We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
35
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Crone's Cobblestone Cottage is a magical place. I preferred to spend my time there sitting on the porch and admiring the beautiful garden. The Innkeeper, Joan, is a very likable and special individual. She is equally happy to engage in a long, enjoyable conversation or to leave you to your own devices. (I enjoyed a mix of both).

Breakfast was always light and tasty. Bedrooms are tastefully decorated with soft and comfortable beds. And did I mention the book collection? There are thousands of books in the in-house library. If you are a reader, you will love this place!

If you enjoy the feeling of a well-kept home with easy access to the city, Crone's Cobblestone Cottage will give you a warm and rich experience in the heart of San Diego.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Notice how several of the reviews lead off with the word, "Lovely?" There's a reason for that. "Gracious" would also be fitting. That applies to the accommodations and to the proprietress as well.
Accommodation: If you like the Craftsman style and the idea of living among beautiful things, then stay here. There's easy access to San Diego highlights like Balboa Park and Old Town, as well as good restaurants and coffee within walking distance. Proprietress: Joan is wise and thoughtful, and if you're the sort who enjoys a chat, she clearly enjoys talking to you. We had such a great time in San Diego, and Joan was definitely a part of that.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sallasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

What a wonderful time I had at Crone's Cobblestone Cottage, a lovingly restored Craftsman bungalow built in 1913. It's in a great neighborhood, close to restaurants on Goldfinch Avenue -- don't miss the eccentric coffee stand, Meshuggah Shack -- and up the hill from Saffron (on India), specializing in incredible marinated chlcken. And it's only 15 minutes away from Balboa Park's theaters and museums. Proprietress (yes, that's what she calls herself) Joan Crone was an attentive hostess and I enjoyed our conversation. Perhaps my favorite part of the weekend was sitting on the porch swing on the stone-walled patio, a breeze wafting over me. .

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thebigsneeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

My stay at Crone's Cobblestone Cottage was wonderful. This beautifully decorated, historic home is spacious and so easy to fall in love with! I especially enjoyed the many antiques and the porch swing. All comforts were provided by Ms. Joan Crone, the very gracious and friendly proprietress.
Joan couldn't have been more accommodating with regard to some reservation changes I requested. I had a great visit and look forward to more in the future.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Go144790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Crone's Cobblestone Cottage is a gem of an oasis just up the hill from the hustle bustle of downtown San Diego. As you step through the front door you are transported back in time to a quieter era that simultaneously stimulates intellectual curiosity and promotes physical relaxation. This handsome 1913 home has been lovingly maintained. The rooms are spacious, the bed was comfy, several common areas invite you to slow down, and popular restaurants are just a short walk away. All the modern necessities are provided, yet the furnishings provide a delightful historical charm. I particularly appreciated the fascinating art and curios, the huge collection of historical books, daily fresh flowers and delicious breakfasts that catered to my fussy dietary needs. Crone's Cobblestone Cottage offers a rewarding experience and first class pampering at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: There are only two bedrooms, each with a bath. The whole house seems quiet and the common areas are yours to enjoy.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth91711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews