We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Friendly staff and and central location, the only quiffs I'd have about it was the outside noise... it took awhile to get used to it. The broadband speed was terrible. Very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you for the review, and the kind words. We are currently working on our wireless speed. We have just purchased some new equipment and should be getting it up and running soon. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 208 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at Hostelling International for one night in January 2012. The hostel itself is in a central location and is great for exploring San Diego and the local bar/restaurant scene.

We stayed in a private room with bathroom, the room was clean and comfortable.

We were very disappointed with the staff who we found to be rude and unaccommodating. Requests and interactions were treated as though it were an inconvenience & it was not a welcoming atmosphere at all.

Alcohol cannot be consumed on the premises & whilst we did not want to get raucously drunk, we did feel that this should have been made explicitly obvious when booking.

Breakfast was included and adequate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

I apologize for the poor customer service experience you have had while staying with us, and I will be contacting you privately to gather more information regarding this. In regards to the no alcohol policy, this is an HI-USA policy that we must adhere to in order to retain our charter with them. So yes, we do need to be very adamant about it. It is noted on all of our booking sites and we do reiterate the policy upon check-in to all of our guests. I will however, look into ways to make it more clear, bolder fonts, make it more obvious on our confirmation email, etc. As always, we greatly appreciate the feedback, and will work to make our hostel a better place. Thank you very much for your business, and your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Pros: good location, helpful and friendly staff
Cons: Renovations needed, paint is peeling in some places.
Even the inner rooms facing away from street can be slightly noisy. Could hear glass bottles being thrown out of a bar onto its back street. better to bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KOPtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agmdowntown, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you for the candid feedback. We truly do appreciate it as it will always help us improve. We are currently renovating, and should be completed with all of our private bath rooms by the end of March. From there it is on to the paint touch ups, etc. In terms of the street noise, we recommend that people let us know in advance that they would like a quiet room and we will put them in a room on our courtyard, which is the quietest area of the hostel. Once again, I thank you for your review and your criticisms. We hope to see you again in the future and you can check out the improvements we have made. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The staff were extremely friendly as well as helpful. They gav us great local recommendations and advice

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllysonHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agmdowntown, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Awesome! I'm glad we could help you out and really show you some great spots in the city. We love food, beer, music, and art, so be sure to ask us anything. Thanks a whole bunch for the great comments and review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

My second visit (each in Dec). HI Market Street continues to be an excellent place for me. Close to Gas Lamp activities, waterfront, grocery, bus route. Happy engaging staff...especially like the efficient service with a smile from Beau. Rooms good, healthy breakfast, entertaining TV room, et al. Go for it!

Right around the corner is Bike-Revolution where you can get a bike all day for special hostel rate of only $15 (no tax). I would recommend you bike all the way to Point Cabrillo along the waterfront. Really beautiful and not too bad in terms of work-out.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glarryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agmdowntown, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Always great to hear from a return customer! We are consistently improving, so we are glad when people come back and see how much better we have become. Thanks for the great review, and the returning business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 278 in San Diego
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 278 in San Diego
311 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International San Diego Downtown

Address: 521 Market St, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 2,801 - ₹ 10,685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International San Diego Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re here to help you with the most central and accessible hostel in San Diego. Let our award winning staff ensure you receive the most comfortable and enjoyable hostel stay you’ve ever had. We offer a myriad of free tours and activities, and all of our beds are Tempur-Pedic mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing