We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Place - Will Stay Again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Place - Will Stay Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed at the hostel for 6 nights and slept in both a dorm and a private room. Both were very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were also very clean which was appreciated. There was ample storage space for my things, the kitchen has newer fixtures and appliances, which made the experience nice also. They also do $5 taco night/BBQ night a few times a week. The place has a nice open layout and it feels very friendly. The staff were very helpful with questions on where to eat, what to do, etc, and I trusted them completely. The location of the hostel is great, as long as you know where you are in reference to where it is you want to spend your time. Every possible ammenity is within a few blocks, the beach a quick drive or 15 min walk. I would reccomend this location to all my friends and will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissNic253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    46
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
30
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights in early september. When we arrived we were greeted with a very warm welcome and a tour round, something we handnt recieved before in other hostels.
The atmosphere was great, very friendly and warm. Our room was clean, beds extremely comfortable and rooms felt secured and safe.

Bathrooms could do with being a little more attended to however their was work being carried out on them so I think it was excusable!
A lovely hostel, brilliant location (accessible busses and within walking distance to the bech and supermarket) and great staff!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smclewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I've stayed in lots of hostels, and this is one of the best. I found it immaculately clean, the staff was professional, friendly and helpful. I slept like a baby on a better mattress than the one I have at home. The communal spaces nurture interaction with other hostelers (and everyone I met was great) but there are also lots of little corners that offer privacy if you want to sit alone. The grounds are comfortable and pretty (a hammock!). I was so happy hanging out on the upstairs patio couch, looking at the blue sky through the dryline strung with bathing suits, towels and wetsuits; this is really a beach house. Not a party beach house though! The atmosphere is low key and quiet. There are no bars close by so if you're looking for the beach party, keep on moving and you'll find it at the Ocean Beach hostel. There were all kinds of people here: international travelers, young families and older people. I didn't have a car and I found the public transportation to be excellent (except the city bus stops running around 7pm). The beach is only a 20-30 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArizonaSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freehold nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I just returned from a 2 week stay at the hostel. I cannot speak highly enough about the professionalism of the staff, their dedication to detail and how hard they work. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and I slept like a baby on the Posturepedic mattress. When meals are prepared for evening meal ($5) the quality is great. Matt made the most amazing Fish Tacos with top quality fish (fresh)...all of the help seem to be amazing cooks, and there was plenty to go around with salad and desert available. I made a lot of friends at the hostel and will be staying in touch. Large Refrigerator/Freezer for storage of your meal items. Great cozy living room with several comfortable couches for curling up and watching a movie together. James, Matt, Serella and Ashley... you provided exceptional customer service 100% of the time and are true professionals. I will be coming back. :))

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runtrix14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Point Loma Hostel is the first hostel I have ever stayed in, and I chose it over staying at expensive hotels in San Diego the second time I went. It has a delicious make-it-yourself but free pancake breakfast. The staff was helpful but not pushy. Huge common area. Clean private rooms. The bathrooms were sort of unfortunate (like dorm showers you could say) but clean. It is located in a residential neighborhood right by a taco place and a grocery store. It is a long walk to the beach, but walkable nonetheless. You do have to take a bus to get downtown, but the transit system there is cheap and easy. I would stay here again in a millisecond.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Proximastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#164 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#146 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#100 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma

Property: Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma
Address: 3790 Udall St, San Diego, CA 92107
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Point Loma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,206 - ₹ 7,554
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Chill in our Air-conditioned hostel featuring a laid-back atmosphere with a beautiful, sunny courtyard complete with table tennis, gas BBQ, and plenty of spots to relax. There is also a large, open kitchen that's perfect for cooking and sharing your favorite meals and a comfy, spacious lounge with a big screen smart TV that you can stream Netflix on. FREE WIFI throughout building. Weekly dinners, barbecues, and Taco Crawls are conducted by helpful hostel staff. The Point Loma Hostel is located two miles from San Diego's famous Ocean Beach in the relaxed neighborhood of Point Loma. Ocean Beach and its accompanying nightlife, cafes, restaurants, shops and weekly Farmer's Market are just a short 5 min drive/bus ride or 20 min walk away. Nearby, Sea World and Mission Bay are just a 5 minute drive or 20 minute bus ride away. Balboa Park, with its museums and the world famous San Diego Zoo, and Downtown San Diego are 15 or 30 minutes away by car and bus respectively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing