We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hostel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bremen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Hostel Experience”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The title of this review already says everthing there is to know. A perfect hostel. Located in the middle of the historic Gaslamp Quarter, which is pretty much the best location for travelers in San Diego. The place has different sized dorms/rooms, many clean bathrooms, a nice kitchen/common area and even a big tv-room. And most importantly, THE STAFF IS THE BEST! very helpful and relaxed people, who can answer any question you have and take the time to make it your best possible San Diego experience. And all that for very little money. I really enjoyed my stay and can recommend the hostel to everyone!

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room, tell them in advance, then they'll get you something not facing 5th Av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We all love our jobs here very much and are extremely happy that we can influence our guests in such a positive manner. We truly appreciate it. We really hope we get to see you again in the future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    133
    51
    16
    9
See reviews for
11
65
115
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I really can't recommend this hostel more highly. The staff were super-friendly and professional, even the maintenance and custodial workers were nice and happy to help. The location is great and is minutes walk away from the Convention Center or minutes to anywhere in the Gaslamp Quarter. The beds are super-comfortable and I had as good a night's sleep as I did in the US Grant Hotel about four blocks away and paid for an entire week's stay here what I paid one night at the Grant. I know this is sacrilege, but it's truth. Sure, it's a hostel, which means you have to share bathrooms (unless you get the private bedroom and bath), but trust me, for the number of beds this place has, everything is super-efficient and clean. You get unlimited towel and sheets (you can change your sheets every day if you wanted and use three towels for your morning shower if you wanted to be horribly wasteful like that). If I had to gripe about anything, I would say the kitchen is small and the flow is restricted, but it's not really a hindrance as most people have different cooking schedules. And others have griped that the internet could be faster but again, it worked fine for everything I needed to do (did some work, turned in a major application while I was here, watched some movies on my computer through Netflix, etc) so I did not complain.

If you're staying longer than 3-4 days, you're better off purchasing the HI membership as this gives you great discounts. Ask at the desk what the current benefits are...

I've traveled a lot in Spain and Portugal as a travel guide writer (so it was my job to review hostels/hotels), as well as the United States, and this is really a great location and great hostel. Kudos, HI San Diego Downtown.

Room Tip: If you sleep very light, request for rooms near the courtyard (it's away from the street and wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank young-gl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review, good traveler! The experience you encountered on your stay with us is precisely what we are striving to hit with every traveler. We will be remodeling our kitchen within the next few months, and are (forever!) working to make our wi-fi better and faster. If we have the pleasure of hosting you at some point in the future, I hope you will find these facilities even better suited to your needs and the needs of our other guests. Safe travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brest, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The facilities available as well as the location of the hostel (in the middle of the very active Gaslamp Quarter) make it an ideal place to stay if you want to visit San Diego and make the most of the night life (many bars and restaurants are easily accessible)

Having visited several Hostelling International hostels, I will however point out that there are not (or weren't at the time I went) many activites offered by the hostel. If, like me, you're looking for a place to meet other travellers and socialize, this is not the best hostel to do so. That being said, it is easy to get around San Diego and meet people in bars...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. We truly appreciate the feedback, and I will be contacting you personally as well to get your take on activities at our hostel, as we are trying to put on more and more. Currently, we have 2 free weekly walking tours, 2 pub crawls, 2 weekly dinner nights, a farmer's market trip, and a movie night. We try to have these activities go off without a hitch, but if only 1-2 people sign up for them, we sometimes have trouble making them run. Usually though, as we fill up for the summer, our activities get bigger and better. Thanks again for the wonderful comments, and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Excellent hostel, location is central, just a walk from train station, zoo, park, right amongst many cool bars, shops and eateries. Breakfast is fine, fairly standard. Rooms were cleaned daily & if you like a very very soft mattress this is the bed for you. However very very noisy at night

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyShanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. In terms of the noise you mentioned, we recommend that people call us ahead of time and request a quiet room, and we will do our best to accommodate. We appreciate your business, and the time you took to review us. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at this hostel with my girlfriend back in October with a friend of ours as we travelled around the US. It was one of the best hostels we encountered in our 3 month trip.

We stayed in one of the very reasonably priced private rooms for around 5 days, The room itself was really nice and cosy with really cool decor. I would strongly recommend the private room to couples; If I remember correctly it was cheaper than two people paying for dorm rooms.

The location was absolutely ideal; in the heart of the Gaslamp District, surrounded by awesome bars and restaurants and only a 5/10 minute walk from the Greyhound station. It's a fair hike to the zoo (though we did it) and near to numerous bus routes to all the nearby touristy locations.

The staff were arguably the best we came across on our entire trip. They were never too busy to help you and offer friendly helpful advice. The breakfast was very good, and they even did evening meals based on donations.

I'd strongly recommend this place to anyone wanting a great place to stay in San Diego!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beznee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. You are correct about the private rooms. Most of the time a private with a shared bath is as cheap as two dorm beds. I am also glad to hear that you had such a good experience with our staff, as it is our goal to make everyone feel comfortable in the city we all love. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 278 in San Diego
847 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International San Diego Downtown

Property: Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
Address: 521 Market St, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,275 - ₹ 11,237
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International San Diego Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re here to help you with the most central and accessible hostel in San Diego. Let our award winning staff ensure you receive the most comfortable and enjoyable hostel stay you’ve ever had. We offer a myriad of free tours and activities, and all of our beds are Tempur-Pedic mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing