on the paved path along Mission Bay. Hilton also has bike rentals and I believe boats of some sort too ( I saw a dock with Hilton's name on it)..
When we were here, it was off-season, so the cabanas were free to sit under...Nice touch...69-72 degrees all day...just perfect!
The only thing I can address with concern is that the hot tub was MUCH too hot. Most guests here complained about it. Yes, it should be more hot than warm, but this was very, very hot (and I CAN take a lot of heat)....So if I'm sayin' it's hot...it's WAY hot. I do not recommend immersing yourself for more than 30 seconds-whew!
Would I stay here again? Absolutely! This was my first time to San Diego, and this resort left a favorable impression on us.

Room Tip: ask for a high room in the tower across from the lobby for a view of Mission Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiamondGirl419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed in the villas. I requested the bottom floor to be able to walk out in the garden and lounge on the round love couch. Nice! Room was nice except for that moldy stink for being too close to the water. Do not rent the 4 person bike thinking you will have a leisurely ride. The 4 of us (in shape) huffed and puffed sweating and jumped out to push it up the hills. The tires were somewhat flat :( when we complained to the rental guy, he patronized us by saying stuff like "you tried really hard, I was sure you could do it. good job." Umpf

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlohaElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonmissionbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our resort as we do carefully review each and every review. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. One of the best parts about our resort is that we are right on the beach! Of course with that comes the smell of the beach, which may appeal to some but not others; however, I’m sorry to hear that you had struggled more than you expected to on our surrey rental. I will make sure to let our Activities Director know to check the air pressure of the wheels on the surrey. Hopefully you at least got some great pictures on the surrey! If for anything, surreys are great for vacation pictures! We do hope you come back again soon! Summer is the perfect time on the bay!

Warmly,
VG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We had a great room with a nice view of the bay. Very quiet.
One negative, they way over charge for parking.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,979 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4,736 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#147 of 279 in San Diego
3,221 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-6801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Green Hotel in San Diego
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,715 - ₹ 26,525
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing