We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crone's Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$ 179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 255/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 179
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 274/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 233
US$ 181
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 316/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 194
US$ 190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 155
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 192
US$ 163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 238
US$ 226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 291/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 207
US$ 154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 292/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Westin San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 219
US$ 181
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 276/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kings Inn San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$ 175
US$ 139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
35
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

1914 Craftsman historical home in upscale neighbor great for walking. If you are looking for low key luxury, love books and appreciate vintage furniture - this is the cottage for you. Ms Crone is a generous and accomplished artist who shares her treasures and hospitality with style: Turkish towels, fine bone china, silverware and a hearty cup of joe. Kitchen, a brown stone hearth in the living room and big screen TV in a library surrounded by eclectic books. Sink into a quiet respite or find sanctuary after a full day of adventure.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank Roberta Celest P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015

This is a very well-maintained arts-&-crafts home. There are nice, little shopping / eating areas nearby, to both the north and the east. We ate at a different restaurant on Goldfinch St each night, and all were great. The house sits roughly on the Mission Hills / Hillcrest boundary, so some of the signage confusingly overlaps. The heart of the Hillcrest neighborhood, with the big, red sign and all the stores, sits about a mile east. Joan Crone has been running her B&B for over 15 years, so she's a good, capable host. And she really knows the area. We had several pleasant chats with her at breakfast. She takes pride in her home and is a big fan of her neighborhood's architectural era. The house is very quiet, even though there's a grade school close by. The only reason we wouldn't rate this a five is that she just serves what most would describe as a continental breakfast, including fresh fruit. It's well done. And actually, her breakfasts were fine for us, but we assume many folks would prefer a fuller breakfast. Joan admits she doesn't enjoy cooking. Overall, it's still a very nice experience. If we could, we'd give a 4 1/2 rating.

Room Tip: Both rooms are quite nice; they share a bathroom. We stayed in the front room.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Island_Wave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcrone1, Owner at Crone's Cobblestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2015

There is a story behind why I serve a continental breakfast beside the fact that I don't care much for cooking.

Just before I opened the bed and breakfast 23 years ago this circa 1913 house was made a San Diego Historic Site because of it's fine, intact arts and crafts construction. That meant that architectural changes could no longer be made
to the house.

To get certified for preparing a cooked breakfast the city required the installation of a professional exhaust system in the kitchen which would have had to be vented through the attic and out through the roof violating the historic designation. In an effort to keep every one happy I decided to get baked goods from the best
bakery in town, Bread and Cie, fresh squeezed orange juice and fresh fruit from Whole Foods and really goodfreshly ground coffee from Peet's. That has worked perfectly so far.

I want to thank you for your informative review and giving me a chance to tell one of my amusing stories about running a bed and breakfast. By the way the kitchen cabinets are the original 1913 ones, a real rarity in this age of home improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We loved, loved, loved Joan and the Cobblestone Cottage. This little place and its proprietor are one of a kind gems. Nestled in a historic San Diego neighborhood, it is the perfect place to unwind while still close to the heart of it all. You can walk to numerous shops filled with coffee and gifts as well as a number of excellent restaurants all why being just a 10-15 minute drive to downtown or the beach.

The house was beautiful. Everything in it was provided with love and purpose. The bed was fantastic and the linens were excellent. Joan keeps a very tidy yet incredibly comfortable house that makes you feel pampered and at home all at the same time.

Joan herself is wonderful. I feel like we've made a new friend. She was friendly and inviting, full of kindness and information. She was easy to talk to and a joy to sip tea with. She offered a delicious breakfast each morning of fresh fruit, local pastries, coffee and tea. She was perfectly present an helpful while maintaing plenty of personal space for our getaway.

We highly recommend this bed and breakfast. We were planning our next stay with Joan before we even turned in the keys.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank szombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We still talk about the elegance of the space, the warmth of Joan's greeting, the perfectly beautiful breakfasts, and the remarkable collection of books, including Joan's creations. Great location, lovely walks to restaurants, terrific spot from which to explore San Diego, and Joan had excellent advice for places we'd like to visit based on our interests. It's been years since we stayed there and still it remains a favorite trip. [Had to say "Nov 2014" as that's as far back as the menu allows.]

Room Tip: Either of the two--both lovely.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyinglouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Six out of five stars!!!!! Joan does a fantastic job at her B&B in Mission Hills. I would highly recommend her accommodations. She is a very attentive and caring human being, even down to ironing the bed sheets. She is involved as much or as little as you would like. If you need your space, breakfast is ready each morning at the time you would like, always the light on when you come home, and your sheets turned back. If you want more involvement... suggestions on sights to see or dining suggestions are abundant. The swing on the front porch surrounded by mature fern trees is so relaxing as well as the water trickling beyond the porch, down the pathway. Her Ponder Post is a very sweet touch connecting her B&B to the community. Joan represents the heart and soul of the Mission HIlls, San Diego community. You would be very fortunate to be able to be a guest here. No credit cards accepted, you will need to contact her directly by phone for a reservation, which speaks to the 'off the beaten path' approach by Joan. A hidden escape, and the best kept secret in San Diego!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sloppydroppings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews